Superpowers

23 56
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Heroes

Everyone wants to be super in their way, that additional advantage that gives you an edge when gathered among peers. I've always seen myself as someone who drops down from the sky with his Shining armor to save the day.

When I was younger, I often fantasized about being a superhero, I had a lot of lego toys of superheroes like Superman, Batman, Ben-10, Spiderman, Iron Man, and many others. I could spend hours on end just playing with my toys until one day my mother decided to get rid of everything as a way of forcing me out of the house to go play with the other kids outside. Did it work? It didn't.

[Image Source]

"Mother, you may take away my toys but you can't take away my thoughts" - of course, I didn't say this out loud for fear of getting whopping but I did say it in my mind.

If I had to choose a power it would have to be of the following:

Superman

[Image Source]

This man has it all, the body, the physique, the strength, muscles, super hearing, x-ray vision, speed, and his power of flight. He's basically the strongest superhero there is, the movies don't even show his full capabilities, although growing up, I never really did understand why he wore his panties over his tights.

As much as I envy this character I wouldn't want my weakness to be a rock and even so, known to almost every antagonist out there, the strongest DC Hero defeated by a rock, how Ironical given he has the strength to break up rocks. I would choose his strength, not his weakness.

The Flash

[Image Source]

The first time I saw this character in a movie was in Smallville and he went by the name Bart Allen, a speedster, I admired the power to move at high speed.

It would be helpful if I had to save my girl from a bad guy that was probably too big for me to handle, you know, live to fight on a different day. Haha, just kidding. Moving at a fast speed means more impact on punches also it means you can stop time if you are running fast enough. If that isn't enough, you could just reverse time, pretty cool, isn't it?

I have to admit though, it would feel lonely knowing that no one could actually keep up with me because in my own world I would have to slow down my speech to their level which I think can be exhausting.

Iron Man

[Image Source]

One of my favorites, I shed a tear for him when his character died after saving the world (but did he actually save the world? Thanos actually did but I still have my reservations on that subject).

I don't admire him for his suit even though I think they are cool though, I think his superpower is that he is very rich and smart and he has a very good sense of humor too.

If I probably had billions right now, I guess I would be a bit cocky too. Money is power in this world we live in. You just have to learn how to use it. Mr. Tony Stark is the type of Superhero I would like to be someday, not for his suit, or humor, but his money. One day, I'm going to be a multi-billionaire, and perhaps I'll be able to make a big difference just like what Mr. Marc has done here.

I could go on and on the list of superpowers I wish for but it wouldn't be complete if I don't share with you a short story about the day I became a superhero.

If I had to think of a superhero name it would be "Great" because I'm great, it's great don't you think? Get it? If you don't, then just forget about it.

Back to Pre-school

I was still in my superhero toy phase, I had seen an episode of Justice league that morning before going to school, an event I cherish because the power wasn't always constant.

Mary, my classmate was sitting under the mango tree crying, being the caring boy that I truly am, I went closer to find out what would make my potential "Lois Lane" to be crying in the early hours of the day.

"I lost my lunch money" - she cried

I wiped her tears up and we both tried to retrace her steps hoping to find the money but it was a lost cause, to be the superhero, I gave her my lunch money which would mean I would have to go hungry until I get back home.

This might not be much of a sacrifice to you but to me, my food was very important to me, without it, I think I could faint.

It was time for the lunch break, I didn't go out with my friends to play football because my stomach was already crying from hunger. Mary was in a really good mood, she came to thank me for what I did and I was happy that at least I could play the superhero.

Great the superhero

My eyes were focused on the clock which surprisingly was moving slower than a wounded tortoise but at least the school was over. A happy Mary ran up to me to give me a kiss on my cheek and for a moment I thought about how many children we would have and the house we would live in (just joking, I was too young for that, be good guys).

"I found my money, it was inside one of my books, here, let me pay you back"

Pay me back? The deed has been done, I've suffered the pain, I don't think it would be in my favor if I collected it back so with a smile I said - "don't worry, you can keep it"

By the way, Mary has a boyfriend right now, so at least we know how that ends, as much as we would like to play heroes sometime, you should know that it doesn't mean you would get the girl.

Being a hero is about making selfless sacrifices for the good of others (that doesn't mean you shouldn't think of your safety first though). More importantly, to be a good hero, you must have enough money.

14
$ 5.40
$ 5.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Heroes

Comments

Hahahaha!!! So funny little kiddo playing super hero went on Savage hunger.... Well these female species are worth saving though. Can't stop laughing...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! superpowers... I personally loved Captain America, the super soldier and it nearly pushed me into joining the armed forces hahaha! but I believe that our love for these superheroes was because of our love for the supernatural!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm fond of heroes but I never been thinking of being one of them. Super powers are such a great responsibility for them so I'm too lazy and if I've been given a chance to be one of them hahah I just give it to others I don't want another responsibility just kidding. I do love super girl hehez also wonder woman and spider man. I once had a crush on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always liked watching super hero movies but I never thought of being one of those fantasy heroes, not then, not now. I want to believe that we are all heroes in our own little way. I'm a hero to my little sister who I have been taking care of since dad died, you could also be a hero to someone too in a way you wouldn't imagine.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I couldn't agree more, you are indeed a a hero to not just your sister, I'm willing to bet even people around you. Good one my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Superpowers seem to be brute , if I possess those strength to help people. But if I have a chance to select superpowers will not choose those super man possessed rather I will choose the ability to manipulate things or being manipulator.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sounds villain_y, I like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the traits of being villain hehe, and I like the way it is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was always fascinated by shows/movies about superheroes. I am close to believing that there are people in real life who has super powers hahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, there are indeed real life superheroes, they don't need to announce it, you just have to pay close attention and you'll see it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Thanos reference had stimulated an idea. I hope I don't forget to publish it. In a fight between Dr. Strange and Flash, who do you think would win?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Don't forget to do that, Dr. Strange obviously, Flash might be fast but Dr. Strange is far more powerful with the ability to even trap Flash in a loop as well as foresee the future and the past

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not even the young age did I want to be a Superman, I still want it now. Imagine being possessed by the power to conquer all and move to to any place of the world in a flash. All the ladies will find you enchanting 🤸

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, doing it for the ladies eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all want to be Superman at a young age. I used to dress like that when I was young. I used to believe in my childhood that if I could be a superhero, I would be able to do everything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I never had any of his costume, it was so sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my days as a younjg growinjg child, i've always loved the iron man more than all of them cos what he did when i watched it then was really very awesome to me

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think Tony Stark has got to be one of the coolest superheroes to ever live

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite movie Superman 😍 but it's all imaginary not real base but still I love action movies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think the fact that we are all humans make us superheroes. I do not have to have an armor to become that. A simple smile, a loving hug, a kind word can save someone's day. So...does you toy phase and love for superheroes have something to do with your name, Greatwolfman?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No, Great is actually my birth name and Wolfman was coined from my love for Wolves, I love dogs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome superman, until now I'm avid fan of this superhero with his undying superpower.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This article gets a ten star rating just for starting with superman!!!! You're awesome my friend!!!! Flash is cool too... And thanos did safe the planet... I think I agree...

$ 0.03
2 years ago