Fish Odor Syndrome Awareness (How it leads to suicidal)

45 37
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Have you heard about Fish Odor Syndrome? Even some doctors doesn’t know about this. And maybe your not aware as well, people with this condition are just around us. But sometimes we misjudged them which gives a negative impact to their life.

Let me share an unusual medical condition which I think is new to your ears and this will serve as an awareness to everyone. This is a serious case, the lives of those people are at stake.

By the way, any medical students here? You guys well understand this easily. Lucky me that I have some knowledge in medicine.

What is Fish Odor Syndrome?

Trimethylaminuria (TMAU), also known as fish odor syndrome or fish malodor syndrome is a rare metabolic disorder that causes a defect in the normal production of an enzyme named flavin-containing monooxygenase 3 (FMO3). When FMO3 is not working correctly or if not enough enzyme is produced, the body loses the ability to properly convert trimethylamine (TMA) from precursor compounds in food digestion into trimethylamine oxide (TMAO), through a process called N-oxidation.

TMA - odorous substance in our body

TMAO – non-odorous substance in our body

Trimethylamine then builds up and is released in the person's sweat, urine, and breath, giving off a strong fishy odor or strong body odor. A variant of TMAU (secondary trimethylaminuria or TMAU2) exists where there is no genetic cause, yet excessive TMA is secreted, possibly due to intestinal dysbiosis, altered metabolism, or hormonal causes.

Some people with trimethylaminuria have a strong odor all the time, but most have a moderate smell that varies in intensity over time. Individuals with this condition do not have any physical symptoms, and they typically appear healthy.

A fish-like body odor could result from an excess of certain proteins in the diet or from an increase in bacteria in the digestive system. A few cases of the disorder have been identified in adults with liver damage caused by hepatitis.

Symptoms:

The condition seems to be more common in women than men, for unknown reasons. Scientists suspect that such female sex hormones as progesterone and estrogen aggravate the condition. According to several reports, the condition worsens around puberty. In women, symptoms may worsen just before and during menstrual periods, after taking oral contraceptives, and around menopause.

The odor seems to vary depending on many known factors, including diet, hormonal changes, stress level, amount of sweat, other odors in the space, and the observer's sense of smell

How does this condition leads to suicidal?

Affected individuals experience shame and embarrassment, fail to maintain relationships, avoid contact with people who comment on their condition, and are obsessive about masking the odour with hygiene products and even smoking.

The malodorous aspect can have serious and destructive effects on schooling, personal life, career and relationships, resulting in social isolation, low self-esteem, depression, paranoid behaviour, and the worst suicide.

Delayed diagnosis, body odour and the lack of cure may lead to psychosocial issues. When the condition is suspected or known to occur in a family, genetic testing can be helpful in identifying the specific individuals who have or carry the disorder

Treatment

There is no known cure or treatment for the disorder.

The metabolic and clinical manifestations of TMAU are generally regarded as benign, as there is no associated organ dysfunction. This designation, and the fact that the condition is often unrecognized by doctors, can have important ramifications including missed or delayed diagnosis.

If you know someone suffering from this, you can recommend these ways of reducing the fishy odor.

It may include:

• Avoiding foods such as egg yolks, legumes, red meats, fish, beans and other foods that contain choline, carnitine, nitrogen, sulfur and lecithin

• Taking low doses of antibiotics such as neomycin and metronidazole[12] in order to reduce the amount of bacteria in the gut

• Using slightly acidic detergent with a pH between 5.5 and 6.5

Additionally,at least one study has suggested that daily intake of the supplements activated charcoal and copper chlorophyllin may improve the quality of life of individuals afflicted with TMAU by helping their bodies to oxidize and convert TMA to the odorless N-oxide (TMAO) metabolite.

I made this article to serve as awareness to everyone regarding this rare metabolic disorder. This is a serious case that might lead the affected persons to commit suicide. I did research about this and find out that there is group supporting those people who have this kind of condition. It called MEBO RESEARCH. You can find their website in this link.

https://www.meboblog.com/2018/09/tmau-lady-on-dutch-tv-new-tmau-youtube.html?m=1#

MEBO Research, Inc., (MEBO) is a sufferer-founded patient advocacy international campaign registered in the State of Florida, U.S., since April 21. MEBO Research is also registered in England and Wales as a Not For Profit, Limited by Guarantee Company (2009).

They also have their facebook page which unites all sufferers from different places of the world.

https://m.facebook.com/groups/1379691078922973?view=permalink&id=3365584340333627

I found out from this page that other members already committed suicide which really breaks my heart. And to tell you co-filipinos here, some of those who committed suicide are filipinos. 😥😥

MEBO is doing research and test to those suspected TMAU patients from different countries.

MEBO’s Mission is to initiate research into rare genetic metabolic diseases, particularly those resulting in systemic, difficult to control body malodor and halitosis, including, but not limited to, Trimethylaminuria.

To everyone, do not easily judge someone's personal hygiene from their body odor. Perhaps, there's underlying medical condition that made them smell bad.

You never know how long your words will stay in someone's mind, even long after you've forgotten you spoke them.

Words are powerful, they can create or they can destroy. They can only be forgiven not forgotten. So choose your words wisely.

I hope this article will give lessons and some knowledge about health. I will appreciate if you will spread this awareness.

Latest Articles:

How to Gain More Points

Effective Techniques on Writing Articles Easily

How to Boost Your Article to Attract Viewers

The Dark Side of City of Light and Love-PARIS

Debunking the Myth About Hong Kong Living

What Makes You Beautiful

Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Poem)

Ethereum Gas Fee Continue To Rise

Sending Remittance Using Stellar

12
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Hope we can avoid this kind of illness.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope we know this awareness and no easily judge someone's body odor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right.This is very informative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and informative , sounds new to me I really appreciate your research for this article. Keep it up my friend.😆🖒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Feel pity to Filipinos who committed suicide because of shame

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah so bad, imagine things they been through with this health condition.😣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

not all are caused from poor hygiene, there's underlying medical health problem. I think we should consider that first before criticizing other person's smell

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i learn a lot of things i this article. thanks again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you really read it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to readcash that I've become fully informed about this disease (or syndrome)

This reminded me not to judge people easily, though at times I really can't take such smell coming from people. Sometimes I feel embarrassed for not containing myself and literally puke in front of someone who smells so bad 😅 I don't know if I have some sort of disease as well but, my being 'maarte' has come to an extent that even a simple odor that people don't mind feels too strong for my nose and makes me puke then and there (Though I'm trying my best not to, and I'm not acting up and being 'maarte')

But now, I've realized how much it could affect someone, to the extent that someone may even commit suicide. I will do the best I can not to ridicule someone with foul odors. But sometimes, those odors are also a result of unproper hygiene.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

And do you know that some diabetics have smells too? It varies from what type of diabetes they have.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't know. Bit if someone is diabetic and has wounds, for sure that person will secrete foul odors too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not all from wounds, but from their liver. Diabetes also have associated effects to liver and kidney..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah I see. I understand now. Thanks for writing an informative article and the willingness to answer queries from your readers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i was thinking of something uncommon to write for my article. Then I remember this, I knew bout this long time ago coz I saw it one time on my fb timeline. That's why I made this to inform others the negative effect of criticism to people who suffers that kind of condition.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I know some diabetes patient who have unhealed wound do get odour

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really from their wound only.. but also the effect of the condition to their liver which gives out bad odor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also have sensitive sense of smell and easily feel nausea after smelling pungent smell even the smell of aircon inside a car. But you can distinguish between TMAU and unhygienic person, that case is like a smell of a fish..but if it's armpit odor, maybe its because of poor hygiene 😅...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same. I also can't take the smell of aircon and air freshener inside buses or cars. I feel sick after a long ride inside an airconditioned bus or car. That makes travelling hard for me.

Is it this possible for kids too? I smelled some kids who smells like 'fish' even when they are fresh from a bath.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like traveling, but I hate traveling on closed vehicles.. I prefer on vehicles with open windows... last time I traveled from our province to manila, we rode on a bus, twas for 24hrs. I really vomited many times and I dehydrated and exhausted when I got to our destination..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's very kind of Jane you shared information about "Syndrome" but unfortunately I personally can't eat any kind of fish so I'm grateful that I never smell fish 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol.. it's not from eating fish, it's a metabolic disorder

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see, Jane I almost failed to understand your sentence which is too convoluted 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. i was totally discombobulated with your convoluted. 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's how Jane's world has always been convoluted 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm nosebleeding. 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What caused the nosebleed Jane?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your word..haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You said it 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh an enzymatic disease. This one is rarely discussed in enzyme focused books too. Mostly in those books are diseases that cause metabolic differences

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yey!finally someone with medical knowledge is here..hehe.. I saw about that tmau before on my fb timeline, curious bout it so I did research.. .sad to know that other who committed suicide are filipinos..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's actually a global issue but honestly way too overlooked. It's more common for people in the tropics like us. Mostly tanned and dark races too. But seriously, there's very little info on this on the book of enzymatic disorders since it's kind of a common occurrence

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Coz it's rare. Other doctors doesn't even know bout it... but i think people should be aware of that, it might cause more serious problem..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well more of mental problema, as you've stated but there are some races that really have... strong odors (no offense ;-;) and it's a common enzymatic problem for them, besides the fact that they eat strong foods. So it's often mistaken as that too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah i know some races eith that kind of pungent body odor because of the foods they ate. But those who really looks normal and clean themselves but still stinks, they need to get medical attention.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think there's medication for this kind of enzymatic illness at the moment?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the mebo group released a medicine last year I guess, but it's just to lessen the gut's bacteria.. no exact cure for this condition.. but many sufferers have positive results from doing right diet, exercise and taking some supplements.. the sufferers should take more probiotics to fight bad bacteria in their gut..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good thing then, as long as it's lessened then it will make it bearable for some people who are suffering from it. Though they'll still be using really strong deodorants on their bodies and that wouldn't be so good for their kidneys

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But the smell will come back anytime.. we don't know..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the First time I'll be seeing this and it breaks my heart about those who are commiting suicide.

I hope a final cure is found soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you filipino? Yeah, that's why I posted so many would be aware of the matter

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, am not from philipine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago