A Child's Play: The Alter Egos

26 44
Avatar for Jabs
Written by
3 years ago

I am not much active today or even watching kdramas or kvariety. I'm just doing some household chores and sitting the entire day. I didn't also want to take a nap because I'm afraid I can't fall asleep later at night. So literally speaking, I'm spending my time leisurely.

My eldest sister visited us together with her children. They stayed here for two days because they don't have electricity yet due to Tyhoon Rolly.

I am observing my nephews and nieces playing some toys when suddenly the eldest among them suggested to play something else but not everyone agreed with the suggestion. My eldest nephew becomes sulky so me, as silly tita, I add fuel to the fire and started teasing him. Saying that they don't want to play with him and blah... blah... the ending he grabbed the phone and play on it alone.

I was busily laughing, because I succeeded teasing him, when I heard my sisters talking about their children. Talking about their children's good and bad behaviour up to what are their children's doing during lockdown.

One of my sister, who I'm living with, brought out about how her children's spending their time. She said that her children loved to watched videos in Youtube specifically watching "Vlad and Niki" and "Roma and Diana". Her children started to act as them and started to speak in english too.

While listening to their conversation, a question suddenly popped up in my head.

What do I played as a kid when I am at home if my parents don't let me play outside?

I started to compare my playtime before to the playtime of my nephews and nieces. Upon thinking, I came up to this article and I'm sure many of you can relate with me.

When I was a kid, I used to imitate or act as someone whom I see as admirable or amazing. Someone who looks awesome to my eyes. And if my parents won't let me play outside I played like I am that person. I even talked to myself and imagined that I have someone with me. I am starting to build/make my own alter egos.

What is alter ego?

An alter ego (Latin for "other I") means an alternative self, which is believed to be distinct from a person's normal or true original personality

My Alter Egos as a Kid when I play

A Princess. This is every girls dream, to be a princess. When I was a kid, I used to watched movies about the disney princesses. Wearing beautiful gowns/dresses, with a heels and a crown or tiara, like Cinderella, Belle, Snow white, and even Princess Sarah. But opposite with wearing those beautiful dresses, I wrapped a blanket to myself and walked tiptoe 'cause we don't have high heels.

A Mermaid. Arielle in "The Little Mermaid" inspired me to be a mermaid too. Swimming freely in a deep blue sea. Talking to fishes, crabs and turtles, or even sharks, whale and octopus. But not so similar with my imagination, my tail is made up of pillow and I swim on the floor/bed instead in ocean. I waggled my tail while singing the song "Under the Sea".

A Fairy or a Godmother. Whose my inspiration to be a fairy? No other than Tinkerbell in the movie Peterpan. With a wings flying freely while the pixie dust falling. I also act as a godmother like in Cinderella, with just a snapped of the wand lies the magic within. But to be like them, my arms becomes my wings and I picked a stick to be my wand.

Not just fantasy story influenced me to be as someone else. We have this real life amazing people who I admired the most.

A doctor. Like in many television shows I watched, isn't amazing how doctors cure the illnesses? One time as I was playing I suddenly want to be a doctor and cured the fever of my paper doll. I put a very small piece of cloth to subside her fever.

A teacher. When all my siblings went to school, I am the one who left alone in the house, maybe I was 4 or 5 years old back then. I got jealous and envy them, so one time I looked at the school near my house and saw a teachers talking outside their classrooms. I was fascinated with their aura and their looks so I decided to act as a teacher when I played.

I think there are lot more of alter egos Iplayed before but I can't remember them all. The stated above was the most memorable that's why I remembered it clearly. I know I had so much fun playing when I was a kid.

You, what alter egos you played before?

Subscribe: @Jabs

6
$ 3.25
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of Jabs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jabs
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Sakin kasi iba iba ee, di kasama yang mga princess or ano pa man. Ang lagi kong ginagaya ay yong tindera, nagtitinda ako ng tinadtad na gumamela, tapos nagtitinda ng dahon tapos balat ng candy ang kwarta, hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha relate din ako dyan! 😂 minsan pa nga dahon ng bayabas ang pera.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yan na yan, hahaha sarap balikan ng nakaraan ano, mga panahong simple lang ang buhay pero napakassaya haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sinabi mo pa. Walang masyadong iniisip, puro laro lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayayayah, puro saya at laro ng laro haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so it was called alter egos. I used to play or act anything on my imagination when I was a kid too,usually when alone. sometimes with playmates some cartoon characters too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, amd me too. It's fun cause I can be someone I admired.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember my squad in childhood used to watch Winx Club on TV and we take each character as our own. The silly thing is, the girls have love interests. We lack guy friends so we argue who deserves to be the partner of them 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But there are some case when the alter ego exceeds too much and that is how it become "multiple personality disorder"

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I may be a strange kid. I didn't have alter egos back then. I don't like playing pretend and I don't play and talk to my own self. Maybe I'm just weird, when I can't read yet, I prefer looking at the images and drawings in a book and when I learned how to, I prefer to read than play.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Even when you played with your playmate? Hahaha😂 kahit bahay bahayan?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala man akong playmate noon hahaha loner ako as a kid. Tapos yung kapatid ko naman di nagsasalita kaya di rin kami nag uusap habang naglalaro 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kawawa ka pala nung bata ka. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo haha, kulang na sa aruga, kulang pa sa kalaro 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naluluha ako para sayo. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha grabe sa luha 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi ko na naalala mga ginagaya ko when I was a kid hahaha. Talagang iniisip ko sya ngayon 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hahaha😂 pero wala ka maisip? 😁 siguro sobrang dami.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala hahahaha. Puro larong kalye lang kasi ko non haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hahaha😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When i was young, my alter ego played was princess too.. Like in those fairytales 😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think most us, played like princess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thought of Chuckie when i saw the title of your article po but when i had read it, it's different po, lol, though that movie was a child's play din po minus the alter ago po, me, think, she-ra n sailormoon po before, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha😂 never watch that movie, though I know who is Chuckie. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gnun po ba, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago