How To Start A Savings Habit

20 58
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

February 8, 2002

Habit: a usual way of behavingsomething that a person does often in a regular and repeated way. - Merriam/ Webster Dictionary

Thus habit is formed by repeating a certain action over and over again. Either good or bad.


Greetings my dearest readers and BCH lovers. How are you doing so far in the love month? I hope you are all doing great.

Before I continue, let me ask you, do you save regularly? Have you already formed a savings habit? If you do, then that's great and I hope you can also share how you started your savings habit either in the comment below or by writing an article about how you formed your savings habit.


Spending is Habit

Most of us have a spending habit. Perhaps, what you do is, every time you receive your income, whether salary, commission, sales profit, or whatever source(s) of income you have, the first thing you do is pay your bills, buy some things, then if there is some amount left on the next pay date, you save.

I was like that. Sometimes, I even spend all of my money even before the next payday. Therefore, I can not save money this way.

In short, my formula was

Income- Expenses = Savings.

However, I always end up with this formula:

Income- Expenses = Debt.

Why? Because my expenses are always greater than my income.

How to start your savings habit.

Warren Buffet says:

"Don't save what is left after spending; spend what is left after savings."

Meaning, save first before you spend. Or if we rewrite the formula, it should look like this:

Income-savings= expenses.

The common reaction to this is,

"I can't do that, I can barely make ends meet every month. I have bills to pay! My monthly mortgages for my house and brand new car! Plus I have to support my two wives!"

Ok, the first thing to go is the second wife. (No pun intended to those whose religion and culture allows more than one wife).

The solution to that is to simplify your wife... I mean your life! Cut down your expenses to what is necessary first. If you are single this is much easier to do. If you are married, then you have to talk with your partner about your expenses. I might share something about this in the future.

Pay Yourself First.

This means once you receive your salary or income, set aside at least 5%, to begin with. 10% if you can. Then if you are comfortable with 10%, gradually increase it to 20% or even more. If we put in an equation,

100%-20%=80%

Meaning, you live by 80% of your income.

Some of you may be reacting already that this is absurd!

"How can I live off 80% of my income?"

It can be done. I started my saving habit when I was earning only PHP 7,000.00 a month. That's less than $200 a month at that time. How did I do it?

Change of Lifestyle

Yes, you have to change your lifestyle. That's what I did. Fortunately for me, I have no vices anymore at the time. I don't smoke and was sober since 2000. I still drink occasionally, and if it's for free. (Just kidding).

But I have to cut down some unnecessary expenditures. I used to watch a movie every week. I had to stop that. I never subscribed to Netflix or any online services that will not earn me money.

I don't buy designer or branded clothes. Why buy a pair of Levi's jeans when you can buy an ordinary pair of jeans at less than a quarter of the price. Shoes? I never buy a pair of shoes worth more than a thousand pesos ($20). And I don't but often.

Never buy something you can't Afford

Don't buy in credit. If you can't buy in cash, meaning you can't afford it. Unless you are going to use it earn.

I got my Huawei Nova 7SE through a post-paid plan from a telecoms company. I'm paying about PHP 1,700 (about $34) a month including the gadget care. However, I have been using my phone to earn online.

Find Some Side Hustles

There are now a lot of opportunities for side hustles online to augment your income. The read.cash and noise.cash platforms alone are great sources of extra income. In fact, even I am only teaching part-time, I am able to save some of my earnings from these two platforms alone. My earnings from noise go to my savings or I'm HODLing it. I use my earnings from read.cash to pay my phone bill and slowly pay off my debts.

Alternative Method

An alternative method to start your saving habit is doing it daily. Every day, set aside at least PHP 50 a day or $1 a day. I think some members here have this $1 a day challenge. That's a good way to start a savings habit.

In Closing.

Starting a savings requires some changes in how you handle your income and how spend it. It requires some amount of discipline and some changes in your lifestyle. It must start with how you think.

Don't think you can't do it. Think that you can and you will be doing it soon enough.

Thanks for reading.

Image credits

Related Posts

Reference

Saving Your Future by Xuan Nguyen (c) 2015

Published by www.worldsystembuilder.com


Check out my other content at:

9
$ 6.61
$ 6.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @CryptoNag
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I just literally made an article about saving hehe. I guess we are on the same page when it comes to saving up. Money is hard-earned. Save before regrets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should think that everything will be fine after we used our savings for any online shop 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Little drops of water makes an ocean . We should learn to save , and not use all ten fingers to eat . Saving is like protection against bad seasons .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Little drop of water makes an ocean , Saving is important , it's a way of accumulating wealth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay que formarse o crear el hábito del ahorro, algunas veces se ve dificil, pero hay que empezar, para así tener algo más adelante claro dependiendo de los ingresos que se tenga en casa, como dicen el querer es poder, con responsabilidad y disciplina.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been saving for many years for many different purposes. I find it easiest to always save a percentage of my income and to save small bits as you go along during the month

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's the way to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sagot ko dito, iunstall na si Shopee😂 Pero atleast ngayon talaga napipigilan ko na ang sarili ko na gumastos ng gumastos. Ako kasi earn today spend later. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

uy! sayang ang discount sa payday sale nila. LOL hehehe. Pero, tama ka, yan ang isang pinakamalaking tukso pagdating sa pera. Yung iba tinatiming ang sahod para sa pagdating ng order nila. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po. Masyado naman kasi talagang mapangtukso si shopee. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL! Sana pwede maging affiliate marketer sa Shopee para kahit papano me kikitain din tayo hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, sana lamg talaga😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving in Bitcoin Cash as I'm in transition to better money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. Right now, whatever I send to my bitcoin.com wallet will be my savings. For my expenses, I'm sending it to my coins.ph wallet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have really helped me with this article of yours I am fond of spending all my income, but reading this am able to figure a way out for me to have savings

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad to be of help

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to have a lot of debts in the past with zero savings. But now what I do is to save first, after which I spend later.. it's tough to do but I try not to have any debts. Since debt is the number one enemy of savings. Thanks to the @ramdomrewarder, I've begun to have savings lately..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup, Rusty is very helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, but it is beginning to look like @theramdomrewarder has left me once more..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rusty is just a bot, following a set of algorithm. Go to the randomrewarder's page and read its single article. You might pick up some ideas how to get the bot's attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago