How Did You Spend Your Extended Long Weekend?

2 40
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

November 3, 2022. Post Number 237

I missed another day. I wasn't able to write an article yesterday. I wanted to but I was preoccupied with something else.

Last week, the President of the Philippines declared October 31 a non-working holiday since it's a "sandwich" day. Or a day that goes between a weekend and a holiday. Thus we had a four-day weekend.

However,  last Thursday,  the storm Paeng (International Name: 'Nalgae'), entered the country and brought heavy rains and strong winds. All classes and work were suspended on Thursday and Friday extending the long weekend for two more days. The storm left the country with at least 150 dead and billions worth of damage to agriculture and infrastructure.

The question is, how did you spend your extended long weekend?


Greetings once again my dear readers and friends. Those who were directly hit by the storm are probably still trying to figure out how to recover from this, yet another, disaster. I hope and pray that financial aid and other forms of help will start arriving soon.

This brings to mind an idea for another article.

In the meantime, for those who were not directly affected, how did you spend your extended long weekend?


The last days of October

In the last few days of October, I tried to earn as much as I could by writing articles for readcash and Hive. I am starting to earn a bit from noise-app as well. I also started to receive some tips through the app.

Creating My Illustrations for the Art Challenge.

Most of you know by now how much I love to draw. Thus, I have been preoccupied with creating my two entries for the HivePH Art Challenge.

The challenge re-en-kindled the illustrator in me. Thanks to those who gave me positive feedback and up-voted my work... I am now inspired to continue my pursuit of creating my own webcomics... I have had some stories in my mind for years.

Laziness

As I have mentioned above, the weather was bad. The Storm Paeng has brought almost non-stop rain for at least three days. Thus the air was cold. With the cold weather, Mr. Sloth always loves to embrace us to keep us warm.

So I spent... wasted, to be precise, time lying in bed watching La Brea and the latest episodes of The Walking Dead. I think I watched more or less 10 episodes of La Brea in the last 5 days.

Screenshot of the TV series La Brea

Tutorials.

I was able to create one tutorial on how to use WordPress. It was a video that I made for my students. I didn't have enough time to edit though. Thus, I uploaded it with no voice-over or music.

Hmmm... this reminded me that I need to upload another tutorial tonight.

Exploring Medibang Paint Pro.

Last Saturday, one of our students was supposed to join a digital poster-making contest. However,  it was postponed due to the storm. I was planning to teach our contestant how to use Adobe Photoshop. However, she doesn't have the program on her laptop.  So I opted to use Medibang Paint Pro. I gave her some instructions on where to download the application. 

I have been using Medibang Paint for mobile in creating my illustrations. However, it's been a while since the last time I used Medibang Paint Pro--- the desktop version. I think I will do my coloring in the desktop version next time.

Anyways, we had a short online tutorial yesterday, just to get her familiar with the tools she needs to create a poster. 

There are still some small things that I did at home, like oil my kids' bicycles. However, there are some things that I needed to do that I haven't

What I haven't Done.

I was supposed to work on the grades these past 5 days. I did check some of their submitted work, but I haven't recorded them yet.  I need to focus on this task this weekend.

I almost forgot the project proposal that a hospital asked me for. I have finished the proposal already, I just need to submit or send it tomorrow morning.

In Closing

Balancing my daily activities is still my biggest weakness. I badly need to improve my time management skills.

One thing I realized though. I may have to reduce my time in writing starting this month. Especially since face-to-face classes will be full-blown starting next week.

Thanks For Reading.


Image Credits

Images used in the lead image.

The rest of the images are mine unless otherwise specified.

Please don't forget to Like, Upvote, Comment, Share and Subscribe!

Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Some Contains referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.App | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | Cointiply |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links. 

6
$ 3.27
$ 3.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @Infinity
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I've seen La Brea somewhere, maybe in HboGo. Imma check that out too! So much to do in 4 days no but still not enough to make things done.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yeah... kulang ang 4 days... sarap kasi matulog eh. hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago