10 Free Graphics Design Apps Graphic Designers Should Try Part 2

24 132
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

July 15, 2022

This is the Part 2 of my 10 Free Graphics Design Apps Graphic Designers Should Try. In the first part, I shared five graphics design apps that can be used for specific tasks.

For a quick rundown, here are the apps that I mentioned in the first part.

  • 10. Snapseed

  • 9. Phonto

  • 8. Canva

  • 7. Logo Pit Plus

  • 6. Vector Ink

These applications cab be used for:

  • Photo enhancement / Resizing

  • Adding text on photos

  • Creating layouts

  • Creating vector images.

Please read: 10 Free Graphics Design Apps Graphic Designers Should Try Part 1


Greetings once again my dear read-cash family. In this second and last installment of my "10 Free Graphics Design Apps Graphic Designers Should Try" I will share with you Mobile applications that you can use for photo editing and creating digital illustrations.

Created Using PicsKit

5. Picsart - Photo Editor / Photo arts effects

Picsart is a popular photo editing apps. Although this is a freemium* applications, the free features are more than enough to accomplish more than just any photo editing tasks. With Picsart, you can easily enhance your photo or apply some magical effects and filters on them.

The advanced features can be accessed by subscription.

4. Picskit - Photo arts effects / Photo editor

Picskit is versatile photo editor and arts effects editor. Picskit is similar to Picsart. The app have numerous templates you can easily use and customize. Picskit is similar to Picsart. Although, some features and effects of Picsart are much better than Picskit, what surprised me is, Picskit can be used to design layouts for social media images.

It's main advantages are the unlimited layer capability and canvas which you can resize.

Screenshot of PicsKit

Get Picskit for:

The next set of apps are mainly used to create digital illustrations.

3. Autodesk Sketchbook - Digital painting and drawing

If you are into digital painting/illustration, you should definitely try Autodesk's Sketchbook. Sketchbook's boasts a wide variety of brushes that graphics artists love. From different kinds of pencils, pens, water color and other forms of brushes.

At the first glance, Autodesk's Sketchbook looks like purely digital drawing/painting app with a lot of available brushes. However, if you explore it's features, you will see that you can do much more than just create a digital painting.

Screenshot of Sketchbook

2. Ibis Paint X- Digital drawing and painting app

Ibis Paint X is a versatile drawing and painting app. It's loaded with more than 300 brushes, dozens of filters, blending modes and other features.

Aside from creating drawings and paintings, Ibis Paint X can also be used to design layouts for your social media and printed images.

Recently, Ibis Paint X released its version for Windows 8/10/11 and Mac.

I created my Redbubble banner using Ibis Paint X

Ibis Pain X Official Web site: https://ibispaint-x.net/


Special Mention

Befor I go to the number one graphics design apps on my list, let me mention one application that I have been using a lot for years on my mobile phone, Pixlr Photo Editor.

Pixlr Photo Editor is the mobile version of the free online photo editor. I use it to apply quick fixes and enhancement on my images or add a watermark before posting them.

Get Pixlr for:

1. Medibang Paint Pro. Digital Drawing and Painting

Medibang Paint Pro is designed for creating Manga.

I learned about Medibang Paint Pro when I was looking for an alternative for Photoshop that runs on Android. My old laptop then crashed and I cannot afford to buy a new one. Instead I bought a cheap 10-inch Android tablet.

I was surprised to see how easy it was to use. The layout looked like an old version of Adobe Photoshop. Medibang Paint became an instant favorite. The biggest bonus, aside from being free, it's a cross-platform application with free online storage. Thus I can access my work from any device.

My tribute to the late Chadwick Boseman who brought T'Chala a.k.a. Black Phanther

Official Website: https://medibangpaint.com/

In Closing.

I can't deny though that none of these applications comes close to Adobe Photoshop and illustrator. However, I learned to use one or more of these applications in a single project.

Do I use them all? Not all the time. I use different apps corresponding the type of project. Though I can still create the layout in Medibang Paint, it's much easier to do so in either Canva or Logo Pit Plus.

I still have my Windows Laptop, but for now, it's more convinient for me to use my tablet. That's why I prefer having these applications.

If you are a graphic artists, a proffesional or a beginner, I suppose these applications are worth a try.

Thanks for reading.


16
$ 6.40
$ 6.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
+ 7
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks for writing this. I'm just a beginning.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a useful article, I thought that the was just one graphic design app I never knew that we had more of it. I will try out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Saving this for later use, thanks for writing this article!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This article is so informative . Thanks to share this. I am user of Snapseed. This is very amazing app it could turn our pic into totally different form. But, to make a project successful we should have knowledge of all these apps. You share very helping material in this article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Favorite mo talaga yung Medibang. Maganda naman kasi talaga ang result. More success to you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. Yup, favorite ko ang Medibang. Madali kasing gamitin eh. Lalo na at me pressure sensitive na stylus ako. :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Medibang looks really great and it's a great alternative for Photoshop on Android. Another graphics design app that deserves an honourable mention is adobe express. I came across it recently and one thing I use it for is to remove the background from any image, it works perfectly like magic!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmmm. Thanks for sharing that. I know that Adobe now have several apps for mobile, but most of the free versions have limited features. I will check that out though. Thanks again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very interested in learning more every day, to improve myself. I love working with Canva.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are an artist, right? I think you should try Sketchbook or Medibang Paint.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was really looking for the app for online sketching. I have used PicsArt and Canva that work great. Thanks for sharing useful information.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome. For sketching, try any of the last three apps in this list. Sketchbook, Ibis Paint X, or Medibang Paint.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I downloaded lecture by enablers video series about graphics and your article is very helpful for me Just going to download picskit first

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good choice. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Matanong ko po, ano po ang app na pwede gamitin sa pag lay out ng tarpaulin or pag gawa ng banner?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pwede na rin ang IbisPaint... kaya lang me limit ang size. Nasa 4,000+ pixels lang yata... mga 40 inches yan or mga 3 1/2 feet pag 100 DPI. Ok na rin yata yan. Pwede rin Medibang Paint. pero magmalakihan talaga, mas mainam pa rin ang Photoshop. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pics art sana ginamit ko kaso di naman ma download ng free ang ginawa ko kailangan pa pala mag subscribed.Subukan to itong suggestions mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hmm.. free version naman ang picsart na ginagamit ko ah.... pero it's more on photo editing. At wala syang layers tulad ng Ibis Paint or Medibang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Picsseed and picsart are my favorite applications for editing of pictures. Thank you sister for always bringing good application to improve our graphic designing experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat dito sir! Natry ko na yung Adobe Photoshop pero ang hirap pala kapag beginner. Nanood ako sa YouTube pero mahirap padin hahahah parang kalokohan Yung mga naedit kong pics dati.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

your welcome. Ganyan talaga pag bago pa. Try mo ang picsart or picskit at least maraming AI-assisted na features na pwede mong gamitin para mas madali.

$ 0.00
1 year ago