When You Think You Can't, Ask: How Can You?

19 82
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

June 3

When You Think You Can't, Ask "How Can You?". Sometimes we dream of owning something that we can't afford. A brand new car. A two-story house with swimming pool, etc... Or you would love to take your family to a vacation outside the country but you can't afford.

The same way, there are some things that we want to do but we "can't". The question is, does "can't" mean never?


Hello, once again my dear readcash family. How are you all doing? I hope you are all doing great.

Have you ever have a dream so big that you can't seem to get it? For example, for several years now, I have been dreaming of owning and drive a Honda CRV. After several years of dreaming to have that car... I'm still dreaming it because I still can't afford it. I checked the Honda website, the 2022 model costs around $28,500. Thats about PHP 1.4 Million.

(Created using Canva)When You Think You Can't, Ask: How Can You?

A couple months ago I started to think I won't be able to afford it anytime soon. So I started looking at the adorable and more affordable alternative. Suzuki's Espreso, which costs only around PHP 500,000 (about $10,000.)

Then again, I thought to myself...

"Is it the right move? Should I lower my goal because I can't seem to hit my original goal?"

Looking Back.

I came from a middle-class family. Both of my parents worked in different government institutions.My mother was a bookkeeper for a government school that is now a state university. My father was a doctor in a government hospital. He planned to start his own private clinic after he retires, unfortunately he passed away a fwe years before his retirement age.

In the Philippines, it's not uncommon for parents to say "We can't afford that." or "We don't have enough money." when their kids wanted to buy something expensive. I guess that phrase stuck in my head. I guess the phrase will get imprinted in our subconscious if we keep on hearing it agan and again.

Lesson From Henry Ford and the V8 Engine.

I remember reading a book on how Henry Ford and his select team of engineers created the V8 engine. 8-Cyclinder engines already existed at that time. But they were huge and expensive. Ford wanted an 8-cyclinder engine fitted on a smaller car. At first, his engineers would report that it was impossible. It was said that Henry Ford would insist to do it anyway. A few months later, the engineers would report the same to Ford, "It is impossible." and Ford would reply the same. True enough, after two years, they came up with the V8 engine that would fit a smaller car and more affordable than Chevrollete's 6-cylinder engine.

(Read: https://www.thehenryford.org/explore/blog/ford-s-game-changing-v-8-engine)

Imagine if after the engineers reported several times that it can't be done and Ford gave up the idea. Perhaps the V8 engine would never had been created. However, Ford keep on insisting that it can be done. And they did.

Instead of Giving Up Find Another Way

Instead of giving up a dream or a goal because it seemed impossible, find another way how to achieve your dreams. The light bulb was a failed experiment that Thomas Edison picked up and continued working on. After failing thousands of times, he insisted that he can do it. So he did.

Always find a way. (created using Canva)

For several years, I failed to achieve my dreams. But it's because I can never achieve them, I was not just persistent enough and I haven't found the right way yet.

I can't afford to buy the Honda CRV right now, but I know I can find a way how very soon.

In Closing.

If you think you can't... ask yourself how you can. Never give up on your dreams. There will always be a way.

Thanks for reading.


P.S.

Never say "We can't afford it", "We don't have money", or "We are poor" to your children. That will soon stick to their subconscious. Instead, ask them "What are you willing to do to have that it?"


Image Credit:

Lead Image source: Honda.com with modifications\

19
$ 11.66
$ 11.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 6
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I don't dream of having a specific brand or model. what I dreamt was "to drive my own car". I wrote it and placed it inside a red envelope along with my other goals. There were 5 of them and as of now, I already accomplished 2 of them. The car and the promotion. Three others are still work in progress but I could probably achieve those in a year or two.

Because of pandemic, I was able to buy an old car and learned how to drive a manual transmission vehicle. After nearly 2 years, I sold it and bought a second hand automatic Honda City. So now, I can drive both manual and automatic vehicles.

Yes, we should never give up on our dreams. Yes, we can!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I often try to avoid the use of I can't in whatever thing am doing, rather I tell myself, i have not gotten an idea of how this is done. And when I say so I try hard to make it work. We are the sole owners of our decision and I think making the right decision, with great positivity is all we need.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We always ask ourselves how to do the said task instead of saying I can't do this

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Someone said to not have a final thought. We could say we can't afford it "yet." Not right now, but soon. We just have to find a way :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yup... delay... and find a way.... don't say no.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dream car is wrangler jeep 😂 it's worth almost 5M PHP my gosh 🤦 Maybe it'll just remain my dream car and I'll lower my dream if I wanted to buy own car for convenience purposes not for my wants.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

hehehe. You can keep your dream of having a Wrangler, especially if it motivates you to work harder (and smarter)... but it doesn't mean you can't settle for a lesser car.. especially if you can use that car to make you more productive. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it's a great mindset to look and follow through because instead of giving up we will just have to look for the other ways to earn or get it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's a great advise sir..thank you! i will stick this on my head... no to saying no money..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Your welcome. Paraan din siguro para ma motivate silang gumawa ng paraan kung paano mabili ang gusto nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah i agree...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah the brightest mindset I read today. Tama ka brother, think how we could afford. Pero once I dreamed na someday I won't look for price tab anymore, just buy haha. For now bargain muna haha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

hahaha same here. UK muna or Shopee... pero even if I can afford... iwas pa rin ako sa branded na mga damit at ibang gamit... hehehe... pero ang CRV... isang motivation ko lang para wag patamad tamad. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can have what we desire if we find ways and work hard not just by lying in bed all day playing online games on phones,be positive and have a good intent to achieve all we want

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. That is true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have carefully read every word you say, I like the way you express your ideas. You give a great example to clarify any doubt, I congratulate you for that.

On the other hand, I liked the final message and I am going to take it for myself. Before I used to tell my son when he asked me for something and I couldn't give it to him at that moment "not for now" that for now gave me a chance to work on the idea and offer him what he wanted in an intelligent way, either to congratulate him for something or simply to make him make an effort to get it.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thanks a lot for your kind words. I agree... "Not for now" is a better choice than just saying "No". And giving what they want as a reward for something they did is a great idea too. Thanks again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks to you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's pay to move on in life, pursue the dream don't give up and you will achieve it,a dream you are pursuing today you will get it tomorrow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago