An Immortal mortal II

5 69
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

...I left her house with tears in my eyes and head downtown, to the most dangerous hood. With just a rod in hand, I broke into different warehouses where the drug dealers stay. I know their hideouts because I work with the CIA, in the forensic department . I was welcomed with bullets but they kept falling after penetrating my body. I endured the brief pain and walk menacingly towards them. With fear, they dropped their guns and I tied them all up, I put a call to the Police and left to check other hideouts.

Throughout the night I was doing this. I was happy and the adrenaline was flowing through my body.

"Maybe being Immortal wasn't bad after all," I said to myself.

The sad look on Mj's face when I broke the holden jar was already pushed out of my mind. Despite all that I did in one night I wasn't satisfied. I felt I can do more. I can change the world in a better way. Though superhero movies are works of fiction, I feel like I should influence the world positively the way Tony stark, Captain Steve Rogers and co do. I decided to stop my little fight against the drug dealers and co and go for a bigger battle.

To whom much is given, much is expected. I must do something big for humanity.

I sneaked into a bus conveying ammunitions for the soldiers and went into the soldier's camp. I went through several maps on the Commander's table to know the hideouts of the Terrorist they've been monitoring for long. It was tough understanding the numerous lines and dots but I did after several readings. With several grenades in hand, I went into the camp and boom! I threw the grenades. They laughed because I was standing in their midst even after dropping the grenades. A loud cry grew in the enemies' camp.

Though I'm immortal, the sharp pain when one's breath is about to leave one's body is painful or when the skin tears. The only difference is that the tissues grow back quickly. Slowing my tissues grew back but beside me was the Terrorists' scattered flesh.

I came out all smiles like a hero and went to the Commander's office expecting him to thank me for my heroic adventure but getting to the gate, I heard him lamenting bitterly. I hurriedly left the camp before he realised I was the one. Imagine a wanted fugitive, with his pictures plastered on national newspapers and TV spoiling the Army's long-time plan.

Apparently, it wasn’t yet time to attack because the Commander is trying to know the sponsors of this terrorist group. This way they can bring the whole structure down. I just ruined months of hard work, and also killed with the terrorists, some of the country's underground agents working as spies . The sponsors will only open another group and I won't be there to fight since my power is ending tomorrow.

Talking about ending. When my power ends tomorrow, what will I fall back on? I decided to rest and think of what to do the next day.

I woke up and head down to the local bank with guns in hand and a Van ready to cart away the money in the vault. The security men at the gate shot me but I hit them hard with my gun. I felt sad and wondered when I turned into this hardened criminal. I encouraged myself by saying I'm only securing my future.

From one bank to the other I packed bundles of money. I took it to a hideout I discovered while breaking into the drug dealers' camp. I wasn't satisfied or happy.

I realise what was missing was "Mj". I went back to her house and knocked. She opened the door and my heart leapt in celebration. Finally, I'm back to the missing part. The Love of my life.

"Mj, please come with me. I promise you a life that will be filled with money, happiness and joy. My immortal ends tonight, we can live a normal life. I didn’t mean all that I said to you the other night" I beamed.

"Go away from here, murderer. This isn’t the man I Loved. You rob banks, killed some of our country's spies in the enemies' camp... wait! Do you know that one of the security men at the bank you robbed died concussion.? They said you hit him, did you?" she asked in between sobs.

I stood rooted to the floor. I couldn't move or say anything. This death of the spies might have been due to ignorance but this was different.

"How do you know all these?" I managed to ask

"It's all in the news Happy. It's in the News!. You are the most wanted man in Ecency Republic"

"I'm sorry Mj, I didn't know what came over me" I cried

"Power intoxicates, you had your dose and you mis-used it"

"I was only trying to make good use of it-"

"And the robbery?" She retorted.

"I was trying to secure a good future for us. I know the Feds will be here tomorrow but by then I'll no longer be immortal. Once they check me and see nothing, they will doubt if I was the one that did all that"

"You think it’s that easy? Happy, I know you're smart, you should know things can't work that way" and with that, she slammed the door in my face.

"Mj!" I shouted

My head was banging and I heard someone shouting "Doctor he's awake!"

I looked around and I was back on the hospital bed but Mj was there jumping with happiness and beside me was a basket.

"What happened?" I asked with pain

"The Hopkins lad test... you've been in Coma throughout the weekend-" Mj replied with tears flowing from her eyes.

"Thank God it was a dream. I don’t want to be immortal" I said silently

"What do you mean? Anyway, a doctor from the UK is coming in today to check on you- " she looked back and added " I think he's here already"

I turn to look at the door and saw a Man with the tag "Dr Thomas" on his chest moving towards me but what got me shouting was, he was in a yellow suit.

"I don't want to be immortal!!!" I shouted with a loud voice despite the pain.

The doctor, nurses, Mj and guards look at me confused.

"What’s wrong happy?" Mj asked

"Mj, I don't know what's happening to me right now but what I know for sure, is that I don't want to be immortal and I don't want this doctor to treat me, get another.

The End.

This was my entry for a contest on freewriters community.

Thanks for Reading! 🤗💚🤗

13
$ 3.00
$ 2.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 12
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

wow, what a beautiful entry. truly, power intoxicate one cos it has it own spirit. thank god it was all a dream cos Mj will be so sad and disappointed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 This was so funny. Do you think the doctor will do something to make you immortal just as you dreamt? That is what you are thinking though but I think this dream while you were in coma would come to pass oo 😅😅😅😅 am I scaring you?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Abeg make he no come to pass o🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have wanted that to be not just dream. I feel there's more drama and tension and more interesting events born out of that. Well done!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Emotional story ended with words, "I don't want to be immortal" It was really emotional one, I respect Mj feelings related to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago