Making banana heart burgers

34 120
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I wanted to try something different from what I usually did again so I thought I'd share a dish that I feed my sisters since they used to dislike eating vegetables so much.

So recently I made banana heart burger patties. Those are pretty cheap here and it acts like a meat substitute for this dish

The things needed are

Banana heart, any size works, actually. I use the big ones mostly so I can make a lot

A head of garlic and a bulb of onion because this is mainly where burgers get their flavor. The powder form is good too if you're lazy to chop more

A bit of meat because this kind of works as a binder. At least 100g works well enough

salt and pepper for flavor

This how it looks like after I've minced the banana heart at least. You have to soak that in water for a while then squeeze out the sap a bit. Then after that, you drain it really well because any excess water will make it harder for you to form them into patty shapes. You also have to mince the garlic and the onion the mix everything in (including seasonings like salt and pepper), even the meat, when the minced banana heart is drained enough. It won't really mix well at first but after adding an egg and mixing it for a while (I mix by hand because it gets mixed better that way) it will start to look like a burger lump or at least have the same texture as a raw burger patty

Afterwards I shape them into patties. I just use foil or wax paper to separate them and so they can maintain their shape while in storage.

Then when you're ready to eat it, you just fry it like that

And now you have your burgers!

A large banana heart can makes as many as 15-20 pieces, depending on how big you shape your patties. For this batch, I made them quite thick so I only managed 15 of these.

That's all for today. I hope you guys try his then you tell me how it worked out for you

39
$ 1.06
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Wowww..nice cooking

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

$alute!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These looks yummy, which made me hungry. 😮 Here in the Philippines, we can easily find banana hearts. This is a very good substitute for meat patties. Aside from being healthier, they are cheaper too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We live in the same country 😂😂 whenever i make these, it only costs me less than 100 and it lasts about 2-4 meals here so definitely cheap

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most Pilipino conventional way to cook Banana Blossom

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's banana heart (puso ng saging) and the conventional way is to cook it with coconut milk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've seen this on YouTube. Now I am curious how it taste ? Thanks for sharing dear. You just remind me of this. Healthy burger like.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw it too. Years ago but it never became popular for some reason, probably because it's too much work? But they taste good though, you won't even notice that it was made from vegetables if it was minced well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's Good to know. Yeah it didn't Became popular due to much work to make that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And i tried grinding this on a meat grinder and it came out gross so yeah, really just need to mince which is such a tiring task

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woww.😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can I have some 🤤🤤🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol come over then ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I've never heared of this before I will try it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh you should! It's a good recipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You tried in making this banana heart burgers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always make these. I have to feed picky sisters

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I miss that. We call it "Okoy" here in our province. 💞💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that's different? Because the okoy i know is basically a vegetable pancake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never tried mixing banana with meat and making it savoury before. I've always had banana as something sweet. Interesting recipe. I suppose they will be somewhat mushy?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not the banana fruit but the banana heart (puso ng saging) the one cooked in coconut milk as a vegetable dish in the Philippines, so it's not mushy at all but rather firm like real burgers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah got it... that is a totally different texture :) At first I thought you were referring to banana burgers in the shape of a heart :D Sorry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw this on YouTube a few years back and just modified it to how real burgers are cooked. Mayne you could try making this?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You mixed meat with banana? Your sister likes it more than meat only?

Little children eat here a lot of applesauce. It gives the food a sweeter taste. It's great with applesauce too. 😁💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We don't have apple sauce? I don't even know that 😂😂😂 but this dish is savory.

My sisters like it because it tastes like burger that they can't tell the difference sometimes so we make it like .. once a month?

$ 0.00
3 years ago