Sometimes Self Love is Important

6 32

I was not able to write when I wanted to yesterday because I was very busy most of the day. Infact I'm not sure I read any article from anybody, but I'll try to do that this morning.

It's a new day and it's another Friday, for a Muslim like me it means another Jumaah which is actually one of the most important days of the week for us. We all wear our nice clothes as we congregate for our Jumaah prayers.

Yesterday I was busy with some work when my cousin got a call from a friend and apparently he needed some cash. The problem with this situation was that the guy needed the money to get food, but my cousin also needed the money for an important project. So it was hard for him telling his friend that he didn't have.

So I was thinking about this situation whether it was a right choice or not and I came to the conclusion sometimes you have to prioritize yourself over every other person. Self love isn't a bad thing, sometimes you go out of your way to help people while at other times you have to do what you're comfortable with.

Unsplash image

I remember there was an article u read sometime ago when Jeff Bezos was the richest man in the world. The article highlighted the amount which the world richest men gave out in charity and it was noted that Jeff Bezos actually gave out the least in charity. This doesn't mean he's stingy compared to others, because what he would be giving out was mostly likely a very huge amount of his money. But in a way the article was trying to ridicule him without being too obvious.

The point I'm trying to bring out is that even if you're kind to everyone all the days of your life, there will definitely be people who still feel you didn't do enough and probably should've done more for them instead. So sometimes if you know helping at that moment isn't very convenient for you, it's always okay to say No.

There's no real measurements for kindness as we're all different people with different behavior, likes , dislikes, temperament and hence our environment affects us differently. So people should only expect you to be kind as much as you can and not as much as they feel you should.

I thought so hard of the last time I actually did something for myself which didn't include paying bills and i almost can remember any close memory. It goes to show that in this world, people will always have problems and they'll always need solutions. Sometimes you take a step back and do something just for you.

4
$ 0.90
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Cogamedia
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty

Comments

A person has put his or herself first before others and its not selfishness, its just the first rule of love, even the Bible said, Love your neighbor as you love yourself, it doesn't say love yourself as you love your neighbor, you have to feel love before giving out, you have to be contented before giving out because if eh red tomorrow, you only get yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, by loving ourselves it puts us in. contended place where we can easily give out to others as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self love is really vital, because you have to love yourself before you will be able to express it to others. I think self love is important

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true. Only by loving yourself can you truely extend it out to the world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago