Do You Visualize Your Dreams?

13 50
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

What was your dream, when you were younger, what is it that you wanted to be?

Are you anywhere near your dreams? or you have forgotten already your dreams when you were just a kid?

Image source: Unsplash

Have you taken the course that you wanted? Or other circumstances have forced you to take another path?

If you are on the path to pursuing your dreams, how often do you think of your dreams? Have you evern visualized your dreams before? Is it necessary to visualize your dreams? Does visualization help? How does it help? How do you visualize your dream?


Hello again readers. Today is September 7. Another day, another step closer to my dreams. And in this post, I will share with you how I lost track of my dreams long ago. How my life was without a dream. And how I started to remember by dreams, visualize them and finally make a plan how to achieve them.


Dreams Die and New One Begins (Sometimes)

When I was young, I may have some dreams what I wanted to be, but I can hardly remember them now. Did I want to be a doctor like my father was? He did help a lot of people while he was alive. But, for some reasons, that dream died even before I finished grade-school.

Instead, I remember watching in awe all the blinking lights and complicated computer screens in the movie (and TV series reruns of) Star Trek. And I remember looking at the pictures of cool computers in a magazine. That's when I wanted to learn about computers. That's why I took up a computer course.

No Dreams, No Directions

But I have no dreams beyond that. I did not know what I wanted after graduating. I did not even know what to expect when I enrolled in college. I just wanted to learn about computers, that's all. And at the time, personal computers are more rare and as expensive as the latest iPhone model.

Image source unsplash

Even when I got my first job, I have no direction. I'm just happy I'm working with computers and kept on learning new things, from computer hardware assembling, network installation, programming, and to graphic designs. All I knew was, I was hungry for learning things about computers... even up to now.

Importance of Dreams

There was a time that I learned the importance of dreams. Not the dreams that we have when we sleep, nor the imaginations that we have when we are awake. It's the DESIRE that is important.

As the best selling author Napoleon Hill stated in his book "Think and Grow Rich"

"Desire is the starting point of all achievement, not a hope, not a wish, but a keen pulsating desire which transcends everything."

In my younger years, I have learned to be contented with anything that I have. I almost never wanted to have more. I was contented with my job. I was contented with my salary. I was happy, and was able to eat three meals a day. I can buy myself some good clothes. I can enjoy some time with my friends. I was contented. But I was going nowhere.

I guess I haven't dreamt of or desired for anything, until I have come to know a special person. Because of her, I learned to dream. I learned to desire things that I was barely interested in having. I found a direction for my life.

Visualize Your Dreams.

Then I heard or read from another best-selling author Bo Sanchez about visualizing your dreams. Why is it important to visualize your dreams. Your desires. And visualize it in full details.

It's not enough to desire a brand new car. But you have to desire the color. the brand, the model, and other details.

He even suggested to create a "Vision Board". A board where you can stick the pictures of your desires.

I did not do that. But I did an electronic version. I wrote my dreams down in my Evernote App. I pasted pictures of the things that I desired. I even wrote the dates when I wanted to have them.

Screenshot of a portion of "Dreams List" in my Evernote.

The purpose of Vision board is to help you visualize your dream every single day. I admin, I don't open my "Dreams" note every day. But the details are there. By doing so, the expert says, you are attracting those "dreams" to become real.

Did it Work?

Sadly, it did not work for me. Not right away, anyway.

Why? Something was missing. I had all the details of my dreams. Even the amount of monthly income that I needed in order to achieve those dreams. So what was missing?

BTW, not that I did not achieve any of the dreams that I have listed. I did achieve the "smaller dreams".

As I have said earlier, the dreams set my direction. I know where to go. The details, the amount that I need showed me how far I was to my dreams and the road that I need to take. So what was missing?

  • Number 1. Focusing on your dreams doesn't and will make your dreams magically become a reality. No it doesn't work that way. You to work for it! But focusing on your dreams, will open up the opportunities that will lead to achieving those dreams.

  • Number 2. I was walking towards my dream! No! I was crawling! I wasn't exerting enough efforts to reach my dreams quickly!

  • Number 3. I could not find the right vehicle. I tried investing in the stock market. I tried selling properties and insurance policies, but selling is my biggest weakness.

But it's going to change now. I now learned to determine the distractions-that once appeared to me as opportunities - from the true opportunities. It took me so much time, but now finally, I am slowly realizing my dreams. I now found the right vehicle to take to achieve my dreams.

Final Thoughts

If you want to achieve your dreams, visualize your dreams. Then the "universe" will unfold the circumstances and opportunities that will lead you to make your dreams into reality.

Thanks For Reading.

This post is for the Writing Prompt No. 16:Dreams by @JonicaBradley . If you want to join the writing prompt, here are the simple rules.

  • Write anything on Dreams

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  • Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  • Tag @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun!

8
$ 7.95
$ 7.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

That quote from Napoleon Hill is interesting. "Desire is the starting point ...” In the New Testament scriptures, elders are supposed to shepherd the flock of believers, Men chosen as shepherds must meet certain qualifications listed in the Apostle Paul's epistle to Timothy. But what is interesting is not only must they meet these qualifications, but first and foremost, they must “desire” the work. They must desire to be pastors to the congregation. Desire drives us all in every aspect of our endeavors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, working on it does not mean that we will make it... But trying can influence the world around us for opportunities suited for us in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of dream courses. During elementary/primary days, most students will say that they want to be a teacher, doctor, police and other dream profession. Seems like they already finalized their future. But in reality when we got college, all we said was "do I really love this course? ", "I'm not sure about this", "our money was not enough for this". But the good thing is, we got a course for a calling, stepping stone to achieve more of our dreams:)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True. Along the way, we get influenced by so many factors. Thus, sometimes we change course...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday our dreams will come true🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when i was younger, I did create my vision board but it was not about material possessions, I never dreamed of owning those extravagant things.. what I dreamed was to grow old happy with my husband, with kids, with grandkids..living sustainably

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That should be a part of a vision board. I had that in my original list of dreams... Like how much time I should spend with my family. I guess that's one dream that I have accomplished being a freelancer

But thanks for reminding me, I need to upgrade that dream. It's my mind always but I did not put it in my notes. But I will now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice reaction to the point. If there's one thing I hold in this article, it is the fact that if you really want to achieve your dreams about need to visualise it. Once you visualise it, you can then work on it and it then becomes real.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup. And the digital version of my vision board reminds me to work on it. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the keyword here is determination.. Determination to achieve your dream no matter what happens. Regardless of the number of visual board you hang in your house, if you are not that determined to reach your goal, it's useless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. That's what I lack. But visualizing my dreams (though not daily), It reminds me that I should do something. And I am now getting more focused to work in making those dreams come true. No more wishful thinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's cool then. I hope you will achieve your dreams soon!..

$ 0.00
2 years ago