How Difficult Is It To Keep Life In A Balance?

14 63
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

May 4

April was an amazing month for me financially. I earned more than what I was aiming for. However, it was not without sacrificing some of my time. The job that I did to get that amount required a lot of traveling. I spent a lot of time on the road.

As a result, I had to sacrifice my writing time.

Created using Canva


I always thought, "We work to earn a living, thus it defeats the purpose if our work is killing us." I have observed some real-life people working their arse off. Neglecting their family, physical health, and even mental health. On the flip side, there are people who waste too much time watching TV, playing video games, and scrolling down through their Facebook wall or Instagram for hours and hours. I'm partly guilty of the TV and Instagram.

Then there are people who spend more than they earn to satisfy their vanity and ego... and those who eat as much as they could as if there is no tomorrow.

Greetings dear wonderful readers. Let me ask you these questions, do you keep tabs on how you spend your time each day? How much time do you spend working? Do you spend enough time with your loved ones? When was the last time you exercised?


Balance

Balance or physical equilibrium - stability produced by even distribution of weight on each side of the vertical (Source: Mirriam-Webster)

That's physical balance. To EVENLY distribute weight on each side.

In life, it's not weight that we need to keep in balance. What we need to balance or TIME. However, it's not just balancing on each side. According to several life gurus, we need to balance our time to (at least) five areas of life.

  • Work/ finances

  • family/ relationship

  • Physical health

  • Mental Well Being

  • spiritual

Work/Finances

Most if not all of us spend at least eight hours per day working. Some are even working more than ten hours a day working. Some are even working seven days a week just to earn a little more money.

Image Source: Pixabay

Family / Relationship

Do you spend enough quality time with your family? Most of us work to provide for our families. However, we end up sacrificing our time with our family to earn a little more. Is it worth it?

Some give up intimate relationships or even friendships for the sake of earning money.

Physical Health

This is another area of life that many people sacrifice to earn. Some people sleep less and develop unhealthy eating habits in the process of building their wealth.

Of course, the negative effects come later in life.

Mental Well Being

Working too much causes both physical and mental stress. Are you getting enough rest each day? But it's not just because of work. Often, we bombard our minds with a lot of negatives from the things that we read and watch. Do you spend time relaxing? To meditate? Do you read books?

Spiritual Well Being.

Perhaps the most ignored area especially at this time. Do you still believe in God? Do you still spend some time praying or meditating?

Keeping Life in a Balance

Image Source: Pixabay

Keeping Life in a balance doesn't mean you need to divide your time equally. However, we need to spend some time in each area of life each day or at least a few times a week.

 Now, I am no guru or qualified to tell you how to put your life in balance. I am, however, doing my own research and trying one method after another to put my life in a balance. This time I am using Evernote to set my schedule each day plus with a little help from my phone's alarm.

However, one cannot program one's self so easily. It takes time and determination.

In Closing.

To balance your life, you may need first to cut down the unnecessary activities. Like watching TV and or movies (guilty!), Facebook, mobile gaming, etc... unless you are earning from these activities.

Then set how much time you can spend on each area mentioned above. Find activities that fall under each area.

I believe some areas require less time than others. Like prayer, meditation, and exercise. You can start with 5 to 10 minutes with it each day.

Make your plan. Then execute your plan. This is easier said than done for many of us. I am still struggling to keep my life in balance. Often, I fail to follow my morning routine and skip the exercise part.

In the end, it's all about discipline and determination.

Thanks For Reading

12
$ 7.05
$ 6.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @LeticiaFelize
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

so many distractions in life and it is indeed important to step back and pause, evaluate things and then move to achieve them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen to that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apir sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not sure if I can say that I am balancing my life that well. We really need to discipline ourselves more :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. the big D! that's what I need too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm afraid I can't achieve this life balance despite trying to follow my schedules. But I see to it to get enough rest and even how busy I may be, I make sure to have time with the Lord.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know. It's quite difficult to achieve total equilibrium in life... but at least we should try

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, in life, we must embrace the importance of balance in every aspects. Having a balanced life would help us walk the path much better. You see, too much of everything is not good, so we must learn to balance everything in order to come up with better results in out lives.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Para cada cosa hay tiempo, todo esta escrito y nada viene por casualidad, todo depende de nosotros y debemos de buscar el equilibrio de nuestras actividades y vida. Si meditamos y nos concentramos en nuestras labores todo nos saldrá bien, hay que buscar ese equilibrio.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

"If we meditate and concentrate on our work, everything will turn out well for us" Well said, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also do feel guilty about watching things like movies for a long time as well as watching a lot useless things that really don't make sense well it makes me entertained especially in the time that we are in that we feel uncomfortable without the house because of COVID. I really feel like I need a balance between my online and physical life but I think that it wasn't still possible for me because I relied a lot in my gadgets and online stuffs because I use it in school and using Noise and Read.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Making better choices and practices repeatedly will help you get better results than just wishing for it. Balance is hard but is possible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Keeping life in a balance it's not an easy thing, but the Bible says that there's a time for everything under the Earth,so in every activities in our life there's a time for everything, let us be very careful of our time being spend on earth, for the Bible says seek first the kingdom of God and every other thing shall be added unto you, let our time be focused on GOD activities,than for us to spend our time in watching TV and gaming.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It's not easy to manage all things together but we have to do it to run the cycle of life smoothly

$ 0.00
1 year ago