The Jenna I Knew

2 10
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

So we went to the job interview together and as always, hoping for the best. As we walked into the building, all in my head was "what if I wasn't selected but my friend. How about I came out successfully and my friend wasn't selected. Well, it's a matter of time, one person will definitely get the job". We talked about a lot as we walked into the building.

Jenna and I have known since childhood. We met each other again in the city searching for a job. We met at an interview that we both weren't called back. Since then, we have become so close and went for more interviews together. I was in desperate need of a job and so was she.

Before we left..

I was in her house, she now lives in a big building alone. I was thinking she was being accommodated by someone, maybe a friend but I was surprised when she said the house was hers.

Unsplash image

"How come? No, this can't be true" .. I kept thinking and saying. It was just last month she travelled to another place in search of a greener pasture. She has invited me to follow her to another job interview. We were both shortlisted for the final selection and interview. So I was in her house for the first time since last month she left me to this new place.

As I sat on the couch sipping wine, she was taking a phone call that lasted for almost an hour. She spoke differently in some sorts of codes I didn't understand though wasn't interested in that. When she finally got my attention, she expressed happiness in seeing me at her house for the first time since last month she left. I felt welcomed by her hospitality.

I decided to ask her how she got all these expensive properties in just a month. She laughed and said that "this is just the beginning, that there are more to come" .

I was like wow! This is what I have been looking for on my doorstep. I couldn't wait for her to tell me what business that got her these fortunes so I could start immediately and live a good life I have always wanted.

One thing picked my interest and that's a question of "Why". Why would she be applying for a regional Manager in an unpopular firm.

She has all the money she wants, what will she be doing with the little money she'll be paid monthly as a manager. She has a beautiful car, a well decorated house and two iphones that I have never touched before.

Just as these questions were roaming my mind, she said she needs something to be doing that will keep her busy. She said she doesn't want to stay in the house all day and needed somewhere outside to wake up every morning and go to work.

I remember just about two months ago while we were talking about tattoos at dinner. She said she doesn't like to have one and doesn't think something would ever make her draw a tattoo on her skin. She said she prefers her natural look and won't have anything to tamper with it.

That was just two months ago and today, she has tattoos all over her skin. Her arms through her fingers were tattooed, same with her legs. Another thing, I saw her wearing golden beads around her waist for the first time.

I didn't want to ask too many questions though, until after the job interview. As we talked about our past and laughed about it, she asked me what life I would love to live. I told her "a life like hers" and we laughed again about it. She said "okay, that's a good choice I made, this job will be the beginning of the life I want for myself".

Well, I was happy to hear that but.. I know that being a manager won't get me a big house, iphones and a car in such a firm. Although I have to be positive, I still had doubts.

As we drove to the interview and were walking up the stairs, she requested I give her my file that she would see me in a few minutes which she did as I waited for her. Soon after, she joined me and told me it was over. She said I already got the job. I was surprised to hear that and began thinking if she was the owner of the firm but she said she already discussed with the owners of the firm to give me the Job. Well, I was happy but at the same time worried.

As we sat talking, another lady came to hand me my appointment letter. She was dressed in a suit and has the same tattoo as Jenna on her wrist. I read the tattoos as I reached my hand to take my letter, it was exactly the same.

We got back home to Jenna's house, I have to resume work in a week's time, she requested I stay with her for some days before leaving. I had to stay, meanwhile what I was going home to do. She got me clothes and make-ups, and gave me a room.

One day I went for a walk with her puppy. On coming back, I saw cars parked in the compound. It was her friends, they have come to visit. She introduced me to them and as they hugged me, I noticed the same tattoos in their left hand. They were all dressed in blue and had the same tattoo at the same place.

Unsplash image

After the introduction, I went straight to my room but as I walked close to my door, I heard one of them say "have you told her everything about us?" Jenna replied "not yet"

"I want her to know the taste of money before telling her the necessary things she needs to know"...

Thank you for reading lovelies as you wait for the second part of this life story.

@Gianna-B , 2022 and all rights reserved

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Mercury1
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Are they hiding something?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just hope she doesn't get enticed by the money

$ 0.00
1 year ago