How certain mathematical signs came into being?

97 82
Avatar for GreenOasis
3 years ago

Many schoolchildren do not like mathematics, and there are those who adore it. However, for those who are curious and who would like to know, the text of how certain mathematical signs were created, that is, symbols? ...

Mathematics is a formal and exact science that was created by studying figures and counting numbers. Mathematics in a broader sense means the science of quantity (arithmetic), structure (algebra), space (geometry) and change (analysis).

google.com

And the exact definition (if we can say so) of the definition of Mathematics is(from Greek: μάθημα, máthēma, 'knowledge, study, learning') includes the study of such topics as quantity (number theory), structure (algebra),space (geometry),and change (mathematical analysis).Mathematics is a science that studies axiomatically defined abstract structures using logic.

Mathematics developed from the need to perform calculations in trade, perform land measurements and predict astronomical events. It is believed that the Ancient Egyptians were still 3,000 years BC. used complex mathematics, such as algebra, arithmetic, and geometry. They certainly needed it to design and build so many pyramids.

Not far behind were the Babylonians who calculated the circumference of the circle as approximately 3 diameters, which is approximately today's calculation that uses the value of Pi (approximately 3.14). Chinese mathematicians around the 21st century BC. developed significant concepts regarding negative numbers, decimal numbers, algebra, and geometry.

Until the end of the 16th century, the main branches of mathematics were geometry and arithmetic. The development of algebra began in the 16th century, and in the 17th century the creation of the differential and integral calculus marked the beginning of the intensive development of analysis.

The equal sign (=) first appeared in the 16th century when the mathematician Robert Recorde, after he got tired of writing equal, started using two parallel horizontal lines every time he needed to because he thought he would not. is there anything that can be more equal?

Plus and minus sign (+ -) At the beginning of the 15th century, Europeans began to use the letters p and m for plus and minus ("piu" and "memo").

The first use of the word plus (+) is attributed to the astronomer Nicolas Oresmus, who lived in the 14th century. The minus sign (-) is attributed to merchants who unloaded cargo from ships, and can be considered as an abbreviation of the letter m, which meant confiscation. The use of these signs as symbols of algebraic operations first appears in the works of the Dutch mathematician Vander Heke from 1514.

The multiplication sign (road sign X or *) shortens the redial of the same number and thus does not take up much space. So, the symbols provide us with abbreviated instructions for calculation. Besides, have you thought about what it would be like if there were no symbols? In mathematics, instead of them today, we would have only lines of letters, something like text.

A sign for factorials. Namely, the mathematician Christian Kramp started to put an exclamation mark for factorials only because he needed a sign that is quickly written for such expressions.

In addition to signs, letters are also used in mathematics. These are letters of the Latin or Greek alphabet, and the most famous letter, the letter "pi" means specific numbers that are often repeated and whose complete decimal notation would be impossible or tedious to write. For that reason, today we have a constant value of 3.14.

The greatest mathematical minds of all time, which marked the development of this "queen of science", include Pythagoras, Euclid, Pierre de Fermat, Blaise Pascal, Leonard Euler, Carl Friedrich Gauss, Alan Turing, but also the most brilliant minds of today, such as Gregory Perelman. and Terence Tao.

In the end, we can easily conclude that all these symbols were invented, appropriated or adapted by mathematicians who wanted to avoid repeating or using many words to write mathematical ideas.

Thank you for reading my article ... I hope that you enjoyed ...

I send you a big greetings!

@GreenOasis

29
$ 1.77
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of GreenOasis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for GreenOasis
3 years ago

Comments

Yes.. I don't like mathematics... Good writing....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why don't you like math? 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mathematical goal issues were a bit unknown but it was great to know. Thank you very much for that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's great that now we can learn everything online without wandering around libraries

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Math is a subject that I loved very much while I was going to school, I even enrolled in a faculty where there is a lot of math, but I was never really touched by the facts of how any sign came to be. This is a really great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry that in early education we don't have at least a part of mathematical history, such as these signs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe it would be too much for students with a rash to overwhelm them with all sorts of useless nonsense

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe these basics can be passed through fifth grade, for example

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, mathematics is great and sweat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it’s full of sweat, it’s heavier from sports

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I scared to see those symbols. I really hate math so much 💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why do you hate her so much?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's so many more symbols, honestly ;;-;; but those are more used in higher math than just the basics like algebra and geometry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There really are many more symbols, all of these symbols have their own history

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I should look for the origin of integrals because those really shock me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can also write an article about it, why not 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh, we don't need brain damage here, iy will just be for my own satisfaction

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why? I like to peek and learn lesser known things

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd write about something informative one of these days but for this week, i just want to rest. Work is too much on me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand, I'm waiting for the snow to fall so I can go on a short break 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh it snows where you live. Where do you live, exactly?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Serbia 😁. We expect snow until the New Year

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm jealous ;;-;; i want to go see snow. And so far I'm getting a trend of how people in serbia usually respond though it's just an observation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are usually a cheerful and communicative people 😁Look at Novak Djokovic and almost everything will be clear to you 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know him? But i am enjoying my talks with a few people from your country. You guys are quite outgoing and curious 😊 it's nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nikola Tesla is also a Serb 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Novak Djokovic is a famous tennis player 😊I'm surprised you haven't heard of him

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know about tesla but i am honestly clueless if it's sports people 😂😂😂😂😂 i don't like sports that much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I recommend a few of his clips on yt, especially imitations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of the tennis player? I don't think I'd understand anything though 😅 i really don't know anything about sports

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe someone you know is watching sports, so ask him

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm... if it's basketball they'd know but ko one i know likes tennis

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those who follow more sports know

$ 0.00
3 years ago

????

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's one apps

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because of that application, you go to spam here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's one apps Nothing else, my friend, if you are angry, forgive me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not angry but it's not nice what you're doing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's one apps, Don't think of anything else, forgive me if it's good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see these comments are spam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know how admins allow sharing such links...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Report it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, how do I delete his comment?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can't. You can only report it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I reported, we can wait for the support to react.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also don’t like math, there is lot of sings in math, but I'm afraid to see some of them like root, integration sign, differentiation and many more. Just horrible

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She is very complex, either you love her or you don't love her ... there is no third

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Jsem mezi těmi, kteří nemají vůbec rádi matematiku a já jen čtu matematiku, abych složil zkoušky, nic víc než to, ale doufám, že moje děti budou odborníky v matematice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mnozí nemají rádi tento předmět tak moc jako fyzika a chemie

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My favorite subject at school ... I only really liked math! So my love for mathematics took me on that path and I became a professor of mathematics :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well done, how nice and difficult it is. I consider mathematics to be one of the most difficult school subjects.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mathematics is a very useful science that has enabled us to find our way in computing more easily. It has been used for a long time and has made a great contribution to science and technology.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that it, like history, is full of information and different concepts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is amazing. Equal sign makes more sense. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Two lines that are equal :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With d signs in mathematics,I find it alot more easier

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We can always learn something new about mathematics

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mathematics is a very interesting subject. I used to find it very difficult in my childhood days , but now I know better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like geometry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear for encourage me dear friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading my articles and comments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I wonder why they don't teach the history of those mathematical symbols in school. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think they could teach them about this at school

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing with as

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading my articles, it is my pleasure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes we would wonder where these problematic symbols came from😁😀.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now we have learned where they are from :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes these things seem as if they had no origin 😀.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything in this world has its origin and history

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am among those that don't like mathematics at all and i only read maths to pass my exams nothing morethan that but i hope my children's will be expert in mathematics

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not everyone can love and understand math, so I understand you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for understanding me bro mathematics is not easy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot for the math info, but I never liked it, not even now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unfortunately, she is beautiful, but most do not like her

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are in the same line i don't like it at all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing the origin of mathematics but still I don't like it 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the comment, maybe someday you will like it 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really wish, please pray for me in math 🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mathmatical symbols have some symbolic meaning and they are quite popular all around the world and the origin of mathmatics is quite popular too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are absolutely right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great dear you have write good you can see my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I can see your article, I can see the comments, but they are hidden

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome back my dear friend your response is good for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I know the origin and history of these symbols. I'm fond of Mathematics so I am interested.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you like math, rarely does anyone like math.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm just interested in math. I like solving equations.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was so pleasured to know the history of these symbols and where they came from and the need of mathematics in trade and other things

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Math is all around us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

dear you are writing a technical information and the great idea i like this my der you a big writer

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Stay with me friend, there will be more interesting articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago