New year's eve

17 38
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Date:Tuesday, 7th of December, 2021
Day 11 prompt: About New year's eve
Published by: Greatwolfman

It is the one time in the whole year where "see you next year" is the same as "see you tomorrow", it also happens to be my Mom's birthday, since she was born in the night between New years eve and New year, we celebrate it twice, we take 31st as the main day since New Year already celebrates itself.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors

Special thanks to @foryoubtc09 for the sponsorship renewal

Having fun with fireworks

My fondest memory of New years eve is going out with the other kids to throw Knockout and Fireworks. We were quite playful and noisy until one day, a boy whilst playing with the knockout, held on for too long and hurt himself, my Dad who panics a lot immediately suspended all forms of outing on New Year's eve and we were not allowed to play with any form of Fireworks or Knockout.

[Image Source]

I started going to church on New years eve with my buddy Ronnie, I use that time to pray and contemplate all my failures and triumphs throughout the year as I set new goals into the new year. I no longer find throwing knockouts interesting though but it's fun to watch as the fireworks hit the sky making beautiful colors and letters.

Most couples or young teenagers take this time to express their love to their other half.

"10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1....Happy New year"

I watch from my corner as they make their first kiss of the year...even my buddy Ronnie, while I sit alone observing and feeling very awkward. Almost like I'm the only single person in the whole building, can you relate?

[Image Source]

A friend of mine was argued that there is nothing special about New years eve

"It is just another day in the year where you wake up and realize you haven't really achieved much and even though people party for a day, you still have to survive January and the long list of bills for what usually seems to be the longest month, I don't think a day is 24hours in January because it's always very long, almost like time would pause for a while"

January, the longest month of the year

Speaking of which, have you also noticed how long January always is? Next year, I will be spending the month in school going through 8 am to 6 am lecturers as I try to survive sleepless nights working on building measurement and contract documentation.

Okay, let me not divert from the main topic, back to New years eve.

Trying to stay up all night as you stare cautiously at the clock and digital calendar as the year changes can be really tedious, sometimes boring when the power is off (which is usually the case in Nigeria). One time, I overslept and missed it, I felt bad throughout the whole day. What a way to start a new year eh

My Worst New Year's Eve experience

It feels very irritating adding the image but you get the idea

My worst New year experience was the time I had conjunctivitis, popularly referred to as "Apollo" (not the Greek god Apollo). As usual, we had stayed at home trying to have as much fun as we could, unknowingly to us, our neighbor's son had contacted the infection and just like that it began to spread until everyone in the house had it, it was very awkward, you should see how we all looked in the family portrait all wearing glasses to cover our "red eyes". The good thing about that was that we didn't get any visitors because they were wary of the infection so we had a lot to eat. Even though my eyes were hurting, the taste of the fried turkey was enough to give me enough comfort. I'm a foodie.

The last new year's eve wasn't quite "adventurous", due to COVID 19 restrictions, all forms of social gatherings were canceled so I had to stay at home, at least I got to spend quality time with my family, we joked about the year we all had Apollo, I would have posted the picture but it didn't seem appropriate so Dad instructed us to get rid of it and we took a better one when we were all feeling better. You know, as the saying goes, Family that stays together, gets Apollo together eh.

I had this article written in the morning but was quite busy settling in and had to go for a lectures among other things, the urgent things which came up. I had a lot of fun reminiscing on the past. I hope you also had a nice time reading it.

[Lead Image Source: Unsplash]

11
$ 3.32
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @CoquiCoin
+ 9
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Happy new year in very advance. I don’t really like knockout yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right from when I was a kid I do not like knockout nor firework

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the most anticipating activities every New Year the fireworks display, I really love to watch this one over and over again. And time so fast, Christmas is coming up and next is New Year celebration.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Finally we can say goodbye to 2021

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and hello 2022.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was laughing when you said that others having kiss with their partner as the countdown og new year. Its feels so awkward honestly hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very awkward, almost feeling like I shouldn't have gone alone in the first place

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is wishing you the best of a Christmas Eve and the best of the main Christmas day to come as much as a happy New year in advance all for you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wish you the same, I hope this new year will bring even bigger blessings to us all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swing. I really don't feel like I'm going to celebrate Christmas in Pala even in the month of tayu in December before Because I haven't heard fireworks and Xmas songs around this month, huhuhu I missed the past years🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best feeling ever will always be in December, especially the new year eve. The atmosphere, feeling, preparations and all

$ 0.03
2 years ago

During the period, all I think about to getting food in my mouth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very rough Christmas Eve. I wish you a better Christmas Eve to come dear

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It also had some exciting ones, happy new year in advance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mum was born at a cool time!!! I kind of agree with your friend though... It's how I think... Covid was a real bummer..!!! Stay safe friend... Merry Xmas and happy new year in advance!!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same to you my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those skyshots and firecrackers are worthy to watch. People shouts with joy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago