You Like because. You love despite

42 102
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

I was lonely and sad. Reason for the sadness I couldn't tell. I was told Love was the key to happiness. I was asked to find love, but how to go about it they can't tell.

I took a walk with my Dog- Meemee. Together we went to the park. There I saw Sandra my long time crush.

"Finally this is the opportunity I've been waiting for," I said to myself. I summoned courage and walked up to her with Meemee tagging along.

She welcomed me with open hands. We talked like long time friends. It was fun all through. We ate our lunch together and chatted like lovers. Guys around looked at me with envy. For Sandra was a beauty.

"I think I've found Love," I said to myself. We decided to take one last tour around the park but as I stood, the most unexpected happened. I stepped on her gown and poured the hot water from the flask on Meemee. Out of nowhere came a slap.

"You sluggish, good for nothing idiot- how could you?. Do you know how expensive this gown is?. You can't know-you wretched fool" Sandra shouted.

I was embarrassed, to say the least.

"I'm sorry. I'm deeply sorry" I mumbled with shame.

"Keep your sorry to yourself. I don't blame you . It's my fault. How could I have stooped so low to talk to someone like you?. ". She retorted and walked away.

All eyes were on me. Though tears weren't flowing, I was weeping. I felt something cold on my leg and I looked down to see Meemee licking my legs. Looking at me with pain. I was oblivious to his pain. I kicked it hard and it barked in pain. That was when I noticed the flask was open.

" Oh! The water poured on him" I said to myself with regret.

Silently I walked down to my Godmother's house. I called home to tell them I wouldn't be coming home that night. It was then I realised I haven't seen Meemee Since I kicked it so hard. I felt bad for what I did. Not only did I poured hot water on him, but I also kicked him so hard that he might have broken a rib. I hated myself- For thinking Sandra will love someone like me. For transferring my aggression on an innocent dog.

With shame, I went to school. Hoping I will apologise to Sandra and things will go back to how it were in the past. I like her so much and I'm sure the feeling is mutual. After class, I gathered my notes and went to her locker. She was seated with her friends.

"Excuse me, Sandra, please can I have a minute with you" I said to her silently.

"Say whatever you want to say here right in front of my friends Mr Man" she Shouted.

"I'm very sorry for what happened yesterday, it wasn't intentional-"

"It wasn't intentional?. Or that's just who you are?. A useless nerd" her friend Rachel said with a scornful look.

"I'm so sorry once again. Can we go back to being friends?. " I added, Ignoring Rachel's words and looks.

" See Valour, you are a nice boy. I like you a lot. You are smart and intelligent but you are not just good enough to be my friend- you're too quiet, dull, anti-social and poor for my liking" Sandra answered without pausing.

By now the whole class was gathered. Some look at me with amusement and some pity.

With shame, I walked out of the class and out of the school...

I find love in the most unlikely place

I walked home angry at myself for thinking someone like Sandra will love me despite my shortcomings.

I got to the gate and remembered how I treated Meemee the previous day. I felt ashamed that the one true creature that I could call a friend was hurt through my carelessness and Anger.

"I'm sure Meemee also hates me now"

So I thought until I opened the gate. Off came Meemee running with it tail wagging happily. I was shocked to see him happy to see me-

Despite how I treated him.

Despite all my flaws and shortcomings.

Despite my sluggishness and boring lifestyle.

Despite my behaviour towards it the previous day.

Despite how I've hurt him in the past.

Despite how I took him for granted so many times.

He still chooses to love me. He showed me the true definition of love and for this, I'm forever grateful.

Dedicated to Meemee

This is pure fiction but an analogy to show how my dog "Meemee" loved me unconditionally. He died in the year 2015. And till today I still feel his absence. Because of his death, I've shut some doors in my heart and I find it hard to love another Pet the way I loved him.

Thanks for reading!πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

So sorry for writing something sad this morning, also for inter-changing "he" & "it at intervals. I hope it wasn't confusing.

26
$ 13.92
$ 12.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 16
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I am confused. Did you kick or didn't you? If it's an analogy, then kicking her is an analogy for what? I'm confused. (had the same problem with the out of season figtree that had no figs that Jezus got mad at) So ELI5 please. thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Read it well, i said i was oblivious to it pain because i was clouded by the pain...also at the end i stated that it's an analogy and mere fiction. A way of telling people that despite the way most people treat their pet ,the pets still choose to love them. And the reason you hurt the pet isn't valid. As stated that the hot water pour on him

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ok, well, still don't completely get, i think. but it is almost always true that, i case of dogs at least, their love for their owner is unconditional. My dog, Spock, whom i had to have put down last year, was always soo happy and excited when i came through the front door it was amazing! I could literally walk out, close the door, turn around, open door and he'd be as happy and excited as if i'd been gone a week! He'd been my closest buddy through a lot. He was even closer to me than that big old bear that insists on calling himself Anons.. something here for some reason. And that is literally my best... oh lets be honest... My ONLY friend and has been for the 3 decades now. To myself: Good job numbnuts! Now you made yourself feel old! :-S About the water thing: You didn't do that on or with purpose, so it was nothing like treating the dog badly. Maybe its that analogy thing i never seem to grasp too well. I do feel fortunate though that i seem to have a complete inabillity to control any of my warm and outward feelings. I feel what i feel, regardless of whether i want to feel them. Doesn't mean i let them control me, but i do feel them, sometimes completely opposite to what i want to feel at any given moment. Like when i meet my ex-wife. I want to hate her, to feel anger, dissapointment and loathing for what she's done to me and to my kid, i really do. But despite what i want, should, feel i can't help to feel exactly like i felt the day we first kissed. I hate myself for thΓ‘t particular and specific case. But any other time, i seem to never let any experience or feeling i've had for anyone or anything else have any influence on how i feel about that anyone or anything. So far, this trait, or quirk in my personallity has only twice lead me astray and into trouble. Over the span of half a century of hard living, that's a pretty good score i think. But i'm babbling and digressing. Sorry about that. Hope you, Rusty, and Fluxy (i'd call the new dog Fluxy, the opposite of Rusty) have a long and happy time together. I envy you in a way. I haven't got the opertunity to get another dog. I'm working 60 to 80 hours a week, and i couldn't do it to a dog to be alone so much while i'm off working. But each time i come into my front door, i feel a sharp sting in my heart and gut when i'm not greeted by a little happy excited black buddy wagging his tale but by a silence and sometimes a little dusty emptiness... Dammit, i'm getting old, and made myself cry now. Sigh... Anyway, goodbye!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

So sorry to hear that. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwnn, this was really heartwarming. I really loved how real it felt even though the story was fictional. Really lovely piece.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really breaks my heart.,πŸ’”πŸ˜ž I feel the pain even its a fiction story,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is animals for you. They don't habor hatred with their mates or who loves and care for them. Sorry for you about Sandra and thank God it's fictional πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The dog seems like part of you, that you could dedicate a whole article to her. Anyway get another meemee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My, another dog-related article I read tonight. It warms my heart to know people who treasure dogs. Dogs deserve the best. Love 'em, really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww πŸ₯Ί my dog died last 2018 and until now he's my wallpaper and everything πŸ₯Ί. I'm always watching his video everytime I'm upset or sad. It makes me smile everytime I saw how happy he was πŸ₯Ίβ€οΈ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I understand that feelingπŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dogs will always be forever loyal. Sorry about your dog. He will surely be missed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks ARTicLEE

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes exactly love is the key of happiness if love is real . In your articles showing that we giving everything to people but they don't deserve it But I never like dog

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Why do you hate dogs?πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

how sweet of you to tie this article to your dog ❀️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks gwapojohn.

By the way, thanks for yesterday πŸ™πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

not a problem 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eeyah,sorry lover boy. But sandra f**k up sha,didnt she know you are into BCH now,there is money on ground ooo,lols

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're not serious πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never knew you where talking about your dog, I actually did loose my dog 2 years back name 'husky' so hard to come off it. We just hope to find that special love soon πŸ€—

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry for the loss. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up. It is just to show that at times we shouldn't give our all to people that doesn't deserve it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hmmm...thanks BabeT

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of my favorite fiction written by you. It’s nice... your article I mean. Very nice imagination.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks greyy...πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Felt that way before and since then i never love a dog the same way again... Though we still have a dogs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same here, we have other dogs and rabbits. But none can fill Meemee's place in my heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had a resolve never to keep dogs because I had Greg as a beautiful dog and he was poisoned around the neighbourhood just a moment where he walked out of the compound. It was so mad at myself. So, I decided, I would rather never keep a pet if I can care enough for it..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So many of our dogs died from poisoning by neighbours too. It's really painful to see humans act so bad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the name meemee 😁 full of memes 🀣 just kidding.. Dogs are really man's best friend and you found one. Just get another dog so you can have another best friend πŸ™‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe in future when I'm alone. For now we have other dogs but i have no deep connection with any of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww! I actually love dogs but I am afraid on taking care of one as I am not sure if I will be a good owner. Dogs indeed is loyal and thoughtful that they will come back to you even if you will let them go away. They are our bestfriends. I have read something on fb as well, that only if dogs can talk, they would love to say that they love us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! That's true...only if they could talk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though fiction but YOU have pointed out a good topic that we should not love any creatures on earth but keep loving on Gods.. Because once you started to love gods then you will be free from every thing and none can blame you as like sandra Did..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks ReviewπŸ™πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a, shall I call it, "healthy imagination" to be able to write fiction like that and then tie it with your real memories with Meemee.

Maybe being sad or writing something sad is your way of remembering him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it seems i write better when sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the emotion brings our your most creative mind and you channel it in writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago