I Found $500 Bill, What Should I Do?

37 95
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

July 22, 2022

What would you do if you found $500 on the street or somewhere outside your house?

This isn't a prank but real. I did find HK$500 the other day and it's worth $63.70 or about Php3,500.

I was buying some items in a dispensary store one morning, and after I paid for the items, I turned my back and placed the change and receipt into my wallet. A folded money bill on the floor caught my sight and since my wallet was open by that time, I picked it up as I thought it was mine, then walked out. As I checked the bill, it was HK$500, and I am certain that I have no HK$500 in my wallet.

I was totally discombobulated about what to do next, and I am certain that the owner of the lost cash was the previous customer. I took a pause and think quickly about what to do with the cash. Should I surrender it to the shop owner? Or to the police station? The customer left a few minutes before me, and I didn't even recognize her face.

Someone told me before that we can not take the money we found on the street here in Hong Kong and we can surrender it to the police station. The station was quite far from our place and I have only limited time to buy things I needed since I have to go back to work.

Questions were running in my mind that I needed to answer too quickly as time was running as well.

  • If I will give the money to the shop teller, how certain am I that he will give it to the real owner? He may either add it to the shop's cash drawer or put it into his pocket.

  • What if another customer claims that it was his/hers, even if it isn't?

  • Was the customer even aware that she lost HK$500 cash?

My time was running so I opted to keep the money and ran an errand. After doing my task, I went back to the shop hoping to see someone looking for the lost cash. But everything seems normal.

What do you think should I do with the money?

Until now, it is still kept in my wallet as I don't want to spend money that doesn't belong to me. My first thought was to give some to the same homeless old woman beneficiary in my Christmas gift-giving and give some to the Catholic church near my place. But I also think if should I give it to my father for his medication for his prostate cancer. 

It's not a big amount, but it's not mine so I should spend it wisely or give it to those who really need it. Kindly share your thoughts below.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

25
$ 4.46
$ 3.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @AnonSunamun
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

siguro pamigay mo nalang sa nangangailangan madam or yes sa papa mo kasi need din namn niya....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's huge amount ate and me also doesn't want to return it back to the store because there's no guarantee na mababalik sa may ari. And I admire how you think on how to spend the money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap nga ng ganyan Jane, di mo alam kung yung nagmamay-ari ng pera kailangan ba yung pera or di na. I cannot give you advices Jane, ang hirap talaga kapag makapulot ng pera happy at the same time may takot kang mafefeel.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

$500 dollars in Philippine peso is more or less 3,500 pesos based on exchanged currencies. You really have a good heart Jane as you do not intend to spend it to yourself but you are always thinking of helping a charity. May God bless your heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have such a good heart. For me, I won't even pick it hahaha but you did the best because you never know what someone else who picked it would do with it. That's a smart move. I think you should buy some grocery with the money and share it with the homeless around so they can feed or if you have someone in mind in dire need of cash to sort out something urgent, it would come in handy too. You have such a good heart...I am not surprised anyway. ❣️😍👏🤗🤝❤️😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha kung ako yan Madam naku talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That money is huge! (When converted to my country's currency, it is bigger than the minimum wage). Honestly speaking, I will do the same thing you did coz I know if I give it to the store owner, they will probably not give it to the real owner even if they come looking for it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are only a few honest people nowadays..but I guess what I did was dishonesty 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The greedy side of me says keep it AHHAHA. My gaasssh please don't listen to me atee hahah. sobrang kapos ako kaya kung ano ano sinu suggest ng utak ko AHHAHHAHA

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. Everyone says keep it 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natry ko na din makapulot ng pera sis 1k bill fun sa workplace ko. I know na yung owner nun eh Yung lalaking nagpa xerox sa akin kasi I saw him holding 1k bill. So after ko nakita na naiwan niya yung 1k I tried na habolin siya sa labas ng workplace ko kaso di ko na siya nakita at di rin ako familiar sa mukha ng lalaking Yun so I just for that day na bumalik siya baka maalala niya na dun niya naiwan sa workplace ko kaso di na siya bumalik. I waited for 3 days pero wala pa rin Kaya I decided to buy it an amakan Para magamit sa wall ng kusina ng pinapagawa naming bahay.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

At least sa mganda nagamit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Better keep na muna kasi baka may maghanap. Diba mostly sa mga store jan may CCTV? Baka yung may ari nyan nagreport na sa police and possible na ipacheck ung record ng CCTV ng store, but hindi din ako sure jan, possible lang kaya better keep na muna or better ask the police if someone had reported about losing money. Pero kung wala cguro hindi big deal ang 500hkd bill sa may ari so you can use it for your father's medication or just donated, the choice is yours.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hndi rin naman malalaman ng may ari kung saan nya naiwala yun..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's nothing bad at picking the money if and only if there's no owner claiming that he or she lost that money, there's no assurance that it will be back to the real owner once you surrender it on cashier. It's such a hard decision but maybe it was a blessing that God knows you had financial needs that's why he made an act that will help you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope it's easy to think it that way..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd say keep it. Do something with it you normally cannot afford. Today was your lucky break, and someone so careless with their money they loose a 500 bill probably already had theirs.

My rule is that if i see someone drop money, i'll yell at them and give back or point out whatever they lost. If its just sitting there, and few people have seen it, its going into my pocket. Then i wait (if its a substantial amount) for an hour. If no one has come by looking around as if they lost something i am taking it home.

Maybe not the way of the Jedi exactly but born out of having lost stuff myself and found a lot of stuff throughout my almost 50 years on this planet. Not apologizing for it.

But to each his/her/its/their/+/VW-Logo own.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Haha you have a point though.. But still, I don't want to spend it.. I believe in karma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If i believed in Karma in my past life i was Stalin, Mao AND Hitler. As they were all alive at the same time..... It does not exist.... Sorry. (wink wink -> JOKING)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mya ganitong feeling tlga na may hesitant ka galawin ung pera na d sayo lalo na nakita mo lng.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can we say that we miss you, I mean myself hahahaha. Sorry for not reading your article for a long time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This may sound a bit absurd, but we have no right to take the money that falls, and if it is taken and used personally, an offence is committed. I read an article about this and learnt that some people who took the money or valuables that fell were prosecuted for theft.

You are also right to be hesitant about returning it to the shopkeeper! He may not return it to the owner. I would either take it to the police station or, in case of problems, give it to a charity that can verify that you gave it to them if necessary.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's my first plan.. Or donate to the church..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both are good options. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very nice of you dear. The last time I had such an experience, I took the money to the nearest church . I told an elderly woman and she said it either I give it to the needy or take it to the church.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigoooo, I think that is for you ate. Ganyan kasi paniniwala kapag di na makita may ari eh. There was a time na ung papa ko dati may nakita syang gold na bracelet sa isang mall. Nasa hospital kami ng kapatid ko dahil may primary complex kami dalawa. Ung dad namin, umupo muna saglit sa area kung san nya nakita ung bracelet, inaantay ung may ari. Kaso ilang oras na, wala daw sya makitang naghahanap so lumapit sya sa guard. Yung guard ate mabait, di niya kinuha ung bracelet, sinabi lang kay papa na baka para sakanya talaga un. So paguwi sinabi niya kay mama. Ang ginawa nila, sinangla nila ung wedding ring nila para makalabas kami ng hospital tapos ung bracelet na kay papa pa din. 🙈 Wala naman bad omen after that kasi diba ung ibang may ari kapag nawalan ng gamit sa kung saan kinu-curse pa nila ung nakapulot.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Baka meant for you yun.. Iniisip ko nga baka para kay papa to .maliit lang na halaga.pero malaki na tulong na.. Iwan..I am hesitant parin haha.. Im not used to spend money of others

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itago mo muna ate, baka mamaya eh victim ka din ng social experiment tapos vinideohan ka aguyyy... Pero habang di mo pa need ate, itago mo lang, pampaswerte yan eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cguro 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede naman siguro e donate sa church oh kaya ibigay nalang sa mas nangangailangan,pero ahmm kung ako kaya makakita ng ganyan aanhin ko kaya nuhhh??lalo pa ngayon mahalaga ang pera pero paano naman kung kailangan ng may ari ng pera.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

D natin alam.. Tago ko lang muna..bka may mas kelangan dto

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napapaisip din tuloy ako hmm ano kaya gagawin ko, pero more likely mag iwan ka nalang po ng contact number sa store para if ever may maghanap ma contact ka nila?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pwede rin...but that was the other day...nkakahiya magtanong. Lalo na d nla gets ang English 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy yun lang haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So thoughtful of you, being honest in our world today is becoming an uneasy task. I will suggest you give it out to the needy. It attracts more blessings or better still, use it to help anyone around you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago