It's the Christmas Season - BCH Nigerian Forum

24 103
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

I'm trying to be on my best behavior so I will get a visit from Santa this year, I've been very naughty in the past few years, so what about a difference for a change eh.

Christmas has always been my favorite time of the year, it's the one time in the whole year everyone is actually at home annoying the hell out of one another, my younger brother stealing my clothes one by one just before he goes back to school, my younger sister entering into a heated argument with my brother every single day like clockwork and sometimes I try to settle it before it escalates, other times, I let them fight it out before having to settle the issue.

My mother would scream my name one million times for tasks she could just do on her own. One time, she called me from the room just to bring her the remote that was just right there in the living room on the table. You can relate, right?

My father, despite his busy schedule, will have to be at home, and then we would have the talk about how I should not have a girlfriend until I have graduated from the university and probably have my masters and a job before I settle down, if only he knew, oops, I trust you all to keep the secret.

The most annoying part is the wait, ha, why do we have to be subjected to such inhuman treatment, Mother, we do not deserve to be punished this way. After spending long hours in the kitchen assisting with the cooking, the night before Christmas, we won't be allowed to touch any of the dishes prepared until the following day. She would lock the kitchen door because she knew better. When dawn finally arrived, we will not be given food until after a very long prayer from my dad. I'm talking hours, I would be going out of my mind as I made a prayer for time to fly quickly. At last, after sharing the grace, we still wouldn't be allowed to eat until the food had been delivered to all our neighbors since part of the Christmas period is giving, and we would have to do it with a smile.

The street would be filled with little kids wearing their red and white Christmas hats and fresh new clothes hopping up and down with new toys I suppose they must have gotten from Santa. You would even see some holding flowers in place of mistletoe trying to get their crush to kiss them.

By the way, don't try it, it has a probability of success of only 3 out of 10 trials, most time you will end up with a slap, the odds of it working depends on how much she loves you back, free advice.

The Santa Claus costume freaked me out as a child, I was going through the "Clown Phase", I reckon that contributed to the reason Santa stopped visiting me, just a hypothesis.

BCH Nigerian Forum Christmas Writing Challenge

One remarkable aspect of the Christmas season that fascinated me was the influx of new Christmas Themed shows, each having a unique message to pass along, I always look forward to seeing what they have to present next, if you grew up as a Nickelodeon fan or a Romantic Comedies Fanatic, you will be able to relate to this.

That was where the idea behind the topic of this article was born. In the spirit of giving, we would be organizing an easy writing competition.

Your articles will be graded based on the following

  • Christmas Themed article

It's the Christmas season, so write something relating to Christmas, I'm not going to limit what you can write on, I enjoy Christmas Fairy Tales, but surprise me.

Be creative, writing is about creativity if you wish to attract even more attention, everyone can write something down but not everyone can go the extra mile to put down something really creative, do the extra to earn this point. Pictures might be of help here.

  • Captivating

Write something that is enough to capture the reader's attention, it will benefit you greatly as it would increase the number of readers visits you get and of course earn you a good point on this challenge.

  • Passing along a Christmas information

Every article is meant to pass along a piece of information, if the information you are trying to pass along isn't discernable from your article, it would ruin the whole purpose.

  • Meet up with the standard requirement of 600 words or 4 minutes read time.

This will help you personally more than it would us when you submit your article, that is the minimum requirement, you can't make yours longer if you wish but please not 10 mins read.

  • Once you are done with your article, add the topic -

#BCHNigerianForumXmasChallenge, also paste it on your article to spread the word, this will make it easy for me to track what you have submitted, failure to do this would mean you haven't participated.

Lastly, submit your article to Naija Wazobia community for assessment

Rewards

For now, the rewards are as follows

First place - $10

Second place - $5

Third place - $3

This is not fixed as it is bound to increase as time goes on, every participant will get something regardless.

This competition is valid till Christmas Eve, 24th of December.

Have fun my friends, I look forward to reading your amazing write-ups.

20
$ 3.99
$ 2.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 13
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Lol 🤣 the joy of having full house is ok for me but when my own mom start calling me endlessly I get tired and feel like not coming home for the Christmas But when I was little like I said in my post I do love Christmas because all my responsibility on that day is to eat chicken legs with delicious jollof rice and be satisfied Lol 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is is is so good of you bro, a great contest for the last month of the year ends. let's see how it goes then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I can relate in "your brother stealing your clothes one by one". Well it was my sister doing that to me. There were even a time I told her the tshirt she is wearing is familiar. Only to realize it was actually mine😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good intention, but am sorry to say that no one informed me about this challenge. Though I wouldn't participate I will be able to lend my support to make the event much successful. I love what I read here. At least the best I have read from our brothers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Came across this just now. Let me get my groove on, as this is the first challenge I would participate in

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that I'm grown I no longer anticipate Christmas like I used to when was younger. It's now boring here and only the children enjoy it since they have basically nothing nothing think about.

I gues Christmas celebration isn't for me anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very nice and I think I’ll be participating in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article and a great challenge. I wish you success my friend. I will participate in the challenge

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Brilliant, I'm expectant

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a superb initiative buddy, I am happy this is coming from the BCH Nigeria forum.

Xmas is almost the same for every Nigeria parent, having the family together is great fun.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wouldn't trade anything for the Christmas drama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha...you know most times, we parents would always have way of dishing out instructions to our children without minding whether they are hot or not but in all, our guidance as parents are still the best no matter what

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, parents guidance is the best, especially mothers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahaha...my mom also screams my name like that too and i also like the xmas period as it is also my best season of joy and that of happiness

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess all mothers are the same in that aspect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

another beautiful contest1 month of december is really loving and exciting and yes that remote incident is relatable

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really feel the essence of Christmas here. This is so exciting.. anyway I hope everyone will join.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm so in on this one

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is nice, looking forward to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Morning sir.. Well, I can say your family bears a lot of similarity with mine especially your mom. Lol, aren't all mothers that way?😁 I accept this challenge sir and its a pleasure meeting you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The pleasure is all mine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice initiative bro. But I hope there won't be biaseness in term of viewers, not everyone has equal amount if followers here, so I think it shouldn't be part of thee criteria.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nice suggestions Ada, I hope it won't be biased too. Hope everyone get an equal treatment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not a part of the criteria, I have listed out the points that will be graded

$ 0.00
2 years ago