Extreme fear

13 136
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

May 17, 2022. No. 247

I confess that I am very hurt by the events of almost two weeks ago when a hacker managed to get hold of my savings in metamask. The hard work of 3 months as a scholar at Pegaxy was gone in minutes, thanks to a hacker.

Apart from the financial loss, which is obviously enormous for me, the most challenging thing is to face the consequences that it leaves you psychologically. Being in a constant sigh with my finances in the Exchange, pending if the hacker is still after my steps. Although it is difficult to breach Exchange security, anything is possible. I would have to know my password, my merchant password, my email password, and also know the 2FA code of my email and of the Exchange itself. This whole situation makes it quite difficult for him to steal my capital again. But despite all this, the fear exists in me, because the experience was quite painful and leaves you a little traumatized.

Yesterday I opened the Exchange and due to the slowness of my internet connection it took me a while to load the data, and it was showing in Assets that I had 0 USD for a few seconds. Those seconds seemed like hours and I broke out in a cold sweat. I got up from the pc and didn't even want to look at the monitor. I refreshed the page and it was indeed an error. There was my capital.

My fear is neither delusional nor unjustified, since a few days ago since the hack event happened, my email has sent me several alert messages as if someone is trying to log in to it. On two occasions I have had to change the password and even the 2FA code, even reconfirm my cell phone number to that same account. If you do not confirm a withdraw through your email in the Exchange where I have my capital, you cannot take back your capital. That is why it is vital not to lose control of the mail or else I will lose everything.

Hackers manage in every possible way to get into your life and take everything. Even with an updated computer operating system, updated web browser, and up-to-date antivirus, they can still get in if you make a mistake and aren't aware of what you're doing online. After seeing several videos again about antivirus, I want to try some better than the one I had. Do you think that the Windows Defender that comes built-in with the Windows operating system itself is enough? What antivirus are you using?

Yesterday on the Discord channel, I posted this:

“I live in total fear. The hacker thing the other days left me well touched. I'm afraid it will happen to me again. Whenever I open my Exchange account and the internet connection is a bit slow, and doesn't show the balance at first, my heart races. Right now between and it said 0 USD and I had a panic attack. Indeed, it was the slow connection, the money was there. Kucoin has a trade password (6 digits), in addition to 2FA to enter. Also to withdraw the money you have to enter the email, which I also have with 2FA and linked to my phone number. Still, I'm scared. That is the effect that a hacker has on you when they steal $400 USDT from your account like nothing.”

The messages of support did not wait. In the end, it is something that can happen to anyone, at any time. Just being connected is enough, as we all are. Curiously, it was my turn, one of those who have talked about it the most here on the platform, and I was the one who caught malware on the internet that led to this catastrophe. It's time to live with it and move on. Learn from mistakes and continue to improve security so these things don't happen again.

“Sorry for this, David.” @emily2u

“That's what thieves do. They not only steal your asset but your peace of mind also.”

“Stupid hacker. They should have hacked rich people and not individuals like us who are trying to earn. Don't worry, you'll earn double or more for sure.” @bmjc98

18
$ 22.71
$ 22.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 7
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

Comments

It hurt pathetically when hackers tried to hack those people who are earning by trying hard. Anyway keep your security system more secure. I think i will be panicked if i saw my balance 0 if i have 400usdt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe that those hacker attacks are automated. $400 to them must be just some pocket money. Likely they steal the same and more every minute. But that's how the world is... some work hard, while others abuse them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks like you're having post-traumatic stress which is a normal thing whenever something like losing a large some of money to a hacker occurs. Nobody will feel safe again after such events, you just have to take things easy

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, is hard to feel safe after these events my friend :(, but I need to move forward. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really not a nice thing when your funds are been removed. Even if it's one cent, your account shouldn't be hacked. I believe the law of karma will definitely take it course with such hacker. You will for sure make triple of what was stolen. Take care dearie

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you my friend :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you David. Even though I haven’t been hacked I have lost a lot more capital in crypto and it also left me paralysed with fear to the point that I avoid most of my usual online activities. Things that used to bring me a lot of fun and joy no longer have this affect.

As they say time heals. It will take a while before you no longer live in fear, but that time will come and I’m sure you will do many great things 💙

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your words. I keep going. I hope it happens with time. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about that my dear friend. I guess someone close to you did that. Do you know why I said that? Maybe someone has seen the money you have in your wallet and he finds a way to get in your wallet without your consent. Or maybe you even gave someone you trust a vital information about your wallet but you cannot remember

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was a virus, I think :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would feel the same when it happened to me, who would not be right? losing that money to a hacker is a total traumatic experience..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not a good experience at all :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes.. nobody wanted to experienced that..

$ 0.00
1 year ago