The devil's workshop

18 71
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

First, I need to thank you all for the love and concern shown over my missing transaction. I've updated/Edited the article and I stated the reason why such happened. I got a little help from Cindy and the hop.cash team.

I felt so bad when I wrote my first jamb but wasn’t admitted into the university and had to settle for the Polytechnic, I wanted to throw things around and give up! But, I reminded myself that they were doing this to help me and they were right. I looked at my result and promised to either cross into the university or someday seat for Jamb again. The latter, was what I had in mind- just to prove to myself that I’m not a failure. Do you know why you feel so bad when things don’t go your way? Because you want it so badly and you are spending a lot of time imagining it in your mind. I had this vision that, I imagined how proud and excited I would feel when I get into the university at such an age. After all that excitement and speculation, the disappointment hits you like a train.

There are times that everything in our lives seems to be going on well and we are at a point in our existence where everything seems perfect. We find ourselves in a state of bliss and we are constantly "on the move". The moment the road starts getting rough and it becomes difficult we begin running away from it. This is the time where we have to remember to push on and not let our situation get to us. The world has enough hatred, sufficient pain, numberless wars and conflicts, let's not add to those. Let's make sure on our part that no one gets hurt through any of our actions. Life is not a bed of roses. There will be thorns, there will be pitfalls and bumps but if you just hold on tight, you will find yourself at your destination sooner than expected.

That's why I say that in the process of waiting, you might get tired and weary but don't give up. while waiting, find something to do. Learn new skills or get a job. Don't just remain idle. You will feel bored and frustrated with time but if you are too anxious and impatient, you will just make it harder.

Waiting for something is one great thing. But you will get tired if you remain idle in waiting. People who love to be idle are the ones who are least practical. Most of them think too much. Thinking too much will result in stress. Stress is not good for health and it makes you unhealthy, physically and mentally. What if there is something you can do while waiting? I mean, something that can benefit you and make you feel busy even if you are just waiting. You might get the following benefits from doing something while waiting:

1. Your mind doesn't remain idle while waiting, it stays active and alert. As a result, you won't feel tired and weary while waiting.

2. You will earn money while waiting. For example, if you're waiting for an interview, do a part-time job or learn new skills in a nearby training centre so at least, you can earn an additional income in the process of waiting for an interview.

While waiting for resumption back then, I decided to start teaching at a school close to my home and earn a little token. My immediate younger brother also learn different trades while he was waiting for admission. He makes Palm sandals and shoes while he was still at home and in school, it has been of constant help to him.

There is this popular saying “An idle hand is the devil’s workshop”.  Get to work now, start something meaningful while you are waiting for that big break. Don’t just sit In a place hoping for a miracle. Even the miracles that are known to happen are provoked/prompted by an action.

Get to work today!

Thanks for Reading!

25
$ 11.34
$ 10.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
+ 14
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I know of someone who wrote jamb 5 times before entering school I am pretty sure it would have been tough and depressing for the person but the fact he didn't give up is what I admired. Its not how far but how well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! It's how well that matters at the end of the day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! It's how well that matters at the end of the day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Instead of expecting something to come your way, its better you go for it through hard work and determination . Sitting idle is never a solution instead learning new things is an added asset. The writeup is real eye opener.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This same realization hit me last year during the COVID-19 lockdown, I just woke up one morning and decided I can't be wasting my time everyday just playing video games while waiting for the lockdown to be lifted and schools to resume, so I settled for learning a digital skill which was graphics design. That helped me a lot during that period and I was able to make some money while at the same time waiting for things to go back to normal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Miracle can never come to an idle man. Even we were told that while waiting for God's promises in our lives, we need to be doing something aside which will even add to our experience. When we stay idle, that is when different bad thought will start rolling into our head which will make us regret our actions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is really motivational and encouraging. I relate to it in some way and it was as if you were reading my mind. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolute true of the most realistic tendency brother. Do you know that most crimes that are committed these days are as a result of being idle? Yes, brother your words mean a lot here brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a basic truth! When you remain idle while waiting or expecting a miracle, you'll be more frustrated and disappointed if it doesn't come as the day passes by. But when the mind is occupied, it gives less attention to what's coming and hence reduces loss of faith. Also, the devil is so smart in the aspect, he's always on the watch to establish his shop in any idle mind🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In life we experience being so stressed about what we think. That is why when problem comes, always know that we always find solutions on it. 💖🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I glanced through the article I learnt some lesson from it. Cause an idle hand is the devil's work shop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And people blame me for their idleness. Really dear? I just work with desire. People do this as their own will. Why to blame me?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being patient is not being idle and waiting for things to fall in place, being patient is yourself and learning skills you have passion for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that true there is a saying that say an idle hand is use by the devil. We all have to involve in doing something good, or else we will be use by the devil. I really appreciate you for coming up with these topic , please accept my sponsor ship offer ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is nice that you were able to cross to a university eventually.

Indeed an idle mind is a devils workshop. It is better to be engaged with something rather than doing nothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest HappyBoy your content was all appreciative in each line you mentioned the practical things so it is a bit kind of hard for me to comment on some particular lines but still I manage to discern a sentence that goes as: "Life is not a bed of roses. There will be thorns, there will be pitfalls and bumps "

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we just sit there and wait for something to happen then surely it won't come not unless we step forward and make a move.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't need to be lazy or keep waiting but you have many things you can be doing or can do while waiting which can go according to your talents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago