The man in the mirror

14 39
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About a song
Date:Saturday,18th of December,2021
Day 18 prompt: "About a song"
Published by: Greatwolfman

I'm sure you are already familiar with the title of the song, who wouldn't? It was written and sung by the King of Pop himself, Micheal Jackson, he's late now but his songs live on, speaking of legacy.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsor's block 
Michael Jackson

[Image Source]

I remember the evening as it was announced on TV that "Micheal Jackson, The King of Pop is dead", it came as a shock because we were expecting the new album to be released. I remember how many people called him out for hating his own race so much that he had to do plastic surgery, not many people knew he had a skin disease so he had no choice. People can be quick to point fingers, why are people so judgemental?

Well, today, I will be writing about one of his songs, except this time I would ask that you relate each lyric to yourself as a human being.

"I'm gonna make a change, for once in my life"

Change, easier said than done yet one of the most used words. Politicians come and go using that same word "Change" only to leave the seat of power and the nation worse than the previous leader, in their defense, they didn't say the change would be positive.

We all want change but are we ready to do what is needed to ensure that the change is a positive one? The first step in making a change is to first make up your mind.

"I see the kids in the street with not enough to eat, who am I, to be blind pretending not to see their needs?"

You are probably waking up on your bed right now, or at least somewhere warm and cozy, but there are children out there with no place to go so they live under bridges or abandoned buildings just to survive, as soon as the sun begins to rise, they are up and about begging for what they can eat.

How long do we have to turn a blind eye to their plight? Are we just going to pretend they don't exist? Is there any hope for them?

"I've been a victim of a selfish kind of love"

The reason why most people disregard such sufferings around them is probably that they have been through worse and survived or they haven't even gone through a tiny bit of what the kids go through, either way, it's selfish.

To do more we have to be more, show some compassion, put a smile on someone's face, it doesn't have to be millions, even a little tip here on read.cash to new writers is enough encouragement, I remember how excited I was over my first tip.

"It's time that I realize that there are some with no home, not a nickel to loan, could it be really me pretending that they're not alone?"

Enough pretending, we can't continue to hide in the dark when the truth is so obvious, there are so many people out there with the will to help but no money, and as I mentioned earlier, living on the street, the result of a failed society.

Have you ever wondered what it must feel like to be in their shoes? With no place to call home? It's so sad really

"I'm starting with the man in the mirror, I'm asking him to change his ways"

To make the world a better place, to make serious change, it has to begin with me (you), the man in the mirror is merely a reflection of you, it will only do as you have done, so why don't you start initiating that positive change and soon after, people will start to imitate you but it has to start with you.

"If you wanna make the world a better place, take a look at yourself and then make a change"

If you really want to make a change, it has to begin with you, the mirror doesn't just show your reflection but gives you a better view of how others see you and how you look. Use that chance to look deeply into your flaws, reflect on them and finally make a difference to the world. So, I'm talking to the man in the mirror, it's time to make a change.


Micheal Jackson really did a lot when it came to giving back to the world especially to little children, he said in an interview how he never got to experience a good childhood (he wrote a song about that too), but by giving back to the world, he felt fulfilled. He will always be remembered in our hearts, this is my Tribute to the King of Pop.


References

[Lyric Source] - google search

[Lead Image Source] - Starsunfold.com

12
$ 3.57
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 7
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About a song

Comments

Personally for me death of Michael Jackson is the biggest lost in the music industry. I swear i still feel like someday Micheal Jackson will just come out and say heyyyy I'm still alive!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

His death came as a shock

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Micheal Jackson lyrics were always inspiring and he spoke the truth in each case. I remember he once mentioned his childhood was taken away from him hence he was tryingto do everything within his power to ensure every kid had a proper childhood.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That was what made me admire him even more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing more pitiful than a child, abandoned, living on the street, and being abused by people and most of us turn blind eye to it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yet, that is the world we live in today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cried a lot that day. Couldn’t believe my ears when I heard that news. I was so excited about his biggest world pop tour.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Death just strikes without a warning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There should be always change but the government use the word otherwise. We all have to change to make world a better place again and again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You have said it all my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Michael was one of the greatest things to have happened in the 21st century. You can just help but love him, no matter who you are or where you come from... Oh yes, I heard he heard vertiligo. That's why he opted to change color.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Regardless of whatever reason that made him change his colour, black or white, it shouldn't matter, we are still humans

$ 0.00
2 years ago

MJ is famous for songs with a deeper meaning. I just love him.. he left a massive impact behind him, what a life!!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He was a song writer, a musician, and a great dancer, a combo that is rare these days, he left a mark for other artist to look up to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago