I think I am perfect and my partner's bad habits

15 25
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

"You are like this, like that"...That's what I hear from people criticizing me. If I have my wand I'd do this "Expelliarmus!" no, that was a disarming charm..."Mawala-ness sa universe-ness!", a disappearing spell which means "Vanish from the universe".

Duh, "I am perfect even if I am not"...To be honest, I do think I am perfect and that is one of my most annoying habits. Perhaps I've gotten used to being perfectly alone before that's why criticism's hard to swallow.

We all have bad habits, don't you think you have one?

First, let's just define what a habit is:

hab·it

/ˈhabət/

noun

a settled or regular tendency or practice, especially one that is hard to give up.

(The definition is found here)

I wish I could tell more of my bad habits but I'd rather talk about my partner's because it is easier to talk about other people shhh...Can we keep this a secret?

My partner is a good man but like the rest of you, he is not perfect. I know he tries his best but there are times that I just couldn't understand him. I could only sigh in frustration but because I love him, I have to accept those flaws. He's doing the same for me. I guess love really is a decision.

His bad habits are:

Overthinking and overanalyzing

He overthinks even the smallest things. Remember the news that went viral about "lugaw" or pudding? He said "Lugaw is not essential because it is not really regular food", and I talked back, "Hon, it is essential because it is food! What if that was the only food that person could afford? We need to eat, and even if it's just pudding, it is still food". And we had a debate lol but I advised him that overthinking robs him of the smallest happiness that he could find if he won't live in the present moment.

No sense of urgency

I remember when I was pregnant, I got so thirsty. He was playing with his computer and I requested him to get me a bottle of water. He was so immersed that he forgot about me. My in-law gave me water and he only remembered me after 30 minutes.

He is also not so good at beating the deadline because when he sees a flaw in a project, he prioritizes it first rather than finishing his project.

Innocent about some matters in real life

I boiled water in the electric kettle and I forgot to turn it on. It was time for me to sponge the baby and when I pour it into the basin, the water was cold. I told him that the water wasn't heated. He said that he poured it in the thermos, and I asked, "Was it smoking hot when you poured it?", he said he just put it and he didn't care whether it was hot or not. We argued and he didn't want to surrender lol.

Plays too much computer

I know him too well that I could feel his excitement and read his mind that he wants to play all day if possible. I did give him that space until I got too tired because he keeps on delaying his job applications. The kids aren't getting smaller day by day, it's the other way around. And I want us to have enough money for emergencies and all that stuff.

Annoying habits, aren't they? But despite those habits, I do appreciate him because he is a good son to his parents. He is always there to support his parents by doing house chores which his mom could not do anymore. He helps her clean the house and wash the dishes, aside from the other petty stuff he needs to do.

He is a good daddy to our kids. He helps Elora with her studies. He is her teacher since the pandemic started. He took care of Saoirse in the morning because I was assigned to do it at night. He does the afternoon with us.

And a good employee. He is one of the bests at work, despite his weakness on the deadlines lol. He is good at calculations and analysis. I do hope he will find the perfect job for him soon.

As a partner, all I could do is remind him about those habits and push him to do better. I could only do so much everything is still up to him. I also pray for him whenever I can because I know only God can make miracles. And I am lucky because I don't have issues with fidelity.

This is my first entry into this community and I look forward to joining more in the future @JonicaBradley

I strongly recommend that you participate in this writing prompt, just follow these very simple rules.

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about bad habits

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!


Author's Note: The prompt is exclusively published for read.cash under the PromptlyJonice community. The purpose of this article is for entertainment purposes only. All rights reserved.

Please like, subscribe, and comment if you liked what you've read. Thank you!

March 15, 2022

12
$ 1.62
$ 1.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

Comments

I have also a bad habit but now I'm coping with it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Glad that you are doing something about it. Thanks for the visit :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has bad habits, for example I do know I have a lot. But the I loved here that you accept the bad habits of your husband and don't push that topic as no one is perfect. And with the love and understanding you are giving, I'm sure he will try to keep those habits down. After such a long time I have seen a couple with good understanding. Be happy both of you always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, sir. I am trying to understand him as much as I can because he certainly is doing the same thing for me :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The life of having a partner. Anyway, welcome here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to our little community.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for welcoming me, I appreciate it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyang tlaga sis may mga differences talaga ang mg asawa. Kaya minsan tatahimik na lng tayo parang wlang away.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe tatahimik tapos bigla na lang sasabog na parang bulkah sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be always in his side and keep on reminding him to be much better or else he will be getting worst.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend I shall remember your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that true all you have to do is to remind him and correct him . He is so Lucky to have a good friend like you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, I shall be more patient

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol we all have flaws and bad habits but those who truly love us will accept them and turn a blind eye to them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love does give us the ability to do the impossible dear Doc :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago