Four Seasons and I

35 65
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

July 26, 2022

I was born in a tropical country with only sunny and rainy seasons, but most of the days are sunny days that I feel like, it's always Summer. Bathing twice a day is our way to freshen up our hot bodies (in temperature 😅). It's an advantage though as we stay fairly warm and most produced food is fresh. We don't need to stock food in preparation for cold seasons as we can just buy fresh food every day. We don't need a water heater for bathing as our water is already warm. We don't really need thick jackets to protect ourselves from the cold unless we are living in high mountain areas where the temperature seems like always winter, and unless you are working in a workplace with very cold aircon.

But nowadays, global warming and climate change often impact the country's seasons negatively. It seems to be prone to natural disasters. Just imagine the number of storms visiting each year is as many as the number of months in a year. Sometimes more than that. There is extreme rainfall, and sometimes drought that leads to scarcity of natural resources supplies, especially water and electricity.

Sometimes, it seems like the rain has no end to the point that it will flood places, especially the lowlands. The casualties brought by different typhoons are the most saddening part of climate change in our country.

Summer seems to be extended to the point that I just want to migrate to countries with cold seasons. Have you ever experienced bathing but when you step out of the shower, sweats are dripping, and you feel like you want to shower again, or just soak your body in a tub with iced water? I did experience it many times, especially during Summer.

Since it's sunny most of the time in our country, I yearn to experience winter or cold seasons. I wished to see and touch real snow just like those I am seeing in the movies. Sometimes I would wish to lie down on the bed of snow or make a snowman too. Watching Korean dramas with Autumn episodes made me want to experience the Fall season too and try to catch fallen leaves under the tree, or run in a street blanketed by fallen brown leaves. Isn't it magical and romantic?


In 2017, I got an opportunity to work here in Hong Kong which has four seasons. It was September when I got here and Autumn was about to start. When I witnessed the Fall season and the transition of trees from green to brown, orange, or red, I exclaimed in joy and said, "real Autumn, this is it! pansit!"

I've been waiting for the winter as it would be my first time to experience very cold weather and to wear thick jackets, coats, boots, bonnets, or gloves. Above all, I was excited to see snow. I thought Hong Kong has snow. December came but there was no snow until I found out that HK doesn't snow, only in mainland China 🤣. But it's okay, I did see snow in extravagant HK Christmas displays every Christmas season. Just a fake one though 😅.


And if I am a season, hmm... I won't only choose one because it depends on the situation, so I can be the four seasons. I feel like the four seasons are like a lady in her monthly period, lol. The mood easily swings from very fine like Summer, to very moody and cold like Winter.

Sometimes, I'm like Summer in a very fine mood, and that's when I feel too positive and happy. I would smile, I would laugh, I would jump in joy, and I would seize the moment.

But not all days are happy days. There are moments that I feel like the Fall season. I feel regretful, hopeless, and literally falling. I seem not to move on from negative decisions in the past. And when things seem not to fall into place, I feel hopeless, and it seems like my dreams become dead. Oftentimes, I would feel tired, and dry, and would just stumble on the ground.

If those sad feelings continue, I would end up feeling gloomy and sad like Winter, and my life would turn dull, dark, and cold. Sometimes, during those moments, anxiety and depression would arise. It's kind of a struggle to deal with and the bright sun seems to be hiding behind dark clouds. Days would feel so cold that I just want to hide in my room, curl underneath my blanket, and just let myself shed tears until no more emotions are felt, until my tears dry.

But I'm a person who doesn't give up for the sake of my dreams, goals and loved ones. Despite the challenges and dark days, I would pull out the courage to seek light, look for silver linings, regain my hope, bloom, smile again, and start a new life like Spring.


And that's the reason why Spring is my favorite season. We would struggle and stumble, we would be burnt out and fall, we would get depressed about this toxic world and life, we'll get sick and some will die, but Spring reminds us that no matter what happens, there is always hope and a new beginning. If we fall, we can stand up again. If we feel like our world is so gloomy, we can seek the light. If there's death, there's a new life.

So stay positive and bloom like Spring 😊.

But aside from Spring, I like Autumn too because I love seeing the rustic and enchanting colors of the trees in the mountains, the fallen leaves on the street, and the beautiful art of undressed trees 😊.


What is your favorite season and why?

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

26
$ 2.87
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 12
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ou nga sis eh tropical palang yung na experience ko sana sooner ma experience ko din yung autumn, winter and so on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sayang naman. Snow na snow ka siguro that time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know what, Ate Jane? Whenever I'm seeing your photos & reading your blogs while showcasing the spots and how you live in HK? Mas lalo kong ginugusto na mag-abroad. Specifically to Australia or Switzerland, as in. Wanna experience the four-season din talaga. 😍

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya mo yan.. Basta may pangarap at pagsisikap 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How I wish to experience snow pero I'm happy with where I am now parang nawala na yung excitement in me. But if may opportunity naman, why not diba? Now, I see myself in my son na gustong gusto daw nya pumunta ng america to experience snow 😅 well, sana nga ganun lang kadali na pag sinabi mong gusto eh punta agad. Kaya sabi ko na lang, "magsikap ka para makapunta ka dun" ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am just finding out that the Philippines is in the tropics, I thought it was only Africa countries that are in the tropic region, I had to Google it to make sure 😆

I prefer the rainy season, I find it more comfortable to deal with the cold weather that comes with it than to face the hell-like weather of the dry season

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. Africa and the Philippines have the same seasons... But it's good to stay in the countryside in the Philippines as it is not too hot there.. There are also mountain provinces where temperatures are like winter haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have something like that here too, higher ground regions where the weather will make you feel like you're in a temperate country during winter

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko talaga maexperience autumn. Aside from the wonderful color ng leaves, yun feeling na hindi ganun kalamig at kainit yung panahon lalo na at may allergy ako sa sobrang lamig.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo.. Ganda balance lang ang temperature

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never experienced the snow before and I am looking forward to when I would be able to experience and enjoy it. I've already started playing it in my head how I can build my own snowman, throw snowballs and ruffle my fingers on the heap of snow. 🤩🤩😍🥰🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. Same plan haha...I can actually, if I'll go to china in winter.. But the schedule is hectic and I can't fit it in..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like minds...😍😍😍

Ouch. I hope something pops up for you so you can free up a bit of time though. Let's see how it goes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just a fake one though

At least you have seen snow in HK 🤣🤣🤣

My best season is rainy season here in Nigeria because I love it cool and warm than the sunny season where I would always sweat even after taking my shower. You have nice pictures here 😍😍

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The same with Summer here.. It's too hot ..i want to jump to autumn 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love autumn, the reason is because autumn is the life like I wanted. So calm, the weather was balance. You can enjoy walking under the sun without worrying to get burn or skin rushes as the heat isn't that hot. You can enjoy the coldness of the wind as it is not as cold as the winter. I wanna live a balance life. No worries and no high expectations.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Love ko rin yan 🥰.. Lalo ba yung rustic colors ng leaves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love winter - because Cold can be handled wearing more clothes under blanket and also snowfall

At least better than summer where everyone sweats :!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There's no snow here though 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A country with four seasons is blessed country on our planet. I am lucky to have such country. You should need to protect your body from heat, otherwise dehydration has drastic effects. You have good memories of Honk Kong which has four seasons.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's too hor in Summer here, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate! Alas otso palang pawisan na. Huhu. Pwedeng mag aircon na lang habang buhay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung pwd lang haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pala ate sabi ko parang familiar ung blog, sayo nga din pala to hahahaa kinabahan ako bente kala ko may kumuha ng arti mo somewhere hahahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap siguro ng acclimatisation kapag first time lalo na yung ilamg buwan na lamig, naku po di ako sanay haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi nga eh...prang normal lang. Hndi nga ako masyado nalamigan . pero nang nagtagal, imbes masanay, saka bumaba cold tolerance 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang saya, gusto ko ma experience ang winter sana huehue kahit na baga mahina ako sa lamig hahahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pasok ka sa fridge 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

basta babae, malamang most of the time is four season

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lalo na pag may mens 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, if you want to enjoy six seasons then come to our country. There are six seasons in a year. And I love spring most because during this time everything in nature is normal. Unfortunately it doesn't snow in winter which I miss most.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What are the other two? 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are Summer, Rainy Season, Autumn, Late Autumn, Winter and Spring. That's why our country is called the country of six seasons.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What is the difference between autumn and late autumn? 😅.. Still autumn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some rural areas of our country enjoy all the seasons but urban areas have changed due to climate change.

$ 0.00
1 year ago