The books I read and the movie I never saw series

24 37
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Date:Wednesday,22nd of December,2021
Day 22 prompt: about "a movie/book"
Published by: Greatwolfman

I spent most of my childhood reading books and a better half seeing movies but hardly ever do you see the movie to a book you had read.

The big question is this

"Would you prefer reading a novel or seeing the movie to that novel?"

Personally, I prefer the latter, when I read a novel, I'm able to create a mental image of each movie scene where each actor plays their parts perfectly. I could spend hours, days even weeks reading and I won't be bothered about what happens around me for that moment (except when I take breaks to eat).

Anyway, I created a list of books/movies that fit into this list, here are a few books I would recommend you read. I won't drop any spoiler, just enough info that will spur you to want to read the books.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsor's block

The Mediator

[Image Source]

This is still my No.1 novel, I still go back to it every time, I can't seem to tire of reading it. I came across this book in High School, a friend brought the series to school, I accidentally stumbled upon a part of it, after reading chapter 1, I just knew I had to continue.

It is a series written and published by Meg Cabot. The series is built upon a character, Suze Simon who has the supernatural ability to see and talk to ghosts, a gift that was passed down from a grandmother.

This would have been just like any other story until she moved to California to stay with her stepfather and brothers only to discover her room once belonged to Jesse (a ghost who inhabited the room), this ghost must have had all the perfect requirements because Suze ended up falling deeply in love with this ghost, what will happen next? Read it to find out.

The movie isn't out yet but I know I won't even think of seeing the movie, I have a perfect image of each scene from the book in my head, why would I want to ruin it?

You

[Image Source]

This book was referred by the president of our book club years back, long before the movie was produced. I remember reading it back then and watching it progress slowly from normal to creepy and I just knew I had to finish this book.

The book was written by Caroline Kepnes, a beautiful work of art I must add, writers should be respected for their ability to produce precise thoughts that could fuel our imaginations.

"You" is a story about a young man -Joe- and his obsessions over a particular lady, they often say it takes a genius to be a serial killer but you need to be even better to be a stalker like Joe, he was a real genius, he just didn't channel this gift towards the right direction. Will he get the girl? Find out on your own

After

[Image Source]

I hate that I saw the movie, it didn't quite do justice to the story, the book had so many details, and I can imagine how hard it would be to transfer those details to the screen. The producers tried to keep to the scripts but not quite.

The book is a perfect description of what a Toxic relationship looks like, I didn't really approve of some of the decisions the characters made but then again I kept on anticipating what would happen next even though I knew exactly what would happen.

The book was written by Anna Todd originally on Wattpad. When I read the book on Wattpad, the original characters were "One Direction" boy band, Harry, Zayn, Niall, Liam, and Louis, so I read it using their faces as the images of my characters.

Tessa ends up falling in love with the most broken person in school Harry/Hardin, well, you all know how that goes right? Wrong, read it to find out.

Harry Potter

[Image Source]

It was many years since the movie was produced that I saw it, and I must say it is the only book I've read so far whose movie didn't disappoint. I was a little kid and was still going through my "abracadabra" phase.

Harry Potter was written by J.K. Bowling but I'm willing to bet you all knew that, it tells the story of how a young gifted boy and his friends went up against the greatest forces of darkness.

I believed in magic as a kid, I even had a magic wand. There was a day I had an argument with my mom and I packed my bag saying I wasn't going to come back home as I was planning to go to Hogwarts. I didn't mind if I would be classified as a muggle-born. It was a long magic phase.

You can imagine my excitement when I finally saw the movie, it was simply my thoughts brought to life, completely magical.

I will stop here for today, I'm a bit exhausted and I still have quite the journey tomorrow back home for the holidays, I plan to be really productive during this break.

Feel free to add more books/movies to the list, I will definitely check it out

[Lead Image Source - Unsplash.com]

13
$ 4.29
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah the HP movie series did not disappoint at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, How I wish I could go back before watching Harry Potter; I still remember the theme song! I have watched You series on Netflix, and I have to say they are both crazy and creepy, but that is why the story is unique. Two serial killers trying to live a normal life while killing, lol.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The book was even creepier, they tried to reduce some of it in the movie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading novels is really fun. When I read a novel, I feel like I'm in the middle of the action. I'm going to read your novel in my spare time

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yessss, someone that gets it...it is like you are now a part of the story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don’t really like reading novels I prefer watching it than reading it. All the books you’ve listed and highlighted seems very interesting but I’ll like to watch Harry Potter first.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You mean you haven't seen Harry Potter yet?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh ohh I’ve remember him the magic man ooo I just check my memory and I remember him lol 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read about Harry porter and I could relate to it while watching the movie too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I only knew Harry Potter among your recommendations. I just like to correct that it is J.K. Rowling, not Bowling. I read all the series and watch all the movies. I also watched the prequel trilogy, "Fantastic Beasts", and I'm looking forward to the final part next 2022. Harry Potter series would release also a new movie this 2022, it's Back To Hogwarts. I'm really excited now. 😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I saw the trailer too, I'm looking forward to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to first read the novel and then watch the movie adaptation of it in order for me to know the difference. I believe books are much ok compare to movie although movie can enable you to visualize the scenes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

From experience, hardly ever does the movie surpass the imaginations from reading the book

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Harry Potter is love dear. It is worthy and reminds me my childhood.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I definitely prefer seeing the movie. I prefer it coz I can actually see things playing out but when it comes to books, you can only depend on your imagination to visualize the characters

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But your imaginations would give you more accurate and detailed image

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually love reading and also watching the movie. The latter is indeed always better in a case where one can only choose one. I have friends that if they watch a movie, they must read the novel and vice versa. I also find it interesting doing the two

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I prefer reading every single time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember about my dfriend who read this harrypotter novel and me who watched it thrice hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Which was better for you, reading about it or watching it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course watching is it was time management and I really enjoyed it. I also favour the reading but at that time I could not afford that much time and also if I could see the things in 8 parts I think it will thoroughly cover the novel, so it was a good choice.

but my friends and brothers forced me a lottttt to read the book too but I rebelled hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually for me, even after reasimf the book, I would still love to watch the movie . Things fall apart, half of a yellow sun, animal farm, gods are not to blame....☺

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I read things fall apart too

$ 0.00
2 years ago