I Lost My Writing Momentum This Week

15 58
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

May 13

After a highly productive first week of May, I have slowed down this week. I know I should have maintained my momentum. I needed to and I should have maintained the momentum that I had. In my past experiences, once I stop writing for more than a day, I find it hard to start and build my momentum again.

Created Using Canva

Greetings again my fellow writers. It's the third day since the last time I uploaded an article here. Perhaps you all went through this pace that I just got through lately. I don't know what got into me. Well, partially, I got busy at school since it's the closing week already. However, it was not enough reason not to write for a couple of days. It seems the big bad P got into me again... I mean Procrastination. Perhaps. And I wanted to get rid of that big bad 'P' by forcing myself to write even though it's 10:30 in the evening right now.

I started a couple of drafts this week, but somehow, I wasn't able to finish them. I still plan to finish them after this and share them with you. Plus, I have a couple of topics in mind.


Momentum, Why We Need To Keep It Going.

In Physics, momentum means:

"the force that keeps an object moving" (source: Cambridge dictionary).

Like if you push a ball, it will start rolling and keep on rolling until something stops it.

Or when a train starts moving, with its weight and speed, it takes time and a tremendous amount of energy to stop it. And when it is at rest, it takes an equally tremendous amount of energy to start it.

In any endeavor, the concept of momentum can be similar. Once you start working on something, you want to keep on going until you finished it. Then you go to the next task. Then to the next... and the next. You keep on going. You keep the momentum going.

And perhaps, this is one secret of successful people. As Pamela Glass Kelly says:

"Whatever beginning goals you set for yourself, following through on them will build momentum and a sense of achievement and that small success will point the way to bigger ones”

That's why we need to keep our momentum going as writers.

Why I Lost My Momentum

Looking back to assess my week, here are some reasons why I lost my momentum

  • Diversions/distractions. Then there are times that we get some "unscheduled" tasks or some other reasons that divert our attention to something else. We had a hectic schedule at school. After giving the final test, we only had a week to check everything and finish the grades. At home, I often get distracted... but they are a welcome distraction. My kids are the reasons I keep on grinding, so why won't I spend time with them when they want to?

  • Physical Limitations. One we have our physical limitations. It's just natural that we get tired and need to rest for a while. This week, though I wanted to write at night, I had no energy left to keep on writing. I started a couple of drafts but were not able to finish them.

  • Procrastination. Then there is the big bad "P" that I mentioned above.

    I wanted to make it a habit to start writing in the morning. However, I still could not get myself to do that. I am already up at five but I spend more time in Instagram in the morning.

Image Source: Unsplash

In Closing.

Planning and Discipline. That's what I need more these days. I already have some plans on how to go about my day, however, I still need a little more discipline to stick to my plans.

I know I can longer my my goal of uploading 30articles this month. Unless I risk of being flagged as a spammer by uploading more than one articles consecutively.

However, I hope that with this article, I can start rolling again and keep my momentum going again.

Thanks For Reading.


21
$ 12.58
$ 12.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Eunoia
$ 0.03 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 9
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I admire the way how you handle having no full time job for now because you are still eager to express your creativity and passion in other things such as writing, the mere fact that this is a freelancing online hustle is another amazing opportunity for everyone, own time, own style.

Ako naman e nag sisimula pa lang, 1 article per day, hindi ba pwede dalawa? Tapos goaling for a week, which for sure good momentum for this month onwards. Kuddos.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Pwede nman dalawa pero wag lang siguro araw araw. Last week naka dalawa ako sa isang araw. Pero me 12 hours interval. Mamaya either tatapusin ko yung isang article or gawa ako ng panibago. Pero balak kong maka dalawa ulit ngayon hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I see, salamat at least hindi per oras haha. Hindi na makatotohanan. Worth sharing and reading naman kc write ups nyo, minsan nga yong rant at memes pambasag sa seryoso at joker na mundo kaya binabasa ko din.

Hindi ko pa malaman paano routine ko dito, kung sulat ba muna o basa ng articles, kahit ano siguro basta available kong gawin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ako kung minsan, I start with reading and replying comments. Tapos basa ng ibang articles bago mag post. Kung minsan post muna bago magbasa ng ibang articles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too, have become unproductive lately, because of tiredness and a lot of things to do, writing articles sometimes left behind.But I'm trying to recover and start over again.

We do have time when we feel demotivated but there will always be a chance to start over.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I sometimes allow procrastinating take the better of me, and I don't write when I should. I have tried to break the big bad P from my side too. Countless times. Lol

I'm Vince. Nice to meet you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me, I just let my hands do the typing thing. I am not a consistent too when it comes to writing, especially that I am still in a process of recovery.

As for you, I am so sure that you will gain that momentum. Just don't overdo it po. ;)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks. yeah. kailangan din natin ng pahinga. Actually, hindi ko to natapos kagabi kasi lumampas na ako ng 11, so tinigil ko muna at tinapos ko na lang kanina.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would usually experience losing momentum when I am doing my bank reconciliation. When I am so focused then someone would come to my table and would ask about some simple things they can do themselves. Same with writing, once we stop for a while, it is somehow difficult to get back where we left off.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yeah. nakakainis yan... when you are in deep thoughts then some interrupts you to ask something simple. When you loose your train of thoughts, ang hirap balikan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we really let the procrastination wins over us, then it will really happen and stay. But, if our body reached its limit then it's understandable. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes keep it coming. Whenever you feel distracted again, write about your distractions, hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yeah. that's why I wrote this instead. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's been a long time since I wasn't planned to have a quota in writing. Hehe, I go with the flow, yet I found myself productive this week hehe. A drop in price leads to an opportunity to gain more, bruh, haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

my thoughts exactly. low price means time to earn more BCH.

$ 0.00
1 year ago