Grasses in this time of Rain

4 19
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Good evening everyone. My weather update here is cold, extremely cold right now since noon after an unwelcomed rainfall. Seasons always come with its effect on humans. We have prayed for rainfall and now it is what we have, but this is the effect; cold. Humid weather and fogy environment. Everywhere is cold and as people will always say, “Weather for two”.

Today was good on its own; I had to check on my little farm to see how my vegetables are faring. I planted some pumpkins and curry in just a little space near the fence. I was happy to see that they were growing well. I juts noticed some weed and removed them just after three days I weeded it last. Grasses seem to be growing so fast these days, probably because of the rain. I have weeded my little vegetable farm for the third time this month. No wonder why I see most people with knapsack sprayer all the time in their farmland. I just never made use of the knapsack before, even in my compound to spray and kill some unwanted grasses myself. I use to see dad doing those job periodically, both in the compound and his large farm.

Some weird places grasses can be found growing now

  • Roof top

This season of rainfall, it is on a high ratio to see grasses grow even on roof tops, if care is not taken. There are houses that have grasses growing on its roof top currently. Some of these houses may be found along your streets or home if properly checked. I am just careful and lucky enough not to have one on my roof top. This is common among bungalows or upstairs that is surrounded by trees, or even has trees close by them. The exact spot where the weird grasses are growing has sand which like magic is the source of strength. They always have visible roots that appear tiny and whitish. If these grasses are not removed, it weakens the roof and might establish its colony. I don’t really know the cause of that.

  • Trees

This is another weird place grasses are seen growing. Branches and stems compete with saprophytes for nutrients. This is so common and complicated for trees. This season of rainfall has a high chance of more saprophytes growing on trees. Might probably be caused by wind or birds that live on trees.

Grasses on wall.

This one seems almost impossible but in reality, they exist. Grasses growing on the wall, wall grasses if I may say. Most walls along my street has grasses growing on them. That could be because of the dirty water that drops on them after rainfall

Control of this grasses

There are different methods used in my village to control this vast growing grasses on our environment. This include sweeping and cutting them regularly, or by using the modern way which is spraying chemicals. Farmers in my village control this grasses in their farm by spraying chemicals immediately after cultivating their farm. This seems not to be so effective because after rainfall, the chemical power dissolves and it becomes less effective.

The best and the surest way we taxe this grasses is by weeding them manually. By this, they are pulled out directly with their seed and all their roots. This is the most effective method used to control both weeds and grasses in my village, though difficult but the most effective.

This time around in different places, there are more of bushes in the farm and field, even along the walkways, grasses just grows everywhere. Some lucky places have flowers growing in their areas but though, not in a perfect place.

In places where all these bushes are found, rodents, insects and reptiles are also found. Scorpion which happens to be my best enemy lives under the grasses too. One could be stung or bitten by reptiles. This is the reason why I don't go to farm, the fear if scorpion and other venomous creatures.

The last time a snake bit someone in my presence was one day that a man was farming in his own farm, he didn't know a snake was hiding right before him under a grass, he accidentally stepped on the wicked creature which didn't waste a second to give him a bite on the foot. Within few minutes if that incident, the man's leg was swollen. That day, I left my siblings in the farm carefully and never returned again. As I walked home, I was frightened by ropes and sticks along the road. That was a bad day for me.

This raining season, people have to be careful with their environment, especially those living close to bushes. I try my best to manage my small vegetable farm with courage and carefulness, how much more do people who have large farm should be careful? I can't really tell but just advice to be careful and keep our surrounding clean regularly.

Some of these grasses are called stubborn grasses for a reason I don't know, but I believe that with a knife in Amy hands, every grass is loyal. Let be careful of creepers and stingers this season of rainfall by keeping the house and environment neat and tidy.

Thanks for reading.

Copyright ©️ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

#ClubbrokeBCH

Taken by me

Image credit: Lead image taken from unsplash.com.

7
$ 0.05
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Even in our backyard it's still needed to be clean as grasses are growing everywhere

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grasses grow everywhere as long as it can that's why if we don't take care of our house, it would be really filled by these.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After a burning month of hot summer today witnessing some clouds and moisturising wind here. The natural process of grass growing with water of rain is everywhere even in desert it comes up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You dissect so well of the rainy day and grasses, I never knew you are also scared of scorpion. I so much hate it, especially those ones with strong claws.

I still remember the day I went out to play with my bf at the beach, we never noticed the place was invaded by scorpion. We lay on the sand and that was the end of the story. I jumped up and ran. It stunk me

$ 0.00
1 year ago