Do Not Be Afraid To Make Mistakes

8 24
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

November 5, 2022 Article Number 238

 Ok, I just wasted 2 minutes staring at the screen. So many things poured into my mind. Something happened last night. I don't know what it was, my wife was startled by what she read in her messenger. A teenager she knew took his own life last night.

 I don't know the details... but I knew the kid and his parents too. They are actually related to my wife.

Anyway, that's not exactly my topic for this article. But probably, it may be related.


Greetings my dear readers. I did not intend to start this article with such a grim tone. I just can't help it. The victim is related to my wife and she knew the family very well. I just hope the family can find strength in the midst of this tragedy. And may the soul of the victim can find rest despite what happened.


 Kids Today

Kids today are different. They want to satisfy their "wants" right away. Impatient, among other things. Is this the effect of too much social media? I can't even imagine how the kids would be affected if they started to immerse themselves in the Metaverse!

 Anyways, one thing I have observed in the kids today... through my students anyway. Some of them seem to be afraid of making mistakes.

 When it comes to tests, they always want to get a high score in any way they can. To the extent that they would resort to cheating. (Hmm... this is not new anyway --- yeah guilty as charged on this one.)

 

When I gave them instructions on how to do their performance task, they fear of tests. However, when they are given the tasks to apply what they learned, I saw a different story.

 Many of them are good when it comes to memorization. However, they seem to find it difficult to understand, let alone apply.

 In teaching computer-related subjects, especially when it involves programming or web development, my philosophy is always to let them do things by themselves. I created some video tutorials and uploaded them for them to follow. Although they were created in a hasted and I did not have time to do a voiceover, I believed they can be followed rather easily.

A few of them though kept asking some questions. I double-checked the instructions that I uploaded. To answer their questions, I referred them to the specific instruction that answers their questions.

The answers to their questions are already in the instructions. They are just afraid to make a mistake and thus afraid to do anything.

My Message To The Kids.

The best way to learn how to do things is to do them yourself. Committing mistakes is part of learning. In fact, committing mistakes is the best way to learn.

No programmer, web developer, or any other professional accomplished a big project correctly in a single try.

You can apply this mentality to any endeavor or task. Do your tasks as correctly as you can. If you make a mistake, learn from it and don't make that same mistake again.

To the Parents.

 Never pressure your kids to do things perfectly. Never scold them when they make a mistake. Instead, ask them what they learned from that mistake.

If they were given some tasks to do for their school project, let them do them themselves. Don't do it, or don't let others do it for them.

Most successful people in the area made tons of mistakes before succeeding.

In Closing.

 We always associate mistakes with failures. But failing is part of the process of succeeding. In fact, failure is the best teacher to success.

 Thanks For Reading.


All images are from Unsplash


Please don't forget to Like, Upvote, Comment, Share and Subscribe!

Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Some Contain referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.App | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links. 


 

9
$ 1.75
$ 1.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.03 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Well written. yes we should give some chances to do mistakes and don't get worry of them and we should learn a lesson from mistakes and try to avoid them in future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is very useful to everyone, kids, parents and some teachers as well. Not only those but to readers as well. Thank for such a nice and helpful instructions

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No hay que tener miedo a cometer un error, vealo de la mejor forma, es parte de su enseñanza, de un crecimiento personal. Sino nos equivocamos o aprendemos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you sir ,you explain it well👏 Yes we don't afraid if we made mistakes coz that mistakes brings a lesson to learn.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True sir. Wag tayong matakot magkamali kasi walang success pag walang failure. It's part of the process. Lahat madadaanan yun kaya continue lang ng continue no matter what happen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As a teacher you explain it well JLo. We were guilty of it however when I ended in highschool I let myself did some mistakes after, for perfection and pretension didn't allow me to grow more and I don't learn in being so perfect!

I know the Spirit was guiding me and thanks to the One who knows us better than ourselves. This is my story, my balance.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen to that. Claiming that we are perfect or already know everything means there is no room for growth anymore...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do agree that some parents associate mistakes as failures. Mistake is not a crime (unless it's illegal or a crime). Mistakes are lessons.

$ 0.01
1 year ago