The Story of Quiet Quitting

19 45
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

August 25, 2022

I came to know the term while watching TikTok. The content creator tackles about a person who was passionate at work before but lose it while she stays longer in the company. Those who stays at work to finish the job, are now coming home on time, thinking that the job could be done for tomorrow. Those who are willing to learn and expand their knowledge, are already tired and just do what they need to do that are in front of them.

I cannot blame those individuals for feeling that way, as I have that kind of feeling last Tuesday. The company declared an early out at 2 in the afternoon due to typhoon warnings. I automatically felt relieved although I didn't expect it to happen, yet still I want to go home. There are still work to be done but I am thinking of my own safety so I want to go home. As my officemates were one by one getting out of the office, my feet was itchy to grab my bag to go home too, unfortunately another set of documents where given to me and it was requested to be done immediately.

The old me will accept it and do it willingly, as the old me doesn't want a job to be left undone, but the new me felt irritated while doing the report needed. I noticed my officemates are not complaining at all. They already know or perhaps we all know that our department are normally not going home even though there was an advisory. Our team are known to stay for long in the office always. We are not excuse at all and our manager doesn't care. We adopted her hardworking attitude that doesn't care about her safety.

I told myself, while doing the report, I will go home. I will go home after this. Nothing can stop me. If they want to stay, then stay, but I'm leaving and going home. I did and I feel relieved prioritising myself. I am not sure about my team's side comment if there is. I don't care. I am unbotherd. For me I was advise to go home and I am not guilty about what I did.

Is this Quiet Quitting?

To be honest I don't understand it at first, even so, I found myself doing it. I am not that hardworking anymore. I realize that I am only stressing myself and tiring my body. I am not getting any younger so I must look on my health, especially my mental health.

Also the company doesn't recognized or appreciate me and what I do. Yes, there are times they thanking the employees, even the managers thanking their team members, but I don't feel the sincerity at all. Sometimes I am in doubt if I am really needed, I prefer to think that when I quit I am easily replaced.

I feel like I am just working for money. There are learnings, I embrace it everyday, but some co-officemate are not with the same energy as mine. They are not doing their best to learn. Mistakes become normal and they will just change it. They already depend on our team to double check them when it is not part of the job anymore.

That is also the reason I get tired. I am doing more jobs that are not in my job description. I have lots of responsibilities that should be not mine and I am underpaid, while some individuals at work are working less but receiving more. How can you inspire to work like that? Team work makes the dream work, but not all in the team are working fair, they outsmart us and they keep on doing that.

I get tired. I am not happy at all. I might be laughing at jokes but the sound of the laugh has lots of air. I laugh because I'm just stress or I am relieving it. It is not fair anymore. Specifically, quiet quitting can be resolve but that depends on the person doing it. I am not quitting my job soon, but I am not having the same energy I was and I am not sure if it will come back. Or maybe I am just burnout?

All images are from Unsplash

Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty

9
$ 2.23
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.02 from @JenThoughts
+ 3
Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

Comments

It sounds like burnout, and you probably need a change of environment. Perhaps a change of job, maybe?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you sis, may mag tamad talagang mga co-workes na nakakaapekto sa atin kais kung sinio yung masipag, yunn ang mag gabundok na work. Same as me, kaliwat kanan nag trabaho ko habang may isang jalos maghapon lang nanonood ng kdarama. meron namang laging facebook lang ang inaatypag at kahit maliit na bagay ako pa ang pinapagawa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang daming ganyan samin pero may mga story kasi sila sis, baka kasi dati passionate din sila kaso Alam mo na ubos energy lang Kung Di ka naman maappreciate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun talaga saya pagdating eh, galingsa kabilang department sis, supervisor daw dun kaos yung attitude lang, di yung working skills di nga maka troubleshoot kung kailangan eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are moments when I feel demotivated on doing the things I love to do — for example is blogging and writing. But I don't think I have the 'quitting' in mind. I just recharge and go back on track again. I think it's a feeling when we are already tired or feel like there's no progress at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too sis, I know I am just burnout but I will not quit for the meantime, I still have so much to do and need money to save

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a common feeling of an employee who felt so tired and stress sa work sis. Ganyan din ako nung nagtatrabaho pa sa isang company but you still need to balance life. Health and the need to live. Give time to relax din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mag pahinga talaga sis, para ma pahinga rin ang utak, mahirap nang maloka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako sayo sis. Minsan talaga sa work natin may days na naka feel tayo ng sobrang pagod. Yung gusto natin umuwi at magpahinga agad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kasi mag importante tayo sis above all hahaha. Dapat bigyan natin ng importansya ang sarili natin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis tama. Dapat prioritize natin self natin lalo na pag sa health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here there are times wherein I just feel that there are multiple tasks being asked. If they are allowing leaves for at least a week do so! Baka burnout na yan sa work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobrang burnout na nga po. Saka nawalan na din ng goal sa sobrang pagod hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow wow I really know how painful it's can be, that's just normal in life I think you have to give yourself sometimes while getting it right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I need to have a 3 day vacation to think about it and refresh my mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Burn out is real... Is it quitting. I'd think not though .. unless that trail of thoughts and actions lead you to literally quitting your job.

I think this is that time that you do give your self the chance to be taken care of. . Or to be "heard"

Hang in there grecy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am already hanging. But not quitting soon. I need to think about it sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kelangan mo ng bonggang pahinga.. .. as in bonggang VL... :( Mahigpit na akaps sis...m

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat sa mahigpit na akap 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago