Why do leaves fall out of the trees?

9 26
Avatar for JanPat0204
2 years ago

Good day everyone these past few days I've been sweeping all the fallen leaves almost 3 times a day because there are a lot leaves that's been falling out because of the season change. When I woke up early I immediately sweep the leaves that fall out of the trees or after my first class in the morning when I woke up late. Then before lunch when I am not doing anything I will sweep the ground again because I hate when there's a leave being stuck in my slippers when I pass by. Lastly every afternoon when I was in the mood I will sweep outside again because there is a lot of fallen leaves again.

But when the regular season when the leaves didn't falling out that many I don't sweep outside everyday I just waited for around 3 days - 1 week to clean it because it wasn't that a lot as well as when it's raining I don't really clean outside because it is so muddy and slippery.

I took this photo this afternoon when I finished sweeping all around. Can you guys believe that all of these is just 2 days worth of leaves that I've cleaned, considering that I just clean the path where we always passing by and there still a lot more on other parts but we don't really passing by there everyday that's why I don't need to clean them. After I finished sweeping all of those I use a rake and shovel to gather it bigger because it's to heavy to a simple broom to handle. It may not look a lot in the photo because I captured it in Arial view but if you saw that in real life it's big enough for our little dogs to hide. I was planning to set it on fire but I thought of another purpose for it in the future that's why I just leave it there.

Why do leaves fall out of the tree during winter?

Well even though there's no winter season here in the Philippines we still experience this kind of phenomenon where almost all of the big trees lost a lot of its leaves during certain season or time of the year. And the answer to those is because of Plant Hormones, Responses and Feedback Mechanisms of the Plants. You may already knew it already because it was thought in General Biology back in Highschool because for me I already studied it twice one when I was in Junior Highschool and a few weeks ago from our General Biology Subject.

But if you don't know what it is I will try to share and explain it throughout this article. Today I will focus in the topic why do leaves fall out from the trees during some certain season especially winter in other countries.

Source

When I was still a little I used to think that trees without leaves is already dead and I know I am not the only person who used to think that because my classmates also think that way before because we discussed it and others also think that there is a some monster or creature living there that's why the tree died🤣 but as I learned about this I learn that there is a Science behind this phenomenon in trees and that is because of the Plant Hormones and it's response to it's environment.

The plant Hormone that plays this role is called the Abscisic Acid. Abscisic Acid is one of the Plant hormones that mains function or role is for Dormancy. For those who don't know what is Dormancy is, it is a period where there's no growth happening to a plant. This phenomenon happens especially in winter season because during winter season the amount daylight decreases and because of that the chloroplast in the plant recognize that there is a shorter period of photoperiod. The photoperiod is the plant's recognition of daylight length for 24 hour period. That's why the Abscisic Acid trigger the plant to enter Dormancy.

Because plant needs sufficient sunlight and water to be able to survive that's why it drop off the leaves, flowers, and seeds from the tree and the stomata closes to reduce water loses during these season.

That's why if you a saw tree especially those large one that doesn't have any leaves or fruit with it don't think that it is already dead. It is just their hormone response to the everything that is happening around the plant/ tree. In the simplest term it is the way that plants found for it to be able to survive in things that is happening around it. But don't worry the plant will regrow it's leaves in fruit in other time or season and it is also because of one of its hormones but I won't discuss it because this article is so long already. This kind of thing that happens to plants can also remind us that we should let go of some of our things to be able to survive in challenges of life.

Lead image is from Mr. Simon Berger from Unsplash

Author's Note:

Thank you for reading my article. I decided to publish this kind of article that have something to learn on because I think I am just always sharing about my life and all of the things happening to me that is literally no sense to other people 😂. If you know about this topic and I share a wrong things about this please let me know because I based this article from what I've learned about this topic when I was in Junior high school and Now. And if you have questions or clarification about this topic you can comment it I will try to answer it if I know about it.

Sponsors of JanPat0204
empty
empty
empty

This is my gorgeous and handsome sponsors. They all make a cool and wonderful articles if you have time you should visit their articles because you can learn different things and life lessons that you can use. I also want to thank all of subcribers that reads my article. Thank you .

RECENT ARTICLES

+ A little card play

+ Recent Anime that I've watched

+ My Internet Connection Got Interrupted

+ Welcome Home

+ My First BCH Withdrawal

+ Buying Presents Online

--

5
$ 1.62
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 1
Sponsors of JanPat0204
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JanPat0204
2 years ago

Comments

Grabing dami naman nyaan haha. Buti masipag ka magdakot ano.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang dami nga po kaya gumalit pa ko ng Pala para mabilis pati medyo mabigat din kaya di Kaya ng walis tingting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda ee nakasalo na agad yung sako or lakagyanan para mas madali

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting, it's really true that trees have also hormones like humans.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it does because without it the plants won't be able to survive different types of seasonal changes as well as environmental changes to it's surroundings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting! I'm interested in how the tree knows when to come out of dormancy though if it doesn't have any more leaves with chloroplasts to sense daylight (I'd assume it's got to do with the temperature but still interested to see if there is another mechanism). As a funny aside, I was a little confused about why the leaves were falling now (since I'm from North America where we're about to head into spring) and then I remembered how the seasons are flipped in the southern half of the world! :) Anyways, I really enjoyed this article!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They sense it through because of the Photoperiod because when it's starting to get warm another plant Hormone will do it's job and it's called Gibberellin Acid. Both Gibberellin and Abscisic Acid in plant can recognize seasonal changes. But in the opposite of what Abscisic Acid do the Gibberellin Acid will trigger the plant to exit in dormancy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you are so responsible and clean, that you sweep the yard every day. What you said about falling tree leaves was very interesting and new to me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you 😊. I always sweep it when the weather is good because it so slippery when it was rainy days and if those leaves get wet they stuck in the slippers and it's kinda annoying to remove.

$ 0.00
2 years ago