My Todays Experience: Let's be Grateful for What we Have.

3 11
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Good day everyone, it is a lovely Thursday and I'm out for lunch with my colleague. I hope you are having a beautiful day wherever you are. Today has taught me a lesson of appreciation, saying thank you for the little I have. It's not enough but still can't be enough. In all and all, I have all the good reasons to say thank you for what I have.

In the morning as I woke up, I was just lying down on the bed with my eyes wide open staring at the ceiling for a few seconds when I heard a cock crow. It has been a long time since I heard a cock crow in the morning close to my house. I quickly walked outside to see the cock that made such a beautiful sound. As I hurried outside, I saw it with other hens eating. My mom was feeding them even though it wasn't ours, they probably belong to the neighbors.

I watched them fight and struggle over the food and noticed how the bigger ones take charge until they were done feeding. That was their breakfast served to them. They don't even get them everyday. People of my area will just buy fowls and allow them to roam about fending for themselves. Sometimes they only get fed in the morning, the rest of the day is fending for themselves.

After my breakfast, I left for work and while on my way, I met some kids who ran towards me calling me "aunty aunty" please help me with money, I haven't eaten breakfast".

At first it was a child with clutches sitting by the road side. As I walked past him, he called me for help. He pleaded I should help him with anything to treat himself and also take care of himself. He was there alone along the road. I had to deepen my hand into my purse to give him something.

After giving him some money, I spoke with him. His name is Abel (undisclosed). I asked him about his family and he said he came from a poor family, his mom late and his father poor. He said he got his injury when he accidentally fell from a mango tree a few months ago. Since then, he has not been getting the required treatment.

I went ahead to ask him about his siblings and maybe uncle's and aunt's and he said they don't want to help them (his family). I was like why? But he said they are not on good terms.

I was already getting late to work. I had to buy him some street food before leaving him. Still thinking about all he said as I walked down to take a bus, I heard other kids calling my attention. They have seen me give Abel money and bought food for him and maybe wanted the same. I had to keep straight to the bus station not knowing what to do.

This afternoon on a lunch break with my colleague, I told her about what happened in the morning and just as we were talking about it, a woman carrying her baby entered the restaurant we were in. She was looking for someone to buy her lunch. I was watching at a distance as a man beside her told the waiters to give her something to eat that he would pay for it. What an act of kindness!

There are some people who neg before they eat, they spend their days on the roadside begging for help. Let's give if we have. I take my complete square meal daily except when I don't want to. I am really grateful for that. So many kids are out there pleading for breakfast and looking for help. I am always grateful to be who I am today, I pray for a better tomorrow.

Parents on the other hand should know their responsibilities. Bringing a child to the world as a blessing doesn't mean the child should suffer. It's not easy but I believe that with the needful things to do, your kids will never go hungry or be seen along the streets.

Unsplash image

I see some kids with their parents along the road oftentimes, begging for food and basic needs. In August last year, I remember donating some of my clothes, especially those I don't wear anymore to the charity. It was on a Sunday that we even visited the orphanage. Sometimes we should check out wardrobes to see if there are unwanted clothes that are still in good condition to give out to so many people out there who need them. We should appreciate whatever little or big we have and pray for the needy. Thank you for reading and have a beautiful day.

@Gianna-B

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

5
$ 0.43
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Sweetiepie
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Your so kind willing to share your stuff to other, even us we always doing to give some clothes in needed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should be grateful, we might not have everything but at least we can eat 3x a day. I feel sorry for Abel that he need to go through poverty at the young age

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, we should not withhold what we have when there is the capacity to give

$ 0.00
1 year ago