My Pain for My Eldest

23 69
Avatar for Glez
Written by
1 year ago

When I had my first born she was unexpected, unplanned but never unwanted. Someone I never expected to actually arrive in my life though I dreamt of having but it was never in a perfect time. I was still trying to start a career and enjoy my life while preparing for my siblings future. I was still trying to work on loving myself and planning to explore places, gain experiences.

But then, when she arrived everything was in chaos.

I got no savings.

I got no plans.

When I went to delivery room I only have 10k or like around $200 in my wallet without knowing I will have to undergo C-Section.

Lying with her for siesta when I thought of writing this article.

After 4 months of maternity leave of which I have never really enjoyed because from those moments there were more tears, stress plus I got drowned of debts because I got no salary by that time and my partner doesn't have work so I focused again on my career. Spending less time at home and more time at work doing overtimes to earn more.

I was not around and not so conscious that she may need me but all I wanted is really just to make sure not to make her eat rice paired by sugar in a meal or maybe drink MILO instead of milk. I wanted to secure her needs.

I feel guilty.

I feel guilty because by the time that we are supposed to focus on her, I instead had another baby. I never feel bad for having my 2nd child. I was even ecstatic because having been able to deliver a baby gives such a wonderful feeling but then it was too late for me to realize that my eldest would have lesser time with me and I have to sacrifice my time to look after her since she got a sibling that I needed to focus on.

My heart cries silently for her when she has to give the pillow she loves to her sister just because her sister would cry not having it. I bleed when there was a time that I have to give more attention to her sister than her. I feel more pain seeing her getting scolded or spanked by her dad because she's becoming an attention seeker.

One of those times when she was waiting for me to notice her but she fell asleep.

There are times that me and my partner forgot that she was just 4 years old. Like those times when I got so stressed and scold or screamed at her for not letting her sister borrow her toy when I know she wants to play with it.

I have been reminding myself that my eldest is still a baby and that I shouldn't be asking her to understand her sister because she isn't old enough to understand moreover, it is just so unfair for her.

I would have always love to buy her what she likes to see this smile.

My eldest is very sweet.

Whenever we eat our meal she would be the one to get a chair for me and have me sit on it because she knows I am always tired.

When I got sick, she would hug me and put a blanket on my body then kiss me. Not a day would pass by that she wouldn't be telling me, "I love you Ma!".

I feel bad whenever I am working at home then she would suddenly appear on my side and ask something that I couldn't even listen because I am so busy, then I would only notice her when she's walking away.

My Dearest Gheia Eraine,

You might be thinking as to how did I come up with your name.

Well, first and foremost, my main goal is to make sure that when you get an NBI you won't be HIT. LOL! You may not understand it yet but when you start to look for a job surely you might thank me. Haha

But really, your name Gheia comes from the name of the Goddess of Earth Gaia or Gaea but if you try to read and translate it in Visayan dialect it means GUIDE.

Your second name Eraine comes from the Japanese word Erai which means superior, great.

Though, it may have a different meaning now but you mean every good things to me. I have also thought before of having your second name as HERA as the Goddess of Marriage but then I changed my mind.

My love, I am not so sure if I would still be around when you get to read this or if you would ever have a chance on doing so but say that you do I want you to know that I love you with all my heart.

I love you on my bad days even when I shout at you.

I love you on those days when I have to spank you.

I love you on those days when I do not want you near me because I have so much in mind.

I love you on those days when I was never beside you.

If only I could stay at home to take care of you and your sister all the time I would be happy. Lucky are those who has a good provider for a partner but then, I do not feel like we are unlucky though, it is just that our lives work differently so we have to endure.

Thank you Anak, because at a very young age you learn to love your sister and care for her. Thank you for understanding Mama and thank you for those I love you's, the hugs and kisses, you may never knew but it keeps me going up to today.

You and your sister are my greatest treasure. My heart belongs to the both of you so I hope that as you grow older you continue to care for each other even when I am not around. I hope that you would stick together and be strong to face the world.

I am sorry for the tears I brought you, for the days when you felt you are unloved because we were focused on your sister, for those times you have to sacrifice your toy, pillow or even snacks or for those times when you are trying to get my attention but I was too focused on something else.

I am sorry for bringing you here in this world unprepared but then, I thank you for coming into my life. You were one of those reasons why Mama is standing still and doing her best.

I may not be the best Mom, Anak, but I am trying to be at least worthy to be called Mama. I always pray that in everyday I would have a chance to show you how much you mean to me, that you wouldn't feel bad for having a sister.

Love,

Mama <3


...end thoughts...

It has been awhile since I wrote an article. My mind isn't on the right track and I decided to give sometime until I can really feel the urge of writing something because whenever I would have a concrete idea the details would just come naturally and all I needed to do is just type it in and make sure it's something that everyone could understand.

11
$ 6.36
$ 5.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Expressionless
+ 4
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Naka relate ako sa name kasi ako palaging na hi-HIT. Glen Canete lang din kasi ang pangalan at sobrang liit lang.. hahaha.

Anyways, I really felt sad. I almost cried actually while reading your article but I know it wasn't done intentionally and it was just brought by the hard situations and problems that you are carrying by that times.. I know your daughter would understand when she grows older. Just try to catch -up and cope-up things for her when time permits you.. it's not about the past things that you did but on how you cope up with those thing that were done.. praying for the good things to you and to your family.. do your best to be happy and enjoy life.. let me know on how I could be of any help. I'll be glad to help on the way that I can.. Let me know when you will be reporting back to the office. I have a lot of toys that I will be giving to your daughters.. My daughter is already a grown up and no longer play on those toys. I'm sure that your daughter will loved those..

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Hellooo Glen! ❀️ Waa nkakahappy naman tong Comment mo... Nasa .app na din ako kaso di ako mkapag ingay sa posts mo di mka comment πŸ˜…

By the way salamat talaga. You are one of those who keeps me motivated.

Hala talaga ba? Bibigay ka toys sa baby ko? Birthday pa naman nya this Nov 13. Di pa ako sure though if makakabalik ako agad kasi Im sick papa check up kami by friday .... Pero if ever pm kita... πŸ₯Ί Masakit talaga si Eldest sakin kasi ang hirap ng pinagdadaanan nya. Lalo na nkakalimutan ko minsan na baby pa sya. Parati nalang syang napapalo or napapagalitan...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know na hindi mo naman talaga gusto at dala na rin siguro ng stress pero wag naman sanang paluin.. nakakaawa naman talaga kasi yung bata eh.. hehehe. Hihintayin ko yung PM ha. Check ko din don sa Noise.App baka hindi kpa kita na follow don.. ipafollow kita.. Ingat ka lage and god bless, Glez.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please save a copy for her to read later. It sound interesting.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I will dear. Thank you so much for the support and kind words πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the meaning of the name po, such a meaniful yet powerful name. Same tayo sis i have no savings din nung nabuntis ako tapos wala pa akong work nun. Cs din ako nung time na nanganak ako kasi highblood ako, pero ngayon okay na. Nakakaraos naman na kami and same kami mag work ni partner ko ngayon

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello dear, kahit na cs thankful pa din talaga tayo sa process na yan kasi we are both safe together with our child. Nung panahon before cs was studied madami namamatay sa panganganak talaga...

By the way are you aware n you are being mark as spammed? Ngayon ko lng n notice to kasi naka hidden yung comment mo...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the name and how it is composed. Strong Guide! Hopefully your daughter will be one. I can relate to such extent. My wife and I are talking if we can still have another one and we have a 1 year old daughter right now. But thinking that our little one will be forced to be matured in a way if we have another this early, this kinda put us in a tight situation as we want to give the best for our kid.

Whatever you are doing now. A tap on the back and you and your partner are doing a great job!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would suggest to weigh things up.. based on personal experience we might really sacrifice the eldest and they might get hurt. But if you think you both can do it, why not?

As for me, I have really learned the hard way.

It is great though for your eldest to have a sibling but maybe wait for sometime until she understands that it would be mean shes going to have someone to share your attention with...

Based on personal experience na din toh, i had a brother when I was 6 and was always tasked to look after him..it hurts not to be able to play with my playmates because i have to look after him and get blamed or at fault when he would fell off the crib because I am not looking after him well. Makes me felt like i was just born to be a nanny.πŸ₯ΊπŸ€­

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Based on personal experience na din toh, i had a brother when I was 6 and was always tasked to look after him..it hurts not to be able to play with my playmates because i have to look after him and get blamed or at fault when he would fell off the crib because I am not looking after him well. Makes me felt like i was just born to be a nanny.πŸ₯ΊπŸ€­

This is what we are trying to avoid too! Childhood being robbed. Point taken Glez, di pa lang namin siguro talaga kayang sundan pa haha. Before having a kid, we talked it over na at the very least we have 2 kiddos in our home pero ngayong may isa na nasa buhay namin parang we are talking on having it one and done.

Let's see what will happen we are not getting any younger nadin and we are happy on the entrusted life na mayroon. Kung may makalusot hahah edi good job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. You can lift everything to God naman.. ako nga di naman ako nag expect n im capable of having a child because i had cyst and the doctor said pagka mag reoccur and left uncured it could damage my uterus pro ayon one day biglang nag vo-vomit ako..akala ko nalipasan ng gutom yun.pala morning sickness πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My sister is in the same situation as you. Another baby was born after my sister's elder daughter was 2 years old. The big girl is very young, how can she understand good and bad. Your older child is very calm . And now he is starting to understand your pain.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. Whenever I cry at makita nya ako she would always hug me right away. Naaawa ako sa eldest ko kasi di ko nabibigay lahat sa kanya eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will always treat and love your elder child well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww this is the sweetest πŸ₯° I wished when she can already read sana mapabasa mo to sa kanya ✨❀️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana nga madam. I want her to know that i love her so much :'(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure feel naman din nya madam kahit papaano ❀️✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so heart touching, I just wish you could save a copy of this for her to read someday. Most times the eldest child doesn't get all the attention.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. That is why she became an attention seeker. I want to focus on her but its hard when she has a sibling. I just wish she'll grow up with God helping me guiding her on the right path whenever I am not around to help her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe sis, there's no one born by accident, every life that exist has a purpose. She's a blessing that makes the family happy. She will be proud of you when she can read this in the future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hopefully sis. I dont want her to grow up having grudge because she has a sister. I dont want her to think shes unloved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw, I can feel you mommy. I had my secondborn turning three plang yung first ko. We got lesser attention with him dahil focused din ako sa maliit. Naguguilty din ako dati pag napapagalitan ko yung eldest ko, pero kinakausap ko nlng after nun, naintindihan naman nya. Pero now, everything went well na, both na sla malaki, turning six na si kuya ang 3 years old nman si bunso. 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana nga madam she would grow up understanding to all these. Sakit sa dibdib. Shes supposed to be the priority pro yung pangalawa inuuna kac yun mas bata at makulit...

$ 0.00
1 year ago