Why spend money on what is not bread?

0 27
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

February 13

Time check: It's almost 8 in the evening. A lazy Sunday for me. Now, I'm wondering what I did this morning.

For the past few days, I have been posting articles about personal finance. I thought I would take a break for today and make a Sunday reflection instead.

However, when I read the verse that I chose for today, I had a hard time connecting to it.  The verse is:

“ Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare."

'Isaiah 55:2 NIV

 

I wasn't able to connect fully to this verse until I had read the whole text of the verse.

"Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare."


 Greetings friends and readers. How is your Sunday doing so far? I hope all is going great on your end. After a whole week of work, I think we all deserve a one-day rest.

 I was not planning to write about personal finance today, but it seems the verse I have set for today is still related to personal finance? Particularly on how you spend your money.


Personal Reflections

As I reflect on the verse though, not only I reflect on it in terms of personal finance, but other aspects of life as well. I will share them with you one by one.

Food And Health

Not all foods are healthy. However, we often choose to eat what we "want" even if they are not good for our health.

Not Everything We Read, Hear, and See is not Good

I would think of the "food" mentioned in the verse here outside the context of what we eat, but what we "consume". This includes what we see, hear, and read. Not everything that we see in the news is good. Or all of the information that we read and see on the Internet is good for use. Worse, some of that information is not even true.

The question is, why do spend time entertaining them? Sometimes, we don't even care if the information is true or not. Sometimes we don't care if a video is hurting somebody or offending other people. Simply because it's "just for fun!"

 

Some of us are simply wasting time by scrolling through  the social media content for hours or watching senseless "funny" videos on YouTube or TikTok

Why Waste Your Money and Resources on Useless Things?

In my previous post, I shared with you some tips on how to reduce your expenses by buying only the necessary things. I believe that this verse coincides with that concept. We should only spend our money on what is necessary only. On things that will satisfy our needs.

In the Contemporary English Version (CEV), the text is translated  this way:

"Why waste your money on what really isn’t food? Why work hard for something that doesn’t satisfy? Listen carefully to me, and you will enjoy the very best foods."

Simply put. If you want to enjoy the best in life, not just food, you should not waste your money and your time to things that will not satisfy your needs.

Have a blessed Sunday and live an abundant life.

Thanks for reading.


Related Posts



Image Credits

Lead Image by Vugar Ahmadov from Pixabay 

Other images are from Unsplash

 

 

7
$ 4.54
$ 4.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @QueenRaay
$ 0.01 from @MoonTrader
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments