Be Overflowed With Thanksgiving (A Post Christmas Gala)

44 116
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

December 29, 2021

Prior to Christmas, I and my friend already planned to visit the Winter Wonderland on Christmas day that is located at AsiaWorld-Expo. We checked the ticket's prizes online and how to avail them. But we opted to just buy it at the counter once we get there.

Unfortunately, on Christmas day, she opted to work and swapped her holiday to weekday so she could visit the consulate for her passport renewal. And we decided to just visit the winter wonderland on Sunday.

Saturday night came and my friend checked the opening hours of the AsiaWorld-Expo and we found out that it will be closed on Boxing Day (Sunday).

It seemed like my heart ached as the opportunity to see snow (even if it's fake) vanished in the air. And our plans became a drawing, again.

It is truly disappointing and saddening when your plans become drawings, so I rather not plan next time and just make an impromptu journey, like what I did when I went to Disneyland.

But I don't want my holiday to become boring and so I thought of visiting the Sweet Gum woods which I planned long ago. But my friend said the leaves aren't as red and pretty as last year.

But it didn't stop me from going to the woods. I packed my stuff and searched how to get there as I forgot the direction.

As I stepped out of the house and asked who's with my friend, I found out that she's alone and my mind stopped me from going to the woods. When I checked the time it was already 11 and might not be enough to go for a hike.

So again, I opted to stay and just meet my friend somewhere in the city. Besides, we haven't seen each other yet for a long time. *sigh* another drawing about going to the Sweet Gum Woods. I might just visit the mountain in the 1st week of the new year.

At North Point, I met my friend and she bought lunch and a gift for me. I felt ashamed as I didn't bring anything for her. I might just give her something the next time we saw each other. I didn't expect the weather to be colder and gloomy, and I was only wearing a jersey jacket, lol. I wanted to go back home but it would be a waste of time, so I just wrapped my scarf around my neck to alleviate the cold. And despite wearing an undershirt warmer, I still feel cold.

First Time Experience at Jesus is Lord Church

My friend invited me to attend a different church at Jesus Is Lord Church. And I truly experienced a very different kind of mass, if that was what they call it. People were singing, raising their hands, and praying fervently to God. And I even got emotional when everyone offered their prayers and saw how they were devoted and sincere. I, on the other hand, bowed my head, feel the presence of God, and offered my prayers to him.

After giving the words of God, the assigned groups performed on the stage and they danced along with the songs for God. Meanwhile, others were singing and clapping their hands on their seats.

Before the program ended, we, the new visitors were told to stand and they welcomed and offered prayers for us. Everyone was friendly and welcomed us with smiles on their faces. And the leader of the cluster where my friend belongs gave me a t-shirt with "Jesus, the indescribable gift" on it.

It was raining when we stepped out of the church so we opted to visit Landmark Central since we can't roam around the city. Besides, she didn't visit the Christmas displays in that place yet.

After taking photos, we just bought food for dinner at Worldwide Central and went back home due to limited time.

My day wasn't boring at all as I experienced new things, heard the words of God, met new people from JIL church, and of course, saw my friend again after a long time. If there was something I learned from this day, it was: "Let your lives overflow with thanksgiving for all he has done." -Colossians 2:7

Some people would take small things and blessings for granted and don't even know how to say thank you to God and the gift-givers. For instance, when someone receives $1 from you, he won't say anything. But if he receives $100, he would be grateful to you. When someone gets a job that offers a low salary, it's not a big deal to him. But when he gets a high position that offers a high salary, he would be so thankful and proud.

In my recent giveaways, I truly appreciated those who say thank you for what they received. Some would continuously receive something from us (upvotes and sponsorships), but they would just ignore us, nor drop by and say hello or thank you. It seems like the small amount they are receiving isn't worth saying "thank you." I know we should not expect anything in return when helping others, but, have you not been taught of saying "thank you" or appreciating the small things you received from others?

Regardless of the amount, we should always be grateful for whatever we have received, small or big because it is still a blessing. We should not forget to say "thank you" to someone who did good things for us, especially to Him who always blessed us and who sacrificed everything for the sake of our salvation.

Each day you wake up alive is a blessing. Each night you hit the sack, safe and sound, is a blessing. Every food you have on your table is a blessing. Be grateful that you have a roof to stay comfortable, clothes to keep your body warm, any job that supports your needs, a body that still kicking, a mind that is still working, and that fingers of yours that are still capable of tapping your phone so you could do whatever you want online, that keeps filling your pocket and helps to suffice your needs in life.

Be grateful for who you are. Be grateful for what you have, and things that are yet to come.

Thank you for reading another rambling of mine. Have a nice day.

©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

44
$ 16.98
$ 15.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 29
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I've also noticed that for a long time here. You tip people constantly and they don't thank you but a lesser amount of patronage they put up with lights and sounds of joy. I don't get it. I hope you get a better opportunity to go out and have fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a brilliant write up, so many events that led us to where we are presently.. we must never be ungrateful and each day I always try to be appreciative of that… you have a good friends who gave you an invite to church and they all welcomed you so well.. I was having fun with you as you took us through to some amazing places..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goods yan Dai, to spend the Holidays with God, Jesus the reason of this season. Paulut ulit siguro ako ano, pero apways thankful ako for everything sa iyo dai. May you always be blessed. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grateful is the act of gratitude but some will say though "I don't have this, I don't have that and likes". These are words of u ungrateful individuals, God have mercy if I have for ones who fall in this category of individuals.

I am grateful for everything God has done, what He is doing and what He will do... Life has been so good to me despite all odds, I have been standing strong and scaling through times so why won't I be grateful?

No matter what one may be going through in as much we are still enjoying free gifts of nature in peace, sound health and joy thanks is worth given.

I'm Grateful!

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I like all your photos. We should all be grateful regardless of what you give us, before you didn't have it now you have something else. When we give something as a gift we do it from the heart, the least we can expect is a thank you. With every picture you show I feel very grateful to see so much beauty in places where I can't be present.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should always learn to be grateful when someone gives something to us or in any other way. Coz being grateful will surely give us more advantages of getting more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. 😃 🙏 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I for one, am grateful to you that you visit my articles and comment, let alone tip, give out tips galore. You are just incredible. Plans uff what a pain, two ruined, oh well you have a different experience with that church. Spontaneous is the best I think, Happy New Year when it comes although we are still in the 12 days of Christmas :) Snow I hope I don;t see real snow either this year lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You don't like snow?/_😅 Thanks for stopping by as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am guessing JIL isn't a catholic church? Their methods sounds a lot like the pentecostal churches we have in my country.

I wonder why people find it hard to say thank you, it's just two simple words but I guess it means they are not grateful for what they received? Saying thank you prompts the giver to continue giving, I wonder why someone wouldn't like that

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nope, it's not.. Maybe it will break their ego? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I guess so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And for that, allow me to express my deepest gratitude po sa iyu ateee Janeeee. I am glad na hindi naging boring ang araw mo and you even attended a service 💓. That's awesome.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Welcome 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always good to be grateful and appreciate all that given to us, love all the photos

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the little things that matter the most. Love the photos, sis!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all talaga nakakagala every week while si mama isang beses lang minsan wala pa.

Hehe. Thanky for checking my articles always te though sometimes I can check yours back, 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakikita ko lng sa notif 😁 Weekly nmn tlga off dto. Hndi pa ksama public holidays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami din po eh kapag pinaplano yung isang gala hindi po talaga sya natutuloy at nagiging drawing na lang. Buti pa po pag hindi planado eh yun pa po yung natutuloy. Ang ganda po pala ng tshirt na nakuha nyo noon po mahilig po ako sa mga ganyan shirt eh yung may print po about God or Jesus.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. This is the exact thing we are many to do always. Be grateful for everything, down to the little things we receive from God. This will make more blessings come our way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Every moments deserves to be grateful for..... with this that I’ve read it shows that to have a great and wonderful day. ❤️✌️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

"Those who do not appreciate the few do not appreciate the many" I think this phrase is aimed at those who do not know how to be grateful for everything. Sometimes very small amounts can leave big scars in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed... it's not the amount, but the impact

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really shows that your day wasn't boring at all Everything will always be fun when you are with someone you love and loved you back

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will never stop being grateful to God and people, even if the gift is small. It´s an honor when someone decides to gift you something. Besides, I like the shirt you were given and the inscription on it too makes it unique.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like it too 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw that nowadays you always go for outings. It's the best instead of staying in just one place without touring round to see what is out there.

I'm whatever reasons, there is always avenue to give thanks to God as he alone is worthy to be praised.

We should not let thank you seize from us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not really..those places are just around the city.. One travel.away

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The mere thought of God should cause us to feel a sense of gratitude. And most importantly, for the gift of Himself that He has given us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Experiencing Gods presence is the greatest experience indeed , the best feeling.❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not always the amount, it's the effort and thoughtfulness of the giver. We receiver should be grateful and show gratitude by saying thank you as a response for the effort (:

Thank you pala te hehe (:

$ 0.02
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

What's the plan for New Year's Day?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nothing... My friends will be working.. Alone again 😌.. Ocean Park on Jan 2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

End of year party on the 31st on UMA Discord .... wanna join? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My teacher in high school used to remind us with his quotes " small things but it matters". I had also experienced in atteding worship at " born again". Seems they had the same way of worshipping the Lord. What like in them, after the program everyone are greeting each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Galing pagkakacollage edits lang mga pics.. Creative talaga..

We should be thankful talaga sa lahat ng blessings na darating... Happy new year

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This sounds like so much fun! I'm glad you had someone to share these wonderful moments with

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow very amazing dear, You enjoyed a lot at that heavy day,you got a good feelings by getting a happier Christmas 🎄 in lord church and enjoyed a lot from it. You deserve this fantastic day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May purpose ate bakit hindi natuloy sa gala dahil dadalhin ka ni Lord sa Church. Small or great things we should be Grateful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The spirit of Christmas is omnipresent and felt everywhere. I am with you in your empathetic endeavors to engage with friends offline and online.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's good to be grateful for what God has made us to become, it's almost the end of another year, we ought to thank him for his protection over our lives

$ 0.02
2 years ago