the lab moves too fast

13 53
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Reality, ...

I may sound like I'm whining at this point but I swear, the testing laboratory life gets a bit too overwhelming for me at times. This constant adjustment is kind of the main reason why I'm barely active here and on noise.cash. And I am aware that it's been almost 2 weeks? since my last update? I am not sure anymore but I do believe I've readjusted myself well enough to actually have enough brain cells to write stuff XD

So first update: The supervisor that was training me in all the analysis I was assigned to resigned 2 weeks ago. It was sad news but resignations are inevitable in office settings. Sadly, we were told that she had only 2 weeks left with us and that was when my workload got hectic all of a sudden. They basically rushed to teach me all the analysis I still had to complete. it was their way of getting me used to the workload my previous supervisor had And I have to say, it was crazy!!! Like her workload was double what they were previouly giving me and on top of that, they're teaching me how to handle the documents like the way she did. It really felt like my brain was being subject to information overload every day.

Update 2: My previous supervisor recommended to our laboratory head that I be given her previous position as laboratory exeecutive 2. It was crazy, yes! I've only been working for almost 3 months yet the training I receive now is that of a laboratory executive. That is like bypassing 2 or 3 positions because my current position is laboratory analyst 1. Next is laboratory analyst 2 then laboratory executive 1, 2 and 3. I think they'll throw me straight to laboratory executive 2 and I am legit not ready to get that far ahead when I'm still on the phase of adjusting to all the training while trying to memorize analysis procedures, but I've been told that I was doing a pretty good job at keeping up with the big shots. What they've yet to see if I can survive being questioned during audit because if the auditors see my records and my recommendation letter, I am positive tat I will get roasted alive with questions about things I am still trying to memorize and know by heart.

Update 3: we went to Pansol, Laguna for a quick getaway over the weekends. I got to know my seniors and supervisors in a different light and I also got to meet the previous members of our laboratory team. I have to say, they's all really cool people and our lab head is pretty proud of the team he built because of how diverse and skilled we all are. It was a really cool glimpse of our team's past. And it was even cooler that we, as chemists, all know how to blend alcoholic drinks XD I can now say for a fact, that chemists can become great bartenders if all the bottle flipping and the showmanship wasn't a need. All in all though, that overnight getaway left everyone wasted, someone fell asleep in the pool and almost drowned then I experienced carpool karaoke!

Last update: It is now audit week. I've bee assigned a new supervisor to teach me the analysis and paperwork that I still need to know. We've been busy updating and checking everything that the auditors might have their eyes on. Then it was kind of a bad idea that we all finished all the pending samples we have. So right now, we don't have samples to work on and we have no excuse to run away from the auditors. It would be great if you could wish our team good luck for this audit because we really need to finish this smoothly

This is all from me for today. Hopefully this audit won't leave me so devastated that I forget to function as a human being

11
$ 6.83
$ 6.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Jihan
+ 7
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Reality, ...

Comments

Glad to see you are working in lab continuously. I think you are enjoying your life more than before even you get devastated with all this audits. I've been dying to get devastated but still waiting for results of previous semesters

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm not enjoying at all tbh. I'm just trying to gain experience now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Umm...at least it will help to find a suitable job in future... I am planning to kill my supervisior. I don't know what makes him a researcher. No lab activity. 😑

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have supervisory experience now so I think I'll be fine when we migrate next year. I think you should look for a new supervisor though. Or maybe your research doesn't really require you to do the lab part. That's common practice for biology people here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In a dept, it's actually not possible to change professors. Rhe other one will kot accept and current one will take revence on my results.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ibig sabiin lang eh magaling ka sa profession mo sis, at after mo mastress eh may pagetaway naman p[ala si boss kaya keriels na, hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nadagdagan Kaya stress koooo Ang daming Sunita sa audit and I have no idea where to start correcting them :"" plus I have lagnat na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my, bibigla ka naman kasi masyado, di ka nakapghanda hehe.. Pro kakayanin mo din yan,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga, the audit and everything was too soon. 2 weeks Lang talaga adjustment ko tapos sumabay pa init Ng summer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung swldo nyo ba jan. Sulit namn? Ako tlga ayaw magwork sa hndi sulit ang pagod 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sulit Naman cuz my pay is 30k then my OT is computed by the minute. And OT is usually paid double. It'll get higher when my promotion papers and Training is done

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a lot of events and workloads to do zell 😬

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Now I'm sure that I'll die young but I'm enjoying pa naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago