Hilot sa piang- accupressure on sprain by manghihilot...Why it matters to Bisaya people

27 85
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

I already mentioned before that I got a little accident in the bathroom and instead of my head, I used my arm to protect myself from the fall. Thank God, despite the pain I am still alive.

Oh hello, sorry for not saying my routinary greetings, my dears. Just your witch here trying to speak her mind after a few days of absence. How are you dealing with the heat? Would you like me to cast a spell for the sky to shed a tear?

We- Bisaya people usually do not go to the doctor whenever we have "piang" or sprain or displaced joints. We usually go to the "manghihilot" or quack massage therapist first. Just like a quack doctor "albularyo" or faith healer who practices magic and enchantment to heal a person, a "manghihilot" is usually not a professional person who studied about injuries and stuff but can cure sprains miraculously. They are our first aid- our first resort whenever we have accidents. Of course, we know it when it's a major thing and a patient needs to be hospitalized.

Piang- it means sprain or joint displacement

Just a throwback.

When we were practicing our steps during cheer dance, I accidentally took the wrong turn thus spraining my ankle. It was so painful that I couldn't walk hence my teammate carried me towards the chair. We had to go see a "manghihilot", he checked my ankle, applied some oil, and just twist carefully. The pain in the ankle stopped and I could walk again! I didn't pay that much, just 20 pesos I think. If it were in a clinic, I got to pay the doctor's fee, buy a pain reliever, and worst, I might be advised to have an X-ray. Thank you Uncle Hilot for helping me!

Now, going back to my accident. I still have this "piang". I rested it for a few weeks but since I have a baby, I need to carry her and all that stuff. The effort exerted sprained the affected area again and it got swollen. It was really painful that I cried- not only because of the pain but also because of self-pity that I cannot afford to pay for a "hilot" to heal me. Thankfully, my sister came to the rescue and gave me something for the hilot. It's just so hard to find one here in Manila because they are "scarce". Of course, you can go to the massage clinic but I am not sure if they can really heal the "piang". They will advise me, definitely, to go to a physical therapist.

Before I forget, do you know that there are different types of "manghihilot"?

  • Hilot for women who just gave birth

    When a woman gives birth, it is believed that all her veins "loosened" due to labor and stress and the hilot needs to massage her to put back all those loose veins together. If not, she will easily have "binat" or overfatigue.

    I have a personal experience regarding this. After I gave birth, I wasn't attended by the hilot. I just worked as per normal. There was a time when I had to ride a tricycle every day and the road was so bumpy- I started feeling the fatigue. I felt weak no matter how I sleep and eat. To my desperation, I went home to my grandparents in Bulacan. We went to their trusted "hilot" and spiritual adviser. She touched me, starting from my hair to my hands- she had powers. She pulled my hair, massaged my arms, and the rest of my body. I felt energized and refreshed. I was so thankful and happy. She said, "Your colors are back now, your cheeks are now rosy". So I was already really so pale. Then she let me pray to the church. When we reached home, another "hilot" was already there waiting for me. I took a warm bath- the water was boiled with "atis" leaves. Then she used Ventusa on my body, to get the remaining "lamig". I asked her how she became a "hilot", she said it was a "gift". She was a breech baby.

Do you know?

A breech baby in the Philippines is believed to possess natural healing power. They heal an affected or painful part of the body through a simple massage.

Going back to my story. So the "hilot" massaged me, I slept like a baby while she was doing it. I never felt so relieved and relaxed in my life. I didn't want the massage to end.

  • Hilot for those who have a fever

    I am not sure why this one's only focused on people who have a fever but I did talk to someone because of my situation. Manang Vergie said she knows a "hilot" but to someone who has a fever. I didn't ask her to elaborate.

  • Hilot for those who have sprains

    They are not physical therapist but they are good at putting your sprained ankle or arm to normal. Definitely no pain after the massage- you will only be advised to not wet the sprained part for a day.

  • Hilot for general massage only

    You see them in massage clinics, they are the folks who will ask you, "Maam, hard, medium, or soft?". And they will clap whenever they are almost done with you. Just kidding- clapping is part of the massage. I love going to massage clinics, it was one of my stress relievers when I was working.

Do you know?

Our "hilot" can detect whether a woman is pregnant or not just by checking her pulse. Amazing, isn't it?

Closing thoughts

"Hilot" is already part of our culture in Bisaya. Although we go to the clinic or hospital- we prefer to go to "hilot" first because they know what to do. They give remedy to pain for very affordable or cheap fee. And we go to different "hilot" depending on the pain that we are experiencing.

I need to go to the hilot, really so I could finally use this right arm as per normal.

Do you believe in "hilot"? Did someone introduce you to a "hilot?", how did it go? Do let me know by leaving a comment below.

Anyways, I visited my other "personality" because it was my first. I don't know what to feel anymore. I come to love this "side" of me- the witchy side and I think I'll stick to this one. What do you think? RR likes HermaniGinger :)

Thank you for staying with me- for the subscription, likes, upvotes, and comments.

Author's note: All rights reserved- all original content unless stated otherwise. The purpose of this article is for entertainment purposes only- DYOR or consult the proper authorities if you wanna go to a health practitioner due to an ailment.

The images were all from Unsplash.com

Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
My sponsors are heavent sent. My 35 subscribers are my inspiration as well.

March 23, 2022

Balik- balik sad ;)

Ā©HermaniGinger

11
$ 1.03
$ 0.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 7
Sponsors of HermaniGinger
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HermaniGinger
2 years ago

Comments

I think manghihilot are skilled because they know what they are touching. They may have trained informally kaya ganon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My only bisyo - massage therapy. Prior to pandemic, 3-4times a week akong magpahilot, sis. Yun lang kasi nakakagamot sakin kahit may sipon o nilalagnat ako, hilot talaga. Di kasi ako masyado sa mga gamot gamot na iniinom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama sis, lalo na yung mga synthetic na gamot. I remember nung time na grabe yung clogged nose ko, kung anu-anong gamot ininum ko wala pa rin pero nung nagpamassage ako, hinilot ni ate yung mukha ko gumaling ako sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know you're doing better! Interesting kaayo ang article, my lola is a midwife and manghilot sad siya ug mga buntis. Like if bali ang position sa bata iya hiloton para mo tuyok ba na i'm not sure but yeah hilot is life jod!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naay mga maayo when it comes to changing a baby's breech position into a normal one pero majority mahadlok sis busa gusto nila iCS na lang ang manganakay. Ka maayo ba gud ni lola :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah bisan ako sis makulbaan ko maghuna huna. Pero ni retire na ako lola sis pero proud kaayo sha sa iya mga nahilot ug gipa anak baga kaayo shag libro sa iya lista jod.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She just really know what to do :) Why man wala ka nisunod sa iya footsteps?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anay mahadlok kog dugo sis oy! hahaha hilig kog true crime pero hadlok dugo maluya ko hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah murag same ta sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hilot for life tlga ako sis maski sko mga anak pg ubohon to the rescue jud c ate manghilutay. Maayu bya jud, buyag! Wa nko geanad ug tambal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lagi sis, kita mga Bisaya kay hilot ug herbal last resort ra jud nang tambal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hilot sounds like a very interesting healing method. I wish we had that here. We have some bioenergetics, I went to him to help me get rid of allergies. He touches some spots on the body and transfers some energy that is healing. He really helped me then and he says that having that power is a gift and he has to use it to help people. The police have arrested him several times because it is not legal but he is still doing it. He helped two blind sisters to see. They also have a third blind sister who was there due to the same problem when I was there and she told me that. There are experiences that confirm that he really helps.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He is practicing energy medicine :) There are things in this world, dear Jeli that are not to be explained by Science. For me, I think the reason why God forbade witchcraft and stuff (since they consider this energy thingy as witchcraft according to some religious ones) is we will begin to question God's power and perhaps stop believing in Him. For me, I still believe in God and I look up to Him as the Highest of all. I do energy healing to some friends- not that serious and some plants that have blocked chi :) The more I meditate the more I think positively. It's actually wonderful- I wish I could tell you more. Some here might call me crazy but my partner saw what I could do. Hilot is just acupressure really but those folks were just good at it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, maybe some of us believe that kind of remedy. And I admit I was there before and it was so effective my illness got vanished like they literally gives convenient on my physical body.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do believe in "hilot" :) I am glad that you got healed from your illness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Since I'm a doctor I guess I don't like things like this lol I'm not racist or prejudiced, so I'll just say hello to you my sweet witch

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I respect your opinion, dear doc :) Thanks for saying hello :D "Hello" from the hot Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suki ko sa hilot sauna sis labi na pagkabinat nako human ug panganak sa kambal...Akong isa ka kambal kay suhi sis, pwede d i siya manghilot pag mudako na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe di ba sis sa atoa uso jud ang hilot kay effective man labi nag naay piang. Diri sa Manila mo gasto pa ka ug dako bisag natapilok ra gud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala Mao sis? Mahala man d i Diha, sa atoa kay bisan 20 man lang ihatag pwede ra

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakita kog manghilutay sis pero adtuonun pa..200 iya service fee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal Lage Iya service fee sis noh pero sagdae lang basta maayo, ok ra na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahadlok ko masalaag sis. Wa sad ko nakaadto kay gi-singaw akoa baby sigeg saputun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a Bisaya and proud suki sa "hilot" po hahaha. especially when I was younger.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sige ka kapiang sa una sis? Kanang mga lihukan kaayo mao na sige kapiangan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buyag pagka bata maam, hahaha kaning mga laski kaayo šŸ¤£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe lagi buyag buyag :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago