What Have I done and Learned From Today

4 190
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

December 8

Today is the feast day of the Immaculate Conception, the patron saint of our city. Therefore it is the feast day in our city. However, since the threat of the covid-19 still lingers, we don't quite feel the festivity this year.


Hello, again dear readers. How are you today? I hope you had or having a great day today. I have been quite busy for the past few days. and I have wasted a bit of time watching the TV show The Rookie earlier. This post is composed of several topics and I just want to finish writing this in twenty minutes.

The History of the Feast

The Immaculate Conception Cathedral in Roxas City, Capiz

December 8 is a religious fiesta for the City of Roxas. I remember when I was young, the celebration was simple. The highlight was the celebration of the mass. The province of Capiz has separate festival called Halaran (from the word 'Halad' or offer), which was celebrated in the third week of October. My mother said, it was originally June.

However, when I was away for so many years (I was staying in Cebu), they fused the two festivities into one and called it Sinadya sa Halaran. I don't know why they did it, but the solemnety of the celebration of the Immaculate Conception diminished and was replaced by more comercialized celebration. And the way I see it, the essence of the Halaran festival already vanished.

Image source Unsplash

In the old days, the highlight of the festival was a parade going to the beach. And each town brings an offering of their produce. Then they offer (halad) these to the sea as a way to give gratitude for their harvest.

Anyway, I need to do some more research on this subject .

Today.

It's been raining on-and-off almost throughout the day. I heard the drums playing in the morning and then in the evening. This means there are group of drummers are doing their thing on the road, while people follow them doing the "sad-sad" (sorry, I can't interpret this for now).

Unlike the celebrations before the pandemic, there are fewer activities this year. Last year, there was none.

As for me and my family, we just stayed home. Our youngest son is still recovering from pneumonia. And my in-laws are staying in the wake of my mother-in-law's brother who passed away last week.

What Have I done Today?

While my wife was busy doing the laundry I stayed with the kids. There are lots of things that I needed to do, but with their "kakulitan" I could not concentrate in doing any of them. Ok that was just an excuse for the laziness that I felt today. I was unmotivated to do anything productive. Except for interacting a lot in noise.cash. I read only a handful of articles in read.cash though and gave only a few upvotes.

What I did is, I watched three episodes of the TV show the Rookie. Which consumed about three hours of my time today.

Image Source Unsplash

What Have I Learned Today?

Procrastination is always lurking and ready to strike. And I think it struck me since Monday. So, I must always be mentally prepared to counter this procrastination.

I need to cut down my TV time. Yeah, I love watching TV series. But I know I have curb down my TV time. Maybe an hour a day is enough.

Final Thoughts.

It's 10:27 already and 7 minutes past my 20 minute time limit.

Anyways, I really need to keep my focus on my goals and my daily tasks. And I can only do that if I keep my daily to-do list updated. Which I haven't done for days.

This is it for now.

Thanks for reading.


Check out my other content at:


All content is mine unless otherwise indicated

7
$ 3.67
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Ka perfect anang shot nimo sa simbahan sir, super clean and exposure is perfect!... about TV time, ma guilty pud ko gamay, haha! Pag release sa last episodes sa Money Heist na hook na pud ko og tawon nalimtan si read kadali haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have the same tradition. God bless you more 💖🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really sad to see that the traditions before been vanished cause it was replaced by more modern way of celebrating festivals, yet I'm still grateful that this country doesn't forgot what their origin, they still celebrate different feast to commemorate patron saints. In our province we have also feast and festivals and im glad lsd people there celebrate it even though there's a pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Procrastination is one bad habit that's hard to control. I'm also currently struggling with it

$ 0.00
2 years ago