Hallow's eve specials

23 49
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Date: 30th of October, 2021
Publisher: Greatwolfman

It was just like any other evening, I had just returned home from school. I was starving so I went to the kitchen and discovered that there was food kept in the thermos flask. I went into my room to change and freshen up as I had a very tedious journey. The peace in the house was just suiting and comforting, no one was at home. I checked the time, it was already 10:30 pm, as I mentioned, it was a very tedious journey.

I sat down comfortably in the living room and ate as I binged on one of my favorite Zee-World programme-Fear Files. It is a program that talks about people who had been attacked by supernatural entities like demons and ghosts or just restless spirits who can't move on to the other side due to their earthly attachment. I enjoyed the thrill but sadly I couldn't watch till the end as I was exhausted so I decided to get ready for bed.

I took to the sink to wash the dirty plates, I checked all the doors were locked, I then moved to switch on the external light for security before dashing to my room to lay on my bed. Just before I slept, I plugged in my phone to charge as I finally got comfortable with my pillow. Back in the school hostel, the bed wasn't quite comfortable enough, not as comfortable as the bed I had at home, since I was only going to be home for that night, I took my time to cherish every bonding moment I had with it.

Not so long after I had laid down, I heard a knock on the door. I checked the time, it was almost midnight, who would be knocking at this time of the night. I sneaked out of the room as stealthily as I could, I peeped through the window but saw no one. I was beginning to doubt if I heard right until I heard the knock again. I didn't want anyone to know I was in so I still didn't respond, I took a peek and still saw no one.

Panic would be an understatement, I wanted to scream but I couldn't, it felt odd and scary. Just around a dark spot outside, I noticed something staring at me...a dark figure. I crawled back to my room, got out my Bible, and placed it on the nightstand. I couldn't possibly call 911, what would I tell them - "I think I'm been attacked by a ghost"? I tried calling mom and dad but there was no signal. I started to recite Psalm 23 from the bible- " The lord is my Shepherd, there is nothing I shall want...". After about 10 minutes of reciting this verse, I felt a bit calm, no evil would befall me, I was sure of it. Just then the power went off.

"Could this be any worse" - I thought to myself.

Sleep eluded for as long as humanly possible, my blood must have been filled with adrenaline after such an experience. Alas, Mother Nature has her ways, I fell asleep with the Bible on my bed. I woke up a few minutes later except that I wasn't awake, I was still sleeping but I was conscious of it. My gaze went to my room's door when I noticed the dark figure was standing there staring at me.

I couldn't make out its face but it was definitely an entity. I had no idea what it wanted, I was about to scream out but I noticed my voice was gone, no matter how hard I tried I couldn't make words come out. I tried moving my feet and my legs but I couldn't. I had lost control of my body. The entity came closer and closer and I couldn't do anything to get away. I felt its hand pressing against me as I tried to fight back but my body wasn't listening to me.

I screamed with all my might but still no words, who would hear my cry for help anyway. Finally, I was able to break free, I had no idea how but I regained control of my body, I was in tears and my body still felt heavy. Was it a dream or was it real? I couldn't tell. The power was back on as well as the service providers. I called my Mom immediately to inform her of what I had experienced. She called it a dream and instructed me to pray immediately which I did.

I still wasn't satisfied so I decided to visit google.

Please note, if you ever fall sick to any ailment, NEVER google your symptoms, just go to a clinic and get an expert opinion

Apparently, Science has an explanation to every supernatural experience. Sleep Paralysis is a phenomenon in which your brain is awake but your body is still fast asleep. I hadn't been getting enough sleep so I suffered the attack. I later discovered that eating late could cause that. I sort of figured out on my own that perhaps watching a scary movie just before bed is not such a bright idea and what I saw through the window could have just been a sleep-deprived brain hallucinating.

Sleep Paralysis:

A state, during waking up or falling asleep, in which a person is aware but unable to move or speak. During an episode, one may hallucinate (hear, feel, or see things that are not there), which often results in fear. Episodes generally last less than a couple of minutes. It may occur as a single episode or be recurrent.

Source: Wikipedia

Fiction or reality, you choose what you want to believe, what's real and what isn't. Perhaps there is more to the supernatural than I understand, perhaps it was all a dream, it doesn't change the awful experience that almost made me shit my pants.


I hope you had a good scare and also fun reading this article, tomorrow is Halloween. I have been reading @Theblackdoll articles on the subject and I decided to join in. I have never seen so much dedication to a topic before, 31 days of writing stories about Halloween. If you wish to get a good scare, just visit her page and enjoy.

#Halloweencontest2021

Lead Image Source: Unsplash

12
$ 4.75
$ 4.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.46 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

Im reading this blog entry of yours while the light is off. This makes me scare. I seem to act as if im brave but im nothing but a total coward. Hahahah. Nice entry @Greatwolfman🖤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

wooowwwww!!!!! I mean if I see something feel something looking at me in the dark, I'd be running so fast out of there all while screaming like a banshee.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Beware of the midnight knocks! Good luck with your entry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing scarier than being afraid at night and the power choose to go off at that moment 😁😁 Many people suffer from this sleep paralysis and I believe that. Good luck in this contest.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It can be really freaky. Yet it is a common phenomenon in horror films. Almost like there is a link between the paranormal and electrostatic energy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still wonder why you love horror movies, imagine your favorite tv show is fear files 😂😂. I can't live with you oo 😂 I do experience sleep paralysis before but it stopped I hate that experience

$ 0.02
2 years ago

whenever we are faced with fear we remember the bible, do babies also suffer paralysis ? how do we even know when they do cos my cousin sis always cry when she wakes every midnight the cry will last like an hour but we can't figure what makes her cry

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Its hard to say but babies don't really have a time table, they cry pretty much when they are hungry or uncomfortable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my Hod, you almost scared me so much bro. All the same, the story line's been good

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This prompt really entertained me alot all thanks to the blackdoll. Many scary creative stories out there. Wish they could extend the deadline so I could read more.😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have really scared me bro. I guess something must be very special about this haloween that almost every person write on it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There was a writing contest on it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even you too great 🥶🥶🥶🥶Omo this you guys should start making scary movies oh it seem like this is your calling bro 😹😹

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've read a lot of scary articles here today I think you all should just make a scary movie😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have considered it, dear I say I would make a very good horror movie producer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 😆 you are also very good in scaring people. Haha your suggestion is noted. Haha I always google about my symptoms and then get ill for long time. 🤭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The mind has a way of playing with people. If you think you are ill, you will be...its called the placebo effect. And Google will only show you the worst case scenarios

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

" The lord is my Shepherd, there is nothing I shall want..." 😂😂 this was hilarious and scary too... really captivating, took me on a serious emotional ride

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If I told you it happened to me, would you buy it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why wouldn't I, I believed it was real... so many things happen all around us that are really just above the physical intuition..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you’ve decided to scare me😅 It’s really nice and horrific too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thrill is in the fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago