Why do we need to do Mental Decluttering?

5 38
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago
January 16, 2023

In our present life, there are lots of stress and anxiety we experience everyday. We are not aware that even our own habits are the first contributor why we can't get rid of stress. For example, why we have headaches as soon as we woke up? Having pain in the morning will truly give us stress and worries immediately, but why are we experiencing it? We will realize that too much using our mobile phones in the night that we should be sleeping is the culprit of losing sleep that causing the headache. In this area, the cause of pain is the habit that we develop that we could change.

Personally, I am experiencing it and I am very willing to change my habit for a better living. I searched ways on how to do it and I will be sharing it with you.

Set Boundaries and Schedules

Let me be the one as the example. I get stress from everything I do everyday. I get stress when I found out the price of commodities, fare and some taxes. I get stress from work from all the problems. I think being available to almost everything contributed to all of my worries and anxiety.

To help myself, I need to set boundaries and schedules. On boundaries, I should be not be always available to everything. I limit myself to knowing it all. I limit myself to working my own task at work and for taking care of the problems of some. I hate thinking all the time. It makes me tired. I felt sorry for myself after realizing that I should not be involved in it in the first place so now I setting my boundaries.

Journaling

I remember when I was young, I was writing a diary. Even when I started working, I was still doing it. Being busy and being not available to write is the reason it became irregular. Ever since I was young, I know that journaling can help in escaping some unwanted thoughts in my brain. It is really effective when you don't have anyone to talk to, too. In journaling, I will able to write all that is in my head and put it on my journal. All the thoughts that are cluttering will be cleaned and thinking about it could be halted.

Meditation

Meditation is the act of thinking or contemplating. This is done regularly before sleeping or before or after daily task. This simply relaxes our brain from doing all the thinking within the day. It also serves as a reset so that we can filter the ones that we need to think about.

Having Enough Rest and Sleep

The reason why we are grumpy in the morning and most of the time is lack of rest. Having complete and enough rest will help our brain to have it's rest. Having 6 to 8 hours of sleep will rest our brain too. We already used our energy for the day and it is advisable to rest to replace those energy that we used. When the rest and sleep is enough, our energy is enough also to do any task and decision making. It will not push our brain to think what we need to think. Definitely, we can handle any stress that comes along.

Social Media Detox

One of the reason we are stress and our brain has lots of clutter is because of information overload. That is what we get if we use social media platform more. We read most of the time and watch contents that feeds our mind. It is also the cause of stress because sometimes we get emotionally attached to what we are reading because of past experience. Curiosity kills that cat, but it definitely kill humans too. We should only have schedule from checking the social media. If there is specific social media that we know could cause our brain clutter, we should avoid to visit it regularly. Might as well avoid negative content if you will visit social media too.

Talking to Someone

Talking to someone is an effective ways for us not to hold our phone. When we don't hold our phone, we will avoid to visits our social media platform. When we don't visit our social media platform, it avoids us for having information overload. Plus, talking to someone personally will enhance our brain. It could make as happy and calm. It even relieves stress when we are sharing our problems to the people willing to listen to us.

If our brains or minds are full of clutter, it will make us less productive and overall burnout. It uses lots of energy when we are stress and experiencing anxiety. It makes us less secure and comfortable. We need to free our mind from all the clutters so we can perform at our best. Decluttering is saving our well-being and a primary self-care. Let us save ourselves now!

All images are from Unsplash

All original content by @Grecy095

2
$ 0.28
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Jane
Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

Comments

Talking to someone can help us in many ways. But don't we spend time on the phone doing that though at times? 😂 Its still a relief though :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we do that sometimes on phones 😊. The only thing that I don't want to be a habit is always being present browsing the social media. That habit should be stop and I need to schedule checking social media from now on.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Im not much on social media. I quit Facebook sometime ago. I always found myself scrolling through the news feed too much. It was a time waster for me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah.. Mental declutter.. This is really what I must do. It's too overwhelming already lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Too overwhelming and disappointing sis. Pero yun YouTube mo go tayo dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago