Always the Supporting Lead

16 30
Avatar for Grecy095
2 years ago
From IMBD

I just finished watching Bride Wars, starring Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway. In the movie, they are best friends Liv and Emma. The story evolves about a bestfriends who had a childhood dream to get married at the Plaza, Manhattan. The day comes that they soon to be wed, both are excited to book a wedding date at the Plaza. Liv is on June 6th and Emma is in June 27th, unfortunately the assistant of the wedding coordinator made a mistake in booking and they were both booked on the same day June 6th. The chaos started when no one of them wants to change date and instead both of them are getting married on June 6th, 5pm at the Plaza. The only difference is that, none of them is their brides maid.

Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty

Before I continue, I just want to share my massive gratitude to these people for supporting me with my writings. You can visit their profiles and their writings too, and see how awesome they are.

Getting back to my story, actually I feel sad while watching that movie. This post is a little reaction or a mini-review of what happened there. If I shared a spoiler I want to apologize in advance.

But before going to that, while watching this movie, I remember most of my closest friends that we call now a BFF, or best friends forever like there is a forever. I had, let me count, wait, I had five. Or I had four and now I have one.

I first had a BFF when I was in elementary school. She is good in everything she is smart and crafty. She is a good singer. I love to be a singer, but she get all the praises all the time. My second BFF was in high school, she is talented also, and everyone is her friend. She is close to me, but she has all the people backing her up. She receives all the help she could get.

The third one was in college. Again, talented, pretty, charming, Ms. Congeniality and popular. My crush aka first love is her friend and they are close which makes me... don't want to say.

The fourth one is on my first job. She is so nice and kind. She is pretty for me. I might be more talented but she is smart. I'm just talented. She is likeable and me, I don't know why, but I'm not good with people. I am introvert all the time.

The fifth is my latest. We are BFF for 14 years. There are episodes in my life that we were solid, there are times we don't chat, we don't see each other, then we get back to chatting again, BFF bonding again and then we seldom chat, then pandemic. We had gone to highs and lows in our live. I am confident that I became part of her maturity. I'm the older one so I always feel responsible. She is pretty, talended and smart. She does what she wants in her life, she choose herself while me, one of the breadwinner, I can't choose myself. It's wrong, you need to choose yourself sometimes, I just can't now.

Okay let me get back again in the story. Liv, Kate Hudson is a person who always get what she wants. Her friends look up to her, she is the talk of the town. Emma, Anne Hathaway is the second best or the supporting BFF that tells Liv how good she is, she is the best, and she always make way for Liv for she wants the best for Liv, because she is the BFF. However, since the time that they both chosen June 6th as their wedding dates, they became warmed up. No one wants to give way the dates of their wedding. Of course, that is the most important day for a woman.

Both of them think on how they ruined each other so that one of them will just change the date. They both did everything to make one ugly and its hurting. It is hurting to know that your closest and favourite person is trying to harm you.

Getting back to me. From all of the BFfs I had, and from what our story was before, I've seen myself in Emma. I am always the person behind my BFF. I am the supporting lead. I maybe the main lead of my story, but when I am with my BFF and with other people, they do not see me. I remember in college, I even don't have a name on some friends of my BFF. May name is "she is the best friend of so and so" when it should be "she is Grecy". Just like Emma in the movie played by Anne Hathaway. I think she developed an insecurities against Liv, Kate Hudson for being loved by everyone, for being the smart and she, on the other side of the wall is just Emma.

I have to be honest, it was my insecurities. I have the insecurity being the the supporting role in the life of my BFF. There is one time, in college, I realized that I was used by my BFF to clear her name, though I don't want to share the story here. I was not aware. I just learned that when we got separated since I graduated first. I was the "Never Mind Her" in the life of my BFF, so I realized from what happened, I was just used, I am not a BFF at all but an assistant, that's why I don't have a name.

My first and second BFF, I was young then. It is normal to feel the insecurity but good thing both lasted for 4 years. I don't regret meeting those people because it serves their purpose anyway.

My 4th BFF, she is just a loving individual. I like her being loved by so many. She deserves it and I don't have any insecurities about her and our differences. It is a good friendship and she is a gift from God.

The 5th BFF, the present BFF, she loves me. I love her too. When we argue, she is understand me first and apply patience. Me, the older, I'm Frank, I tell her straight that it is wrong, I'm mad, I got irritated, I do not hide what I feel and the emotions because she knows me and I will never change, yet I'll make sure that I will ne the light in her pathway. Did I feel insecure about her, for doing what she wants, yes. She wants to travel, to buy this and to do this, after a month or more you will see in her FB feed she had been there, she bought it already and done whatever she wants. She is a free spirited and spontaneous. Me, I am family family family first.

Did she get insecure with me, yes I know. She will say her congratulations to my achievement sometimes but I can feel her regret, that is why I do not share what I do now and my plans, because if I succeed, I will hurt her. I don't want that. What's good in us is that we respect and support each other.

Since I am always in the supporting role, am I not be the main lead, but knowing that I was one of the person behind their success, I'm happy with that. It only means I've done my purpose with them.

I might be the supporting role, but we had friendship. We become friends for one another. We were there for each other. We created good memories. I don't what know their version of our friendship I wonder what they think about me, but one thing is clear, I am the supporting role never the main lead.

Maybe that is the problem when you are introvert, you are left behind by people, they do not see you, you do not exist, but I do not regret, I am born to introvert. Few people are good for me. Lots of people are exhausting.

My thoughts on the ending of Bride Wars, friendship prevails. Love wins. You might not be the best person for yourself, but you are the best person to your favorite person.

Happy start of the week!! 96 days before Christmas. I started this article after watching Bride Wars and my hand hurts again so I slept. I remember this this morning, I just finished it now. May your week be blessed and full of wisdom from God.

Image : Unsplash

September 19, 2021

#BetterSeptember

12
$ 5.57
$ 5.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 4
Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Grecy095
2 years ago

Comments

Why naman hehe. Nakakamiss tuloy mga bestfriend ko tatlo kasi sila yung dalawa hindi kana nakikita kasi dahil sa pandemic 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din sis, tatlo kami, mag ka chat na lang kami minsan kasi takot pa talag a akong gumala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is just that, an endless number of experiences, some good and some bad, but in the end that makes our personality. We have to be grateful for that. Thanks for sharing your experiences with your friends and the movie as well. By the way I have seen the movie several times. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I keep on watching this one because it gives a great lesson!! Thanks for reading sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People come and go naman talaga eh no. Na miss ko tuloy bff ko. Naku! Di na kami nagkakausap simula nung naging focus sya sa bf nya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero BFF mo pa din yan sis, pag nag ka problem ka matatakbuhan mo pa rin sya, na inlove lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay, Grecy. I'm sure your bffs appreciate you just the way you are. Don't be sad about being the supporting lead. That's what real friendship is about. Supporting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I choose to be the supporting role anyway sis.aybe it's my fault, but I love the feeling of supporting someone then they get succeeded

$ 0.00
2 years ago

people come people go...we love and let go.. what matters is that the friendship we gave then is pure and true.. :D love indeed wins

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love wins and that is what matters sissy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww! I miss my best friend during high school. We were so inseparable back then. She helped me a lot. But now, we seldomly contacted to each other. She has her own life and so I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's okay sis, at least before you made the fondest memories ever!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sweet, Grecy. Love indeed always win!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love wins and true love always win sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and love is stronger than pride,sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That should be. And love even clears pride

$ 0.00
2 years ago