Alone in Christmas Abroad

53 102
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

December 26, 2020

It's more than three years since I worked abroad, which means three Christmas away from my family and friends. Life abroad is so boring as well as Christmas without your family and friends. This pandemic restricted people to hang out and one of the protocols here in HK is to only have a group of two people while hanging out or roaming around the city.

This is quite impossible though, especially during holidays. At 10 in the morning, I was still lying on my bed while visiting some users here in readcash as well as making some noise on noise.cash, and thinking whether I will go out or just lay on my bed the whole day. And I thought this Christmas will gonna be so boring because of this pandemic, but I was wrong. While surfing on the internet, I found out that there are places in HK with installed Christmas displays.

My mood suddenly become brighter and decided to prepare for a stroll. Christmas displays are the only things that makes me happy during Christmas. The weather was cold but it did not bother me. I fixed myself and with my scarf and bonnet, I stepped out of home happily, excited to take photos of those Christmas displays.

But there was one thing I forgot to bring, and that was my monopod. Since I have no friends with me, I have no photographer as well. It wasn't a problem actually because I can just ask a favor from Filipinas there to take the photo for me. Unfortunately, 9 out of 10 photos taken by other Filipinas were blurry. But that was fine, I just took photos of the displays without my appearance on them.

Despite the pandemic, HK malls and other establishments were able to install Christmas displays. I have learned that there were 17 big displays around HK, but I only selected a few that are just easy to access. After eating my lunch in one of my favorite Filipino fast-food, Jollibee, I head out and started the stroll.

Taking photos was a bit different this year though because you need to wear a mask. Officers were checking out the visitors and made sure that they were wearing masks throughout the photoshoots. But not in some cases, when the officers are not looking, some removed their masks, including me. 🤣

My first stop was in HK Landmark located just next to the building where I ate my lunch. Christmas displays in Landmark are always the grandest. Although this year wasn't that grand and big, but among the displays here in HK this year, it was the prettiest for me

  • Santa Paws and Polar Paws, Landmark

Santa Paws brought some new members, they were the Polar Paws. The display was filled with a giant snowman, Christmas tree, Christmas market booths, and other Christmas features. Kids will surely enjoy the appearance of Santa Paws with new members throughout the holidays.

After spending almost an hour there, I chose to visit the other display located near the next MTR station. I did not ride MTR though, I decided to walk along the bay and I saw thousands of people, mostly are Filipinos, celebrated their Christmas at Tamar Park.

Several tents were set up and foods were served on their mats. Some groups were singing, some were dancing, some were sleeping, and most were busy taking selfies and groupies. I thought only a group of two were allow to gather together, but I guess that protocol was lifted during Christmas day.

  • Santa’s Cabin, Pacific Place

Santa's Cabin at Pacific Place was my next stop. A new Christmas adventure was given by Santa's elves and crews. As the Cabin docked at Pacific Place, the journey to the Nort Pole begins along with some cute arctic animals on display. I wasn't able to hop on the 15-meter-long Santa ship, but I was contented to have the virtual AR experience outside Santa's Cabin. There was a virtual meet-and-greet with Santa as well, but I was impatient to queue so I decided to go to my next stop.

  • Santa Claws X'mas Party, Mira Place

While on my way to my next stop, I saw a mall with a Santa Claws display. But it was not Santa Clause who was there though, but some adorable Japanese capsule toy, Shakurel Dinosaurs. A Jurassic-twisted Christmas display features the iconic dinosaurs in Christmas costumes. There were also a Dino lighting show and several AR interactive experiences where you can take Instagrammable photos.

  • Winter Wonderland, 1881 Heritage

One of my favorite places in Tsim Sha Tsui, 1881 Heritage, has a grand-scale winter wonderland. A giant Christmas tree was beautifully decked taking the center stage. And infront of it was a gigantic polar bears with delicately wrapped present boxes to amp the experience. This colonial type architectural design of 1881 Heritage is one the most visited places in Tsim Sha Tsui HK. The place will guarantee an unforgettable festive experience.

My last stop was just at the western part of the Heritage.

  • Christmas Every Day, Harbour City

I was expecting a Christmas display at the Harbour terminal deck as I saw an article about it on the internet. There was supposed to have a Christmas lighting garden with Christmas trees outside, unfortunately, there was no display at the deck, either they removed it or maybe I went to the wrong location. But it was fine because I saw this display instead.

At the staircase, the entrance to Harbour City Mall was a family-friendly  European-style wooden house and three-meter-high Christmas bear. But the inside was prettier which gives a more interactive experience.


After a quite long Christmas stroll, I went back home at 7 in the evening. The restaurants in HK nowadays do not allow dine-ins at night due to escalating cases of COVID-19, and that is one of the new protocols here in HK. So I just take out foods and eat my dinner on the bench under the bridge near home where some Filipinos are also eating their dinner.

At least, I have surpassed the Christmas day without feeling totally lonely. I have friends here actually, but some were working and some were attending social gatherings. An introvert prefers solitude than to socialize with unknown people.

The pandemic may have haltered our Christmas plans, but there is no reason we can’t get into the festive spirit in a safe and socially-responsible manner. Hong Kong’s elegant Christmas displays have always been the talk of the town each year, and this year is no exception.

If you want to read my Christmas gala 2019, you can visit my article about it.

Christmas Gala in Hong Kong 2019

Seeing my family virtually makes me more happy.

I bullied my sister's photography skills. If it's not blurd, some were not looking at the camera lol

Thanks for reading @Jane

17
$ 7.07
$ 6.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.09 from @KJPR007
+ 6
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

The Christmas displays are so grand in hong kong! But the ones with the bears and dino displayyy! Those are way too cute

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I like the paws the most.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Were there a lot of bears on the tree?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Huum, finally it wasn't boring again after visiting those Christmas display and taking those wonderful pictures, anyway life is just what you make of it. You know every moment of joy prolongs life, thanks for sharing the experience with us, God bless

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas to you all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wahhhh, mas masaya yan kung kasama mo si Jowa eeee, ay wait wala nga pala ikaw jowa 😩.

Jowa Jowa, Jowa kayo jannnn, murang mura lang, mahalin mo lang sya ng tapat tapos pag nagpakasal kayo ako ang ring bearer 😂😂😂, charrr lang.

Pwro mas masaya talaga pag may Jowa kasi, Jowa, Jow, Jo, J .

Nga pala, Contractual ka ga jan? O regular, ganorn? Ung iba kasi nakakauwi sila ng pilipinas if gusto nila, may 1 month or more ga silang bakasyon, ganorn. 🤔. Uwi uwi na din madam, baka nasa Pilipinas lang pala ang iyong ka Poreber, ayiiieeeee 😙😙

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Mahirap yata magkajowa ngayon...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤣🤣 bkt nahirapan kb?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tig 2years contract dtk. Then it's up to you kung mag eextend ka. 2nd contract ko na. Umuwi ako actually last 2018.. Pro two weeks lng. Magastos umuwi kya iba prefer magpadala nlng kesa umuwi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo nga, mas better un , tiis tiis nalang muna na di mag kita ng personal, pero may video call naman na kaya daijoubo daijoubo 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anong daijoubo? Jaiho lng alam ko 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm pretty sure your family is treating you as a real hero in their hearts. Be safe out there Ma'am. Merry Christmas.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Same to you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful pictures, family, toys, love, colorful. Merry Christmas

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang ganda pala d'yan hahaha pero mas masaya if you're on your family, but it's okay read.cash family is here😁 It's good to see you in person😆 I mean your avatar was in side view😆 Godbless po and Merry Christmas😁

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Haha. Pangit noh? 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha hindi naman po😆 ilang taon ka na po ba? Muka ka pa pong bata😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lalampas calendar na this jan 1 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hind ko gets pero 32 ba? Tama ba pagkakaintindi ko? Hahaha hindi po halata ah😆 so New year is your birthday ? Wow lapit na🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Turning 31 😅 prepare mo na gift 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha anong gift po gusto nyo? Joke😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas @jane 🌲 Take care of yourself there, God bless you.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Merry Christmas too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas @Jane. I hope your Christmas is as wonderful as you are; wishing you a delightful Christmas 😊😊😊

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yeah it was 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas 🎄🎄🎄 The view was very amazing and wonderful. Being an OFW is not easy but for their Family they endured the loneliness and do their very best in order to give them a better life.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yeah . it's a tough decision you will make in your life. .but am used to it now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wish you luck. And Thanks sa tip. Nasaan na kaya c bot haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Photo with fambam. Big family pala kayo. Naalala ko tuloy yung alagang ahas ng papa mo. Hehe 😅

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Kulang pa yan. Sa manila 2 brothers ko.. Duty isang kuya ko... Yang anjan panganay namin with his wife and two kids.. Plus yung nagpipicture, at isa ko pa brother wala jan..nakikipag inuman ata 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kulang pa pala. Haha. San ka jan?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas! Stay safe dyan :) ang hirap pag malayo sa family mo haays, but for family's sake din naman yung ginagawa mo well, GOD will bless you always. Lovelots! 💚

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas to you! I hope you have incredible time, despite you are not with your family, but you need to work, and that is why are you there and reason is strong. Images are beautiful, with white and brown bears looks like they are alive and with their smiles, they really make your day and everyone's day. I wish you all luck in next year and stop of pandemic for us all. Cheers!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thanks. Same to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much! I really appreciate that! You are so kind!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

merry christmas to you. stay happy on merry christmas day. This christmas day quite different then before because of covid-19. I hope all of you enjoy on merry christmas day. Have a nice day. Sharing happiness to each other and be happiness on merry christmas day.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you . and Merry Christmas to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Merry Christmas! Lovely to read what you wrote.☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganda naman that girl.. 😍 And ganda ng display sa HK.. Bongga!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Oo mganda dto. Mahal nga lng tumira 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

O O The

BEAUTIFUL Jane Is Here. No matter, my dear distances will end soon, and of course, you will have the same happiness with your loved ones again. Because I am also some distance from my family after marriage, this distance is not much, but I miss my parents and siblings especially on Special Occasions.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Hey your comment is moved to spam. I guess that is the reason why you are not getting tips. Email the admin now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes my dear I'm so upset about it I don't know why someone did this to me. when I don't say anything about anyone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

First time ko makita face mo Jane and you're pretty. ❤❤❤

Gaganda ng display jn, dito sa amin di masyado...

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Sa ibang photography articles ko, andun nka display ang pangit kong pamumukha 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahah,, you're pretty kaya..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Salamuch 🥰🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ang ganda ng place pero ang lungkot pag iisipin mong di mo kasama pamilya mo. merry Christmas po

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Okay lng.nasanay narn 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago