I REGRETTED: I Didn’t Follow My Instincts (Part 1)

11 30
Avatar for Inzionidwell
2 years ago

This is my second article today. I am officially thanking @Princessbusayo who encouraged me with her comment on my ‘Blank Head’ article. Her words have given me the insight to write my second article today.

Instincts are real. Intuitions could free us from the shackles and conflict of ‘What We Should Do’ versus ‘What We Should Not Do’.

Let me share my experience on this: I have two significant events that occurred to me and I am convinced that if I had listened to my heart I might not come across these ill-fated occurrences.

On that fateful day, 23rd of March 2018, I went to a cousin’s wedding ceremony and I felt sorry for myself.

Photo Credit | Unsplash

How Did That Week Go?

That year, I was in the university to run my bachelor’s degree programme. I schooled somewhere far from home (12 hours drive away home).

At the beginning of the week, my mom travelled to the city (about 2 hours drive from my university) where my cousin’s wedding would take place.

As a student, I needed some money and provision to sustain myself since I was broke at that time. My mother had prepared those stuff for me and she brought them along with her.

After she had gotten to the place, she gave me a phone call to notify me that she was around with some things to give me.

You must show up at the party to get them.’ She added.

She did not want to give it to my other cousin to hand it over to me since we were schooling at the same university. She did not want to take this step due to a reason best known to her.

Photo Credit | Unsplash

In the part of Nigeria where I base, weddings ceremonies are often done on weekends. I have planned to go to the wedding right from the beginning of that week but on Thursday morning I felt resistance in my mind not to go again.

I grabbed my phone to dial my mom’s number.

‘I am no longer coming over for the wedding ceremony.’

‘Why would you tell me this? I have brought all this stuff for you. You should have told me this before I left home. I wouldn’t have come along with them.’

‘You must come either you like it or not.’

I lied to her that I have a class and tests to attend in school that Saturday but she told me I should start coming once I am through with them. She had made this claim because she knew my school is just about 2 hours drive away from the city where the wedding would take place.

For the rest of the day, I never spoke with her because I knew there is nothing I could say to convince her again.

So What Happened On That Saturday???

Even now, as I typed the word 'Saturday', my heart began to race again. That day’s incident had just replayed itself in my head! I do not have a ‘Blank Head’ again!

Photo Credit | Unsplash

As soon as I got to the city where the wedding was taking place, I was brainwashed by a charm, followed someone I never knew to an unknown balcony. It took me some time to know that I have been kidnapped!

Why didn’t you listen to me?’ My instincts blamed my disobedient action. 

I was commanded to remove the sim cards in my phone and then the next thing I heard: 'Give me your phone!'

The thieves were somewhat considerate. They collected all the money I had on me and left me with the exact amount that would transport me to the venue of the wedding.

This ill-fated incident could’ve been prevented if and if only I had followed my instincts. – But, I didn’t and life happened to me as a result of my disobedience!

Permit me to keep it short and simple. I would gladly narrate my second experience in the second part of this article.

 Lead Image Source: Adobe Stock

       

8
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Jeansapphire39
$ 0.03 from @Thania05
+ 1
Sponsors of Inzionidwell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Inzionidwell
2 years ago

Comments

At times the spirit talks to us but we are reluctant to listen, is not really our fault cos the voice is not like that of a physical human, as a Christian I don't call it instinct, I call it the holy spirit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for what happened to you but the most important is your safe. Thank god.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is difficult to decide when your instict keep saying something you need to obey or follow. But good thing you are fine. Nothing harm happened to you. Nice to meet you. God bless. Keep writing. Keep going. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a bunch for the support. Much love 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our instinct are like the superhuman side of us, I always try to follow mine cause our body, I mean the five sense will be giving us signal of what will happen or might happen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very right. Sometimes we might want to do a thing and we won't feel comfortable at first. I believe it's a sign for us to take note of.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure, you just have to know when the signal is calling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I don't know what to say. Most times we can't predict what would happen to us anytime and this is why we need to follow our instincts. Perhaps your mom should have understood you then. It's a thing she might just give it to your cousin no matter what happen to send them over to you. But should we say we shouldn't obey our mothers?

I am glad you didn't have a blank head again. I think taking a shower would help you. Also try and watch a movie or perhaps read an article online to getet an idea on what to write. This does help me attimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blank head gone! 😊

Thanks for being there! Watching a movie could inspire you to write??? Unlike me. I'm not a movie fan but I do watch a few selected ones. Even though it might take me some days to watch a 2-hour movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well feel sorry that you have been robbed. Theft and robbery is prevailing you must listen to your mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for concern. I'm so GRATEFUL.

That is the exact conflict I have in my mind. I was confused about whom to obey. - My instinct or My Mom???

$ 0.00
2 years ago