A women is a reflection of her man

0 13
Avatar for Ja_ne
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Love, Writing

"Dad, can we talk?"

My father craned his neck over my direction and as soon as he finished mixing his coffee, he seated in front of me with a question look registering on his face.

"What is it, son? Having trouble with your relationship?" He took a sip of his coffee before giving me a sideway glance. He then scanned my face and I knew he already had an idea of what's going on me.

My heart was beating madly against my chest, my hand shaking in trepidation. I then swallowed hard before I spoke.

"My girlfriend is getting colder, dad. Recently, she's giving me too much shit, too much headache and too much problems. She's just too much to handle," I said it calmly, not betraying any of the turmoil I was feeling inside.

My dad remained quiet. His lips pursed into thin line as if he's still processing the words I spat earlier.

I then expelled a deep sigh. "She's giving me problems, dad."

"Or maybe you are really the problem," he quickly supplied.

And there, something inside me had snapped. I immediately averted my gaze to the window, feeling ashamed of myself.

The sun outside was glaringly bright in the clear azure skies, the wind whooshing musically through the trees. Birds crooned their cheery tunes happily.

It seemed selfish that the world was moving on when I wasn't ready. The world is indeed cruel and apathetic. It didn't wait for everyone. It continues to revolve unblinking and pitiless without shedding a tear for you. Even when you stumbled and your knees scream and hurting. It didn't care.

"There's always a reason why a woman changed, son."

The words of my father pulled me back from the trance and I could feel my heart ripping inside my chest.

Clearing my throat, I faced my father. "So you are implying that it's partly my fault why she's being cold? Gano'n ba 'yon dad" I asked.

My father just smirked at me, his face void of emotion.

"Look at your mother. Naging cold ba siya sa akin ni-minsan? Naging toxic ba siya? Hindi! Because I am treating her right! Minsan kasi, nakadepende rin ang pagbabago ng mga babae sa kung paano sila tratuhin ng partners nila."

That rendered me speechless and somehow moved my heart.

"When a woman is acting strange, something is really wrong, anak. You are complaining that she's too much to handle, telling me that she's getting colder, easily get irritated and she's toxic. That's false!"

My dad heaved a deep sigh before he continued.

"She's too much to handle because you haven't learned how to handle yourself. She's giving you too much shits because you haven't give her anything else to reciprocate. She's getting colder because you are lazy, comfortable, ignorant, selfish and blind. Your inconsistencies prevent her from being able to fully love you the way she wants to."

My dad's words staggered me, like a blow to the heart. Stopped me cold. And I... just froze on my seat. Words left me and it melted in my tongue.

And there, I suddenly remembered how insensitive I was when I was with Catherine, my girlfriend. I kept on comparing her to my ex, pointing out her insecurities that could shatter her confidence. I also wasn't able to give her attention and time these past few weeks. In short, I became inconsistent and irresponsible on our relationship which affected my woman's behaviour.

Darn, my Catherine is definitely hurting by now. How foolish I am!

Dahil sa mga naisip ko ay 'di ko na namalayan ang pagtulo ng aking mga luha. The thought made my heart shattered completely.

"Women want consistency and assurance, son. No, they don't want it. They need it! So if you don't want her to change in a bad way, treasure him with all your strength and efforts. Stop blaming your partner why she's acting cold and toxic. Because son, always bear this in mind that a woman is a reflection of her man. If you are treating your woman right, she will become right for you. But if you love her with coldness and toxicity, she will also become cold and toxic."

Tuluyan na akong napaluha sa sinabi ni papa. I restored my dad's words in my mind and started applying it on my relationship and after a month, our relationship went smoothly after that.

________________________

Author's note

So to all the people out there who have loved ones, if you don't like how your partner is acting, look first at how you are treating her. Because sometimes, the problem is just... within us.

-Thank you

3
$ 0.50
$ 0.40 from @dziefem
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of Ja_ne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ja_ne
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Love, Writing

Comments