Destiny, Prayer, hope

7 45
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Does destiny change? Sometimes I wonder if what happens to us every day is a product of our actions or is it just pre-destined to happen. Maybe there's nothing like destiny or every day we write our destiny ourselves, or the word “destiny” is a synonym for what has happened since we only call it destiny after it has happened.

It’s common to blame or attach everything to destiny. When someone dies from a drug overdose, we say it’s his destiny. That was what was written about him when he was conceived. Even when one loses a job due to negligence instead of learning and try not to repeat the same mistake we say it’s his destiny he shouldn’t worry.

This thing of attaching everything to destiny has led to many believing praying won’t change anything. Truly faith not backed up with action is a wasted effort but the two work together. Recently so many citizens of the country uploaded the word Jesus written in red on their status, following the direction of a popular gospel singer. Many did it and used that opportunity to pray for the country but on the other hand, many criticized it. I could understand their frustration, so many people refuse to get their PVC (Permanent voters card) but quickly jumped on the trend, however, I got curious when I saw the way a friend was abusing those who did.

I have always been a positive person so it's quite difficult for me to question the idea of 'destiny' or 'fate'. But it does get quite difficult for me to see not only my peers but also the public, in general, keep conceding defeat by saying whatever happens to them is destiny and they can’t do anything to change it. I believe that as humans we are expected to work towards attaining our dreams by any means. We live in a world of opportunities and possibilities, a world where if you were blind you could still see if you were determined enough. Hence my reason for engaging in a conversation with this angry friend.

Alas! He is one of those who believe praying is a waste of time since destiny will still take its course. I believe in destiny too. I believe if you are destined to get to a certain height you will get there bar no distraction or obstruction. But when the distraction and obstruction come the best way to escape them is by taking action and praying.

Using a real-life experience to explain this I said to him. You got the news that a project you are bidding for will be given to someone else because he/she is related to a powerful person, but you can get it only if you see the boss and tell him what you have to offer and others lack. It’s just a slim hope but anything can happen. Won’t you go for it? Will you concede defeat and say it’s your destiny not to win the contract?. That’s exactly what prayer means to many like me. When something looks impossible, I pray. I’ve experienced a lot of things that made me reseal prayer answers. Several times I’ve talked about how I needed two things urgently back in 2014. I was desperate because the two were important to me and it seems impossible. I made one option A and the other B and asked God to do one for me, he gave me option C which was “All of the above”

There are times when everything you believe in seems to be crumbling, and nothing seems possible. When we're faced with impossible situations, it's easy to lose hope. The power to change things is within us, and it's within you. Just go down on your knees and pray, he will listen to you. If you are the type that believes in witchcraft and that destiny can be tampered with, then you also have to believe in prayer.

This article was meant to be published on Sunday ( Yesterday) but was busy with some things. Anyways, it’s never too late to publish it.

Thanks for Reading! 🤗💚🤗

19
$ 1.33
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Captainkay
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 12
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

I have never believed in destiny and I see it as an avenue to become very lazy. Bad things happen to good people who don't deserve, will people now say it's their destiny to experience such things? Someone is told that they are destined to become rich and they suddenly become lazy coz they believe one day they will be rich simply because someone told them it has destined, that is just foolishness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Been in tough situation and I know this happened for a reason, I might don't see it for now but surely I can see it sooner.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me, I believe prayer can change things. When we hope, even if we think our destiny turned things in the opposite direction for us, with hope and prayer, it can be reversed in the right way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really don't know. I'm still trying to figure out for myself, the whole destiny/fate thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe in destiny but to an extent, it is terrible when people attach everything happening in their life to destiny, we are at fault for many of these things we blame destiny for.

I pray as well because I believe in prayer and it works for me when I put in effort as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

destiny is fixed and if we are destined to be like that or to have that then it will happen accordingly whatever the process is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are all right that it's all depends on us what happened with us. We shouldn't attach such things with destiny. Learn to accept where are we wrong instead of blaming

$ 0.00
1 year ago