No place like home

35 44
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About coziness
Date:Thursday,23rd of December, 2021
Day 23 prompt: about "coziness"
Published by: Greatwolfman

Cozy can be defined according to Collins Dictionary as:

"warm and comfortable; snug"

If I were to guess where the one place I feel so much warmth and comfortability is, it would have to be my home. To understand why, let me give you a brief story on how much I've had to suffer in the past week since I resumed for the new semester.

My journey home

I haven't been active all day because I had to travel home for the holidays. The trip was a stressful one mainly due to the heavy traffic, apparently, I'm not the only one who wants to travel home, this led to the public transport drivers increasing their fee, as the popular saying goes - "a man must eat". Anyway, we thank God for a safe journey.

The noisy room

A new semester has just begun, so it was mandatory to get settled in. My new roommates are not that bad, I just wish they didn't have to engage in unnecessary arguments all the time generating so much noise. The mattress with which I slept on is nearing its end, I'm thinking of getting a new one next year when I settle in completely, so when it comes to comfort in the hostel, not quite there yet.

Despite the heat, the fan in the room stopped working

The power in school is always on throughout the night for security purposes and also comfort, I know we are in Harmattan season but all of that flies out the window once you enter my hostel. So we were managing the fan which brought us that little bit of comfort until it decided to go on a break, we arranged for the electrician in the hostel to come to check it out but he kept on postponing forcing us to sleep through such unfavorable conditions.

Mosquitoes showed that no one tells them what to do

The heat was the least of our worries, we had to also face the vampires of the insect world - Mosquitoes. These insects could even bite through thick layers of socks which is really weird. It was so uncomfortable that most nights I just stay awake to something, anything to keep me distracted, and I would sleep during the day once I get the chance to. This, I had to endure for about three days straight (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday).

Can you blame for running back home?

I knew deep down that I wouldn't want to go through such an experience one more day so I packed my things early to start my journey back home. Who knew I could miss the comfort of a good bed? I even miss mom's nagging and my sibling's rivalries.

As soon as I stepped out of school, I started to feel the cool weather of harmattan, as we appear nightfall, the temperature will begin to drop steadily, just the way I like it. It feels good to be home.

What is a home?

Before I proceed any further, there is a need to define what I mean by "Home", it's not just a building with four walls, it's any place where your loved ones can be found.

Great, use your time wisely

It's going to be a challenge trying not to get carried by the Christmas and New year's celebration I'm not on holiday, my initial plan is to use this period to cover more grounds on my project and also give my attention to other courses.

Tomorrow, the cooking will begin, a very stressful yet delicious experience especially when I'm the one frying the meat, I would eat enough of it knowing full well I would be scolded later for it, but nothing else matters as long as the food is dancing in my belly.

Ugh, I hate social interactions

As usual, we always have a lot of visitors which would mean a very busy day at home, and I will have to force myself into uncomfortable situations trying to stick to the normal social conditions. Sighs.


I'm exhausted right now, so I'll be off to bed as soon as I publish this article but before I go, I need to drop a reminder that BCH Nigerian Forum is currently organizing a Christmas writing challenge, the deadline for submission is tomorrow, any entry submitted any later might be argued, details on how the submissions will be made is here. Merry Christmas in advance friends, let's all try to be on our best behavior so that Santa would visit us with amazing gifts, I have a long list from all the past years and I'm waiting patiently to get them all.

[Lead image Source-Unsplash.com]

17
$ 4.27
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 13
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About coziness

Comments

You're right friend... Home is where you find loved ones... Merry Xmas!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Merry Christmas brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also don't like that social interaction this period, especially with my mom calling me to come greet relatives I don't even know, and they keep saying "do you still know me?", Someone that last saw me when I was a baby 😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hate greeting relatives, like, I don't even know you, yet I have to smile and pretend to be happy to see you, aw far comrades

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well described the condition of hostel I also have spend 6 years in hostel and such cases used to prevail and we always nagged our waiters and matrons to get the things done. Of course we did not tolerate the ill- responsibility of theirs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ours don't care, especially in boy's hostels, can't wait to move out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No place like home bro. Just few days at home I'm already feeling better. I hate school🤣 it's good to be home.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Its just so comfortable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's actually no place like home, imagine there's is heat in our room when there's harmattan and I can't just have my personal time, roommates will just bring up unnecessary arguments

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's what I have to deal every day in an eight-man room

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember than when we were still in primary school before the closing time everyone would have packed their load waiting for the closing bell to ring. On ringing the bell, everyone flies home lol😇😄😅. No place like home

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yesss, I did that, seems like such a long time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No place like home indeed. One of the problems with Nigeria is that we do not move with time and life. What do I mean by this? In our Federal institutions, most of the hostels were built many many years ago, and because schools were not overpopulated at that time, these hostels were conducive for students. Many years later, there are more students than their facilities can take this the discomfort that comes with that. They should build more hostels to accommodate more students and put the existing ones in better conditions. Sorry to hear you had to endure these things, good you're home to enjoy for the now, even if it's just for the festive period

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly, you hit the nail right on the head, they should focus in building more hostels for accommodation instead of forcing us into such uncomfortable situations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God for journey mercies. I can feel the happiness you had seeing your loved ones🥰. Sorry about the mosquitoes bite. 😂😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The pain of the bites will fade, the comfort at home proves that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no place like . I always find it uncomfortable to sleep somewhere that is not my home. I can wake up like 9time during the night and the sleep ends very early.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true, sleeping would prove an impossible task just because you aren't where you are used to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you gonna celebrate Xmas without your family? its really sad that students need to prioritize first their studies before the family, however its worth it once the students graduated, those sacrifices are worth it. That time you can say that you've already surpass those struggles and failures, your now a person that is independent to discover wider things in this world.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Regardless of school, Xmas and New year is the only time in the whole year everyone is at home, I wouldn't miss that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This post reminds me life at school 😅🤣. It never easy though. Really, no place like home 🏡!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Just so uncomfortable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mosquito duty was awesome. Hahaha... Yes! Home is the best. The deluxe feel! Only home can give you the exact comfort.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The type of comfort you can't find elsewhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not lucky with your room ooo, it's that mosquito that cause your sickness the last time. Sorry, bro, nothing can be compared with home, never.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yesterday, my roommates announced to the group that the door lock is bad now, the plan is to fix the fan and door before school resumes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No place like home indeed. I hope you will have a fun holiday season with your loved ones. As to the discomfort of social interactions during celebrations, I hope you will get thru successfully. Who knows you will get to meet a new friend :) Have a Merry Christmas!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

A new friend eh? Now I have something to look forward to, Merry Christmas in advance, few more hours to go and the celebrations can begin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, hehe. Thank you and I wish you a jolly one! Cheers to your celebrations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you’ve arrive home safely. I can feel how the mosquitoes 🦟 can disturb you because right I’m currently at the backyard hitting my self because of mosquitoes. Have a nice dream.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can relate, most nights I just let them and pretend they aren't there just to sleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right my friend, there is no place like home, enjoying with family is a great happiness

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, it's just so comfortable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who wouldn't love to be home with their family this Christmas season? Too bad I can't run home like you did

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's sad, I hope you enjoy the holidays

$ 0.00
2 years ago