Happenstance, Flash-Fiction Challenge

14 53
Avatar for Iremori
3 years ago

On a day with clear skies, white clouds and the ever radiant sun. That's the day that I met you again. Your long black hair that flow with the wind as you move. Your bright smile that could make anyone forget their problems for a while. Those hazels eyes that shine as light hits them just right. And your sweet voice that's very pleasant to hear.

I saw you get out of the car that's parked in front of my shop. You urged your company to quickly follow. The bell chimed as you open the door. You smile as you saw me in the counter. The one to came in after is my friend and its been a long time since we've met. I asked what they'll have and prepared it for them while we talked about the things that happened.

I gave them their order and they eat by the counter. She told me that you felt a bit hurt that I wasn't there at the wedding. Then I noticed that you're wearing a ring. I must've left the invitation unopened along with the bills that I have to pay. I congratulated her then asked who the lucky guy was. She then pouted and gave a sigh. But still gave an answer and pointed at the person beside her. I then congratulated them both with smile on my face. We talked some more after that. When they finished eating, they waved and said they'll come back.

As they head to the car, I feel my heart sink. I know that my friend is a great guy but I just can't help but feel regret. But regardless, I'll stay here, inside my lonely shop, until the sun sets.

6
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.01 from @feebie
Sponsors of Iremori
empty
empty
empty

Comments

What a painful moment and courage to keep smiling. She felt hurt you didn't show up at the wedding? Really? I guess selling the shop and hit the road, off to a better life is no option? πŸ‘πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a story about something that I want to do in life some day. And a reminder to not live life as lonely as the person in the story. As always, thank you for reading 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't see the character as a lonely person but a hurt one. Hurt by those he considered as good friends...somewhere it went wrong and those friends didn't even notice what brought the pain, what's going on.

Reminders are good, so are situations like these who show those friends we're different from expected, the expectations were.

Big πŸ‘ for you.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Such a sad story. It really pierce through my heart.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so sad, I hope you don't end up regretting things though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But there's really nothing to do anymore

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there's always two sides to any situation. 😊 Did you really go through this?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope. Just a dream that I've had. In my opinion, I'm still too young to be married. And I think that's true for my friends too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad story and it feels familiar

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's because you've read it before hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh i see that's why. Now that you're gaining audience and receiving such praises from different people makes me feel honored that i have read some of your works before it comes out into the light🀧🀧

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're my friend. I'll share you my works whenever.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haiii tomodachiπŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago