My Greatest Cooking Mistake..

6 16
Avatar for Gianna-B
2 years ago

16th April, 2022

Happy weekend Readland family and how is life treating you all. Today is the first half days of this month, April. Fifteen days more remaining to see the end. So soon? to me, maybe yes. Time waits for no man.

This Saturday has been so cool and this morning, the weather is so cold. That a normal rainy season weather for us.

Yesterday evening again, I didn't know I was running out of cooking gas. I thought it was enough for me to cook for the night and probably through this week. As I started my cooking, I was embarrassed by my gas cooker. I ran out of gas for the first time while cooking and I was so lucky to have another filled cylinder in my kitchen. I switched over and after cooking, I was still pondering what would have happened if I had no other gas cylinder. That brought me to writing this article with some questions about my kitchen lifestyle.

These are my questions and my answers. Have fun as you read and I would like to see your answers too. Spank me now @Probinsyana ,I will love to read your answers too, thanks.

What first food ever, did you cook on your own and at what age?

I could still remember clearly, how it happened that day and the whole processes,but have forgotten what day it was actually. I use to have elder siblings who makes the food always while I wash the plates like it was my job. We would normally Cook beans and yam porridge every afternoon those days. So, I use to assist my sisters most times and that how I learnt how to cook this yam porridge.

From unsplash

One afternoon, mom gave me a yam to give my sister to prepare porridge for lunch. I took the yam to my elder sister, gave it to her and pleaded with her to allow me cook it and she should assist me in the kitchen. I was happy she agreed and that was how I made my first yam porridge successfully. I remember I was thirteen years old then.

What is your best cooking method?

I prefer cooking by boiling. Using my gas cylinder, I make every food I want. Some local food will always give more taste when roasted or fried, but I always prefer cooking with gas cylinder and that has been me for a long time now. I love roasted yam but still if I am given a yam, I wouldn't roast it. I will always prefer to just turn my gas cooker on and pour some water in the pot and then fire on. Instead of burning charcoal and sweating for a longer period of time. Cooking by boiling is probably the most simple for me.

What food will you eat a whole day without getting tired?

This food must be something I crave for. A special delicacy to me. I would eat egusi soup three times in a day without getting bored a bit. I don't even mind taking it again at noon the next day. I just like the well prepared soup of egusi.

Egusi soup. From unsplash

Do you have a cooking Habit?

Yes, I have some of them. Though I catch some cooking fun while doing them most times. I am a type that tastes salt by putting a very small and hot portion of the food or soup in my bare hand. It hurts a little, but I don't know why I keep doing that.

From unsplash

Another one is that, sometimes after washing onions, I cut them directly from my hands to the pot. I have to stop this entirely.

What do you love cooking the most?

I love cooking vegetables and making soup. Vegetables are my easiest food to cook. They waste no time long before they will be done, and as for soup, I just wish I can make all the soup on this planet. The steps involved and the sweet scent that arises from the pot when opened. Sometimes, people from a distance perceives it and knows what is cooking.

What has been your greatest cooking mistake?

That day, I was frying tomatoes and when it was dried, I added water. The next thing was boom! fire in the stew pot. I ran backwards and was looking at this burning pot in surprise. My sister heard this unusual sound and on coming to see what happened, she saw the blazing fire. We had no fire extinguisher, she wasn't afraid of the fire and placed the lid on the pot. That was how the.

From unsplash

fire stopped. That day, I didn't cook again all through. It was a sight to see but never want to see again.

"Cooking are for women" what's your opinion on this?

This i remember, was a debate in my secondary school and I still stand on the winning Side which says that cooking is not for women but everyone. If you can eat, you have to cook something to eat. No hungry person eats raw yam. So if there is no woman around, how long will a man stay hungry to eat. If there was a law like that, it would have been stopped because no woman, no eating. So I don't believe that kitchen or cooking is for women. Top celebrity chefs are mostly men anyways.

Thanks for reading and have a beautiful weekend and Easter.

Copyright @Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

Image credit: All images from unsplash.com

5
$ 1.58
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @LUCIFER-0404
$ 0.02 from @Shawon130
+ 2
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
2 years ago

Comments

Cooking by boiling is best but on the other way is by frying I Prefer cooking by frying:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love fries too. I just prefer cooking by boiling because it easier for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can not cook. But yes after see your this method I can try from my side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really cook much, but one thing I am good at cooking is noodles. I love noodles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a reason those men chef are supposedly celebrity chefs, and its not because they cook better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so correct

$ 0.00
2 years ago