Don't Let Your Bird Fly

54 100
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

November 8, 2021

How was your last week readcashers?

Mine was a little bit challenging, both in digital and real-world. This made me think that I was just taking things for granted and not valuing the little blessings I had at hand. Despite this crypto experience I had acquired in the past year, managing my emotions when it comes to diving in and out of the market is sometimes tough to deal with. And this is something I have to master if I truly want to become a successful crypto trader in the future.

We have seen how CATS flew so high yesterday (from the time of writing) and we with weak hands who sold the majority of our CATS a few weeks ago just watched it fly so high. Because no matter how we try to catch it, it was too late and we might just end up falling to the bottom of the bear market.

However, I was just too stubborn not to listen to my other self and dived into ascending trends of CATS instead. The FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) just took over my system when I saw CATS almost reaching the top and I thought I could still catch it, so I threw some coins into it. But right after that moment, it went down, lol. I was also cursing myself for trading even though I was with my boss and we were heading elsewhere. Thus, monitoring the trend was tough to handle.

I was knocked by my own mind when it really dropped. Yet, I was able to dive out before it hit the bottom of the trend yesterday (from the time of writing). Then I dived in again and added more CATS since the price was already low and the trend was ascending again. It did reach the peak at the price in the photo, but I didn't do anything, lol. I should have had 0.1+ BCH profit if I did.

Then it drastically descended right after reaching the ATH, *facepalm*. But I didn't lose hope as it increased again, although the price wasn't the same as the ATH's. I just HODLed my CATS and went back to work. At night, the trend was also a roller coaster and my other self told me to sell it because it might fall hard once I sleep.

But I ignored it and just hit the sack. As I woke up in the morning, I saw that it was 10% down. And after checking my purchased CATS, it still has a small profit so I waited more as it might increase more. But it just continued to go down, and again, I didn't do anything, lol. And as of the time of writing (11:30 am 11/06), I already have losses. Great!


How is this connected to my heading?

I somehow learned from @PVMihalache that we shouldn't be afraid to sell, and profit is profit, so we should take it (not totally like this, but the meaning is the same), then let the money roll.

Sometimes I can apply this to myself, but there are really times that I can't control my emotions in trading, especially if FOMO hits me. And after abrupt decisions are inevitable regrets.

If there is something we could get from here, it is....

Photo created on Canva

We often let go of the bird we have in our hands as we thought that we could get more in the bush. And sometimes, we don't value small things and still look for more or better things. But when everything uncontrollably goes South, like crypto trends, we would end up cursing ourselves for taking that certain action or carrying out a certain decision that causes our regret and losses. I don't know though if this happens to you, but it does to me, lol, *embarrassed*.


Bottom Line:

After a year of staying in this crypto-verse, I'm still struggling with controlling these emotions that are affecting my decisions and actions.

If you are new to trading, it is worth noting that, "don't hesitate to take small profits." It is better than getting nothing or just losing something.

Control your greediness. A trader could only be successful if he/she knows how to overcome greediness. You should always have an effective trading plan before diving into the risky market. And another thing to be considered is, never do over-trading. Newbies are more likely to over-trade as they can't control greediness yet (I'm still a noob okay 🤣). They aim for more instead of valuing the profit they already have. So the tendency is, they would likely lose the profit along with the investment. So never trade in greed if you don't want to lose your money. Trade wisely and effectively.

Another thing you need to eradicate when trading is.

Don't be FOMOed or Fear Of Missing Out. Sometimes we want to catch the ascending trend as we thought it would ascend more. But not all the time it goes along with our predictions so we only end up losing more. Because trends can drop even before we blink our eyes. It is as if the whales are the ones in control of the trends, and we, small investors are just audiences and trying-hard divers into small spikes and dips of the crypto market.

And again, just like I mentioned above...

Don't hesitate to take small profits. Although there is no wrong in aiming for more profits, however, it is better to get the small ones as they'll grow over time than to fall in the middle of a risky trend wherein you have to decide whether to get small profits or small losses or lose all investment.

And always remember that the small things and blessings we already have are more valuable than those we are yet to have, and those in the bush are still uncertain. Do not aim for more, because greediness could only lead to our failures, and it would hinder our success in any aspect, not just in trading.

I hope you learned something from my mistakes.

Thanks for reading.

©read.cash@Jane (All rights reserved 2021)

Time of writing: 11/06/21 @11:30 am

35
$ 13.05
$ 11.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 27
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

that's life sometimes we start with a hard effort but there are times when we get maximum results, never stop trying and working because we always remember that living life is not easy in the process of profit and loss, working well and correctly is the key. "Effort will never lie to results".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good advice, sometimes it has happened to me and I have been lucky that it continues to grow, although I know the risk, but it is better a little profit than a lot of loss. Self control is what we need, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all the more reason to sell hehehe pag umabot nang $2 and EBEN

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trading is the best way to reveal what your disposition to money. Trading shows who you are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is true we commit mistakes sometimes for us to learn from it. Like a little child who is learning to walk many time the little child fall down knees until he learns to walk. Same as our life. What important is that you learn from your mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all of us make mistakes and we learn from our mistakes. Iam still in the learning process of trading so I can understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I swapped some of my very luttle $CATS for BCH when it spiked in value. It was a really small amount of profit, but to me, it was a big blessing already. First time doing this stuff and I am happy of my own achievements.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mganda yan.. Dahsn2 matoto hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"A bird at hand is worth two in the bush", this is the principle I usually apply to most things I do. It's better to end up with small profit than to lose everything while waiting for things to improve ✌️ but most people with gambler's spirit will rather wait for it to really improve, I don't know if to call it bravery or being greedy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Im kind've careless risk taker at times 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wouldn't call you careless 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People need to eliminate greed. A profit is a profit, chasing greed can easily turn into a loss. I feel you as Cats has been a rollercoaster. Hope you are not straining your eyes too much and goodness me that FOMO needs to be kicked into the dustbin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's already kicking 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see you today, doing a million things 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅that's why we need to control our taste for more so we won't end up losing all.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Crypto world is a lottery, and the experience has told me something interesting: Never use the money you will need, or you´ll regret it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think all traders, old or new, has experienced being FOMOed. Crypto is just so crazy and we can't predict it most of the time. Plus we are sometimes overpowered by greediness, we thought we could earn more but we end up losing some, or worst, if too late, all.

Indeed, small profit is already a profit. Risk is essential but we should also learn when to not take the risk, to get the certain and let go of the uncertain.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe. Tama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In economics, there is a term known as "opportunity cost" which means to realize what we lose when making a decision. It is difficult not to do it, LOL, because simply, our mind in these situations usually reminds us and makes accounts of how much we would have earned if we did not sell and we did it now. I always make it a goal not to think about those things, but it is inevitable not to do the math, LOL. Have a good day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha . a thought to ponder

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Greed is a destructive tool towards success. I've learnt from your experience that being principled in trading or life generally goes a long way. Thank you for sharing your experience with us— readers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crypto world is crazy and there is this way it messes with us even when we think we have everything perfectly figured out. Sometimes I feel there is no perfect way to respond to the market because it's unpredictable and sometimes can be harsh. So sorry about the loss and I hope it picks up again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not loss yet..can still wait for the cats to increase again

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true and I believe it would rise again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

0.0098 BCH = 4000 $ Cats. Then I sold for 0.018 BCH. 2 days more and cost 0.046 BCH :( ahah. But Im happy with my small profit. What about BPAD?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hayst.. Someone dump BPAD. I wasn't able to sell too. Tsk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the experience, I think having good control over your emotions when trading crypto is very important.

This will also help to be strong about your decisions in the future, my friend always says that no profit is too small and it would have been worse if it was permanent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This consoled me of being regretful for throwing my Ben token before it spiked up, I gained already but my greed self keep nudging what if I wait a little more time I should have more profit. That is true, profit is a profit and I should be thankful to that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn't even sell mine when it reached $3 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now is your chance hehe. Ben is doing good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very practical and useful advice which helps us to slow down and not be carried away by our emotions. Too often, when we are drived by our emotions and excitement, we tend to decide and move in ways we didn't paln about. We tend to do risky actions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess all traders - newbies and experts still experience the same sis. Others just know that they can try again on the next roll. It is a volatile market anyway. :) Good thing, I was too busy to assess any decisionmaking when CATS was flying high.. hahah was it really a good thing? Lols. I will just make a firm decision to think it is a good thing. hahahaha.. i do not have much CATS anyway. so letting it sit a bit is fine.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Buti pa nga hndi galawin 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha natawa ako sa "next role" ko . pambhira.... next roll kasi yun.. .ayan inedit ko na.. haha let's see sa next roll if makasabay na howell

$ 0.00
2 years ago

D ko npansin 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

whew! hahahahah ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every drop counts. Just like a drop of water to the container. Later on, without seeking attention, the container will be filled. For me, as long as I get profit I won't hold it anymore ma'am without any thinking that I might be FOMOed. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, our emotion can affect our decision making skills. Anyway,hoping for the best on your endeavor @Jane 💚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ask others before taking huge decisions. Be patient & control emotions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are in the same shoes ate. It happened to me when $Eben hit $3 i wanted to take profit but greed didn't allow me. I sold my $CATS but saw it going up and felt bad, forgetting that i also made profit from the one i sold. Contentment is needed in this cryptoverse. If one isn't only with celebrating his little gains, he will end up losing more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh that eben as well. I should have $3k if I sold them. But the same thing happen. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sell and stop following the token. Even if it surges later. The profit you took makes money somewhere else

$ 0.03
2 years ago

From now on, I'll take it haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yong sakin nong bumaba at naging 0.4+ nalang ang value ee 0.67 capital ko I'm so tempted to sell it napigil ko si self hahaha mejo sanay na at umaasa talaga ako na tataas sya haha strong hodl muna.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pro sayang d na mabibili yung dating amount ng cats. 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you Ms Jane hahaha. Ganyan din ako FOMO.. but with that I learned, experience is the best Teacher tlga hahaha.. the best thing is that We know na next time hahaha...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Next time ganun parn 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am planning to invest in Cats. But in your case, I am hoping that cats will pump high again

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is slowly pumping. This was written last week

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, it is not good to enter trade when we are not calm. Though it is not advisable to sell whén we are losing already. You can end up re-investing when there is rise. And you will have less value of $CAT

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And lesser amount of cats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also sold some of my cats off bout a month ago, this is pain, but we can't predict the future so i guess we move on.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. That was even a bigger loss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abang abang nalang sa pagtaas ng cats.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago