My Initial Experience on Hive

20 104
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

July 19, 2022

Last year, I created an account in Hive, via PeakD. I was able to make only one post, then I lost my login information. Last week I tried to create a new account in Hive via Ecency. However, I get the error message "IP Quality score is poor". I guess our Internet Service Provider have very limited public IP. To get around this problem, I used my phone's mobile data to create my account.

However, I failed to check the username before I hit the submit button. I wanted my username to be JLinitiatives26, but I ended up with jlinitatves26. Two of the i's went missing.

Since I can't change the username, I'd either go on with that ID or create a new one. For now, I decided to stick with it. But as I compose this, I think I will create a new ID.


Greetings once again my wonderful read-cash readers. Before anything else. It seems the Bitcoin Cash price is steadily getting higher. At the time of writing the price is now at $124.24. At the same time, my two articles in the last two days already received more than $10 worth of tips. Thanks to Rusty and you readers and left some comments and upvotes.

Anyway, in this post I will share with you my initial experience with Hive.


Joining Hive via Ecency.

I joined Hive via Ecancy using @bloghound's link. I owe her for bringing read-cash to my attention while we were in TSU, (now Display). However, I did not join read-cash directly through her link and I forgot her username here. It was months later that I realized that it was her who wrote about this wonderful platform.

Anyway, four days ago, I was able to create my account in Hive.

Exploring Hive.

As I was exploring Hive, I saw some familiar ID's. Jane1298, coquicoin, eunoia101, jenthoughts, and the mad scotsman @tengolotodo.

I dropped some comments and upvotes (with zero value) to their posts.

However, I find Hive's system to be a bit complicated. Though they were a bit familiar to since the system looks similar to Steemit (which I am an inactive member). I encountered terms such as Hive Dollar, Hive Power, power up/down, and the likes. At the time of writing, I don't fully understand these. Not yet.

I remember saving @Jane's article "Hive Basics For Beginners", I thought I'd read it to get a glance of how Hive works. I skimmed through the article to get some ideas.

But I was already excited to create my introductory post.

Creating My Introductory Post.

Earlier, I composed my "Introductory Post". As usual, I used Zoho Writer to compose my draft. After I finished my draft, I logged into Ecency to upload my post. Only then I realized that Hive/ Ecency is using a Mark Down editor.

Screenshot of Hive's Editor

A mark down editor uses special characters to format the text. Like, if you want some text to appear italicized, you place the asterisk (*) before and after the text.

Anyway, I copied my drafts and applied some formatting and added some photos.

Then I hit the "Submit Button" then BOOM! I got the message below.

Insuficient resource credits.

I am not familiar with the Resouce Credits. I did not notice it in Hive Faqs. So I checked if Ecency has it's own FAQ page. It does.

Resource Credits is a safeguard against spam. Users consume a small amount of these credits for every activity in Hive except reading. And the resource credits are limited every week. I consumed mine already.

I'm not sure if the Resouce Credits are recharged everyday or every week. If it's not recharged by tomorrow, I guess, I have another reason to create a new account using different email address.

In Closing.

I guess, I learned some lessons here. The most important lesson here is:

Read the FAQs first every time I join a platform! Never assume anything.

This is it for now.

Thanks For Reading.


Edit:

Since it's not forbidden to create a new account, I created a new account with the same ID I am using here. --- JLoberiza.

I think it's much better this way.

If you are in Hive, or want to join that platform too, check me out there.

https://ecency.com/signup?referral=jloberiza (Referral link)


14
$ 0.53
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
$ 0.02 from @ahmadmanga
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Congratulations po on your sa wakas successful entry and journey to creating and entering Hive hehe. Hoping for a good run to that earning site.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must had a great time there, goodluck as you go forward to your journey in hive. Keep up the good work, congratulations!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on your new successful journey. I'm sure you will learn everything and before you knew it, you are among the top earners of the site. Good luck and more power!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am still learning my ropes on this platform, maybe I will join you when I master my steps here. I hope you will tutor me when the time cones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you best of luck for your journey on hive. I'm sure you will fix all the problem you are facing there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe you can convince one of your friends in hive to delegate some hive power to you haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow bro, nandoon din ako 😅 eunoia101 and indeed mahirap nga haha. I sign up last July 7 2022.. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha. Follow kita ... nakita nga kita dun... gumawa na ako ng bagong account. hehehe Pero hindi pa ako makapost ng article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Medyo komplikado nga po talaga ang Hive eh pero masasanay din Tayo doon. More than a month na ako doon pero nangangapa pa din ako...Follow po kita sa Hive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks.. yung bago ko nang ID @JLoberiza...lagyan ko nalang ng note dun sa isang profile later. hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

RC is indeed limited in Hive, I've been there for more than a month but I am not really active as Hive is quite complicated. Anyway you can get free HP from this faucet https://giftgiver.site/faucet , you can claim every hour and it will help you to recharge your RC.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! That worked! Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hive is indeed a little bit complex. But once you familiarize it, it will now become easy. And you are right on the part that it somewhat has the same mechanism as steemit. They have a technical term on this, but in layman's term, Steemit is the mother of Hive.

As for the RC, it will recharge in a day, but it will still depend on your hive power and how low your RC is. I suggest you limit your RC to 80%. If you like, I can delegate some of my hp to you for a month. Also, it would be better to just comment only for now, since your voting value is still zero.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hey. Thanks for delegating 15 HP. That's a great help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for offering to delegate some HP. It's like lending an HP right? Anyway, I realized that it's better for me to use the same ID that I am using here. I saw a number of people there who are also writing here. The FAQ says, the only way to change a user ID is to create a new account. So, I created a new account --- JLoberiza. At least I can be easily recognized by my friends here. I will be using that from now on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on your achievement today sir. You know what, I have tried to join Hive before but I failed because I found it a bit complicated and I have problem with resource credits so I left. Personally, I so love here in read.cash because it is not too complicated and every tool is easy to understand even if you would just explore the different sections.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks yeah. It's a bit complicated. Starting there can be daunting... but I think the rewards will be worth it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true Sir. It is not just so easy there to start as a beginner. But like what you have said that the rewards will be worth it. God bless you on your journey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Resource Credits recharge with the amount of HP (Hive Power) You have... It recharges a small amount every two hours, but I don't know how much it'll take if your account is new... You can ask for delegation, (someone to lend you 10 HP or something) until you collect some HP of your own.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this info.

$ 0.00
1 year ago