YNWA- Liverpool wins the carabao cup

11 47
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Sunday was a fun day. As usual, we went to church and I got home hungry. Quickly I ate cocoa pops and started surfing the internet, trying to get occupied with something before the Carabao cup final starts. I’ve got no favourite between the two teams playing. Call me a neutral fan.

The match lived up to the hype. The two teams gave us a performance worthy of a final. Some people tagged it- "Battle of the keepers” I won’t disagree because Mendy was spectacular again. He never ceases to amaze me with his quick reflexes and positioning. His double save against Keita and his countryman Mane is my pick among his numerous saves. On the other end, Kelleher's choice as the keeper in goal came as a surprise. One would expect Klopp to use Alisson in such a big match but he stuck to Kelleher who has been the one between the sticks in previous Carabao cup matches. Kelleher also gave a good performance, he was outstanding, making so many wonderful saves.

The two shot stoppers

Surely, the most talked about event after the match was the 22 penalties and VAR. But I can’t help this feeling that the match shouldn’t have gotten to extra time if Mason mount didn’t waste the opportunities he had. My brother who is a Chelsea fan jumped up in celebration when mount was presented with a good chance to score, but his celebration turns out to be premature since Mount wasted it. Also, Pulisic wasted a golden chance in the first half. This isn’t to take anything away from the keeper who was great or to say it was not an even match. Liverpool also had their chances. Luis Diaz in particular was fantastic.

VAR has been more of a headache to many teams since its introduction to the EPL than a pain reliever. Yesterday, VAR was at it again, though I  can’t help not blaming the referee and linesmen. Two of the goals Chelsea scored was a clear offside which the ref should have signified by blowing the whistle even before the ball hit the net. Also, the Liverpool defenders need to learn how to raise their hands to signify that there’s an offside, it’s of no use setting an offside trap when you can’t even talk when the offside happens. They look on without complaining- they need to learn some things from Bayern’s high line defending and Guardiola’s Barca.

Back to the VAR decisions. I feel cancelling Lukaku’s goal was a silent way of compensating Liverpool for the goal cancelled earlier. Matip’s goal wasn’t an offside in my book. Mane who gave the assist was onside before Arnold played the free-kick but the referee and VAR know better. I have a question for the VAR officials - “why wasn’t a line drawn when showing Lukaku's offside?” that’s a question that can never get to them. Anyways, all is well that ends well.

Straight to the penalties. I’ve listened to so many analysts and pundits blame Thomas Tuchel for bringing in Kepa Arrizabalaga for the penalty shootouts. “Hypocrisy and double standard” that’s all I can say. It’s easy to blame people when you’re not the one making the decisions. Kepa has proven himself several times to be the best penalty stopper in Chelsea. He did it not once, not twice- so it’s only logical to see him being called upon to be between the goal post in the shootout. “If Mendy was the one in goal, would he have saved at least one penalty?” that’s a question we can never know the answer to. He may save one and it’s possible Chelsea also miss one. We never can tell. If it were to be in Tuchel’s shoe I will do the same and I’m sure if Mendy was to be a player-coach, he would have subbed himself out for Kepa when it was time for penalties.

Kepa's miss

Congratulations to the champions- Liverpool. “Deserving” I’d say, though if Chelsea won I’d say the same thing. Thanks to the two teams for giving us such an entertaining final.

Thanks for Reading! ⚽️💚🪙

 

On Wednesday I will be writing about the re-surging Barcelona. My club. The Xavi effect and the ghost of Koeman.

16
$ 5.44
$ 5.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 8
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I don't watch football but I've been seeing talks about this everywhere. You guys really love your football lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt for Kepa and I saw how emotional he was even if he didn't dropped tears. To me, Chelsea has been destined to loose whether the keep was not substituted. Just like you Analysed, Kepa was brought in based on a good analysis but it turned out that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was an intense game. VAR is both a pain reliever and and a headache to either team, depending on the decision. Also, Matip's goal was cancelled because Van Dijk was obstructing play from an offside position as he was blocking a Chelsea player from tracking back when Trent squared the ball in

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't actually see the match but I watched the penalty 😂 damn I bet my boss would be in tears when he saw when their keeper missed the goal lol.. He is a full time Chelsea fan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so happy that Liverpool won so that those Chelsea fans won't disturb us with their noise but I also feel for them. I trust them to bounce back stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a fantastic performance from the two teams and no one can be blamed when you lose to penalties, even Ronaldo and Messi do lose as well.

Kepa should have been brought in earlier so he can catch up with the heat and tempo of the match. There are still more cups to fight for before the season his over, wishing both sides success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The match was tough, Chelsea own the win, but due to some football malpractice. Liverpool won, congratulations to them, but Chelsea is also on top..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you say Malpractice? That's weird

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its the truth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol.. kepa 😂😂 . There's a name we give to such person that commits such a blunder, in our language

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the analysis, yesterday is gone and we have moved on

$ 0.00
2 years ago