Be Sensitive! Put Yourself in Other's Shoes

7 28
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

April 22, 2022

Hello, before I become busy I want to share something that I learned from book that I am reading. It is the book that Demi Lovato wrote, titled Staying Strong, 365 Days a Year. This book gives me wisdom in life. I have my own wisdom that I learned through life and this book gives more addition to what I have.

The title of this article is the one my wisdom is telling me every time I complain. There are lots to complain about, at work, at home and everywhere. Mostly the target of the complains are the government and unfair treatment, we don't know the whole story but still we complain.

Those things that we complain about, we become one-sided to the part of the story. Normally, there is a two side of the story but we don't want to be open-minded and understanding when we are hurt and felt offended.

I have lots to complain about and I do that all the time. It becomes a habit to me but when I learned the other side of the story I always felt bad about my action. I have to admit that I am a complainer and I am not proud about it. To be avoid that, let me share some of what I complain about and the other side of the story.

At Home

Whenever I go home, I always ask for food for dinner. I am always tired from work, and food gives me additional energy. I expect that there are warm food that will be available and I will just eat. I even told my mother to prepare food before I go home but as soon as I get home, there is no food for me. Of course, a person who is tired will start to whine or starts to mumble complain and sometimes I get angry. I will stay silent to calm myself and will just prepare myself a coffee.

Sometimes instead of expecting food at home, I will just eat before I go out of the office so that I make sure that I am already full as soon as I go home. My thing is, one of my illness is severe headache. It usually happens when I don't have food intake. I cannot function normally when a severe headache strikes. I feel disappointed about my mother.

One time, my sister told me that my mother is working whole day at home. She clean, cooks, take care of my nephew, take care of our pets, go to market, and go everywhere to buy things we needed. 8 hours or more is still not enough for her. She is always busy. Since I am always not at home I don't know it. Now I realize that whenever she fails to prepare me food, it is not because she simply just forgot it, but since she is always busy, she really forgot it. Since then I adjust my eating schedule ,but still I eat when she prepares for me, I don't want her to feel bad if I will not touch it.

At Work

There is this specific person at work that has been to the company for more than 25 years already. When I got there, I already heard about her being one of the biggest problem at work. She is not a listener and she mostly complain whenever we are giving her the right process. She always ask questions of what to do when I know she is one of the oldest person, I expect her to know her job more compare to me. She is my biggest headache actually. My stress everyday comes from her. She starts my day with the stress she is equally giving to everyone.

Since I cannot take it anymore, one time, there is a specific problem with regards to document and I can take to have this problem almost everyday. I went to her cubicle and made a little interview on how she go about her work. I found out that she is lacking concern with almost all the reports I am giving to her. She will just do what is taught and if I wrote a note on the documents she will just follow it without understanding it first.

Of course, it became a big question to me, so I ask her further, and I learned that from 25 years of existence, she is taught to act that way. She will just follow what someone told her to do. She don't have her own decision towards her work. I felt sad that she allow herself to be like that. When I learned her history that is the time I stop complaining about her. A thorn has been lift up from my chest and I will just shake my head whenever I go about her reports. If will not understand her, I am still complaining right now for sure.

There are things that we don't know. We sometimes act immediately when something is wrong and complain, but it is a good habit if we have the means to know the back story rather than using our energy to complain. Always remember to put yourself in other shoes before complaining.

Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty

Hi readers and my dear sponsor! Writing become an outlet because you had given me a chance to be one. I promise to do better all the time.

Images from Unsplash

6
$ 1.12
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Shawon130
+ 1
Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Grecy095
1 year ago

Comments

I have a problem which is sometimes i cannot control myself when is bullshit work or words in front of me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I cannot blame you for acting that way, because I am myself has that kind of attitude much more if the situation is very frustrating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This should be a lesson for us all. Before we react, we have to learn more about the situation. Your approach to things is the mature way to do it. All of us go through different things that's why we have to be more understanding of others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In this lifetime, since everyone has gone and going through tough times, we really need to be understanding and make our patience long for them .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap din kasi satin minsan ay masyado rin tayong nagpapadala sa emosyon natin kaya mabilis tayong magalit at mag complain. Pero good to know ate na nalalaman mo ang behind the story why their actions are like that. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako teh, di kalakihan bh ng partner ko pero kulang yung buong araw para kumilos, minsan kung ano nalang matapos ko dun nalang takaga ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din, parang ganyan na nga ako parati eh. Kung ano na lang yun magagawa, yun na lang. Hanggang doon na lang, pero mareklamo pa din ako hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago